English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 October 2015, 21:36   #1
mritter0
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bettendorf, IA, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 203
CyberStorm vs Blizzard

OS4.1FE. I have been using CyberStorm PPC since it became available for WinUAE. Does Blizzard PPC really allow for 258MB RAM vs 128MB for CyberStorm? I could use the extra RAM for my programming; every little bit helps.

I tried switching to Blizzard but it does not boot. Do I have to remake my VHD partitions? Using 44_71 ROM.
mritter0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 October 2015, 22:04   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Blizzard does support 256M. But Blizzard PPC SCSI is not supported by OS4. You have to use A1200 IDE which is much slower than DMA SCSI. (PIO IDE emulation: data is transferred word by word using emulated CPU. DMA: Whole transfer is quick memory copy in host side)

Also for some unknown reason BPPC PPC CPU model is slower in QEMU. Using ppc_model=604e command line forces CSPPC PPC model which may fix the CPU speed problem.

(AFAIK there is buggy BPPC SCSI driver but it was never fixed because no developer had BPPC. It should be easy to fix it in under emulation, debugging is so much easier in emulation vs real hardware, especially when debugging hardware drivers but I am quite sure nothing will happen as usual..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 October 2015, 08:10   #3
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 714
Just out of curiosity, is it possible to have the Cyberstorm's SCSI controller to appear at its original location but while emulating a BPPC board without SCSI? A perverse non-existing hybrid.

Probably that still requires one to move some modules around inside of the boot image, no idea of its layout but one would guess thats doable.
Locutus is offline  
Old 25 October 2015, 10:59   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locutus View Post
Just out of curiosity, is it possible to have the Cyberstorm's SCSI controller to appear at its original location but while emulating a BPPC board without SCSI? A perverse non-existing hybrid.

Probably that still requires one to move some modules around inside of the boot image, no idea of its layout but one would guess thats doable.
CSPPC and BPPC SCSI is located in same address range (0xf4xxxx), swapping them would be very easy.

But does the module do any validation checks first? It is not going to work if it does any non-SCSI related checks like "Is this CSPPC board?"

EDIT: But BPPC boot ROM would hang/crash, you would need to remove BPPC SCSI driver from boot ROM, boot from IDE.. It is not going to be very useful..

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 25 October 2015 at 11:22.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 October 2015, 12:21   #5
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 714
Ah yes, i see the issue. I overlooked that the boot ROM on the card itself ofcourse has a cybscsi.device (or whatever) in ROM which wouldn't be easy to modify.

All seems like a lot of effort for very little
Locutus is offline  
Old 25 October 2015, 14:34   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
It could work if someone (not me) replaces BPPC boot ROM SCSI driver with CSPPC boot ROM driver
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 October 2015, 20:06   #7
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 714
Sounds like some project for Cosmos, i think i read he was working on some custom boot rom's and a flashtool for them.

Probably crazy enough too
Locutus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS4.1 FE in WinUAE, blizzard PPC instead of cyberstorm PPC jonssonj support.WinUAE 8 10 February 2015 10:47
Testers wanted: BlizKick module to disable monitor hacks in CyberStorm/Blizzard d0pefish Coders. System 0 16 May 2012 10:51
Cyberstorm PPC vs Blizzard PPC CPU Speed Comparison CU_AMiGA support.Hardware 9 15 March 2012 14:25
A1200 + Blizzard 1260 + Blizzard SCSI + ACard + CF test setup Toni Wilen Hardware pics 69 18 August 2011 13:49
Will buy: Apollo/Blizzard 1260 or Cyberstorm MKIII 060 oxydeblack MarketPlace 3 25 January 2007 11:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12295 seconds with 11 queries