English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

Thread Tools
Old 20 October 2015, 22:42   #21

Devlin's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bradford, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 198
It's a ROM thing, there are file systems that are way better that improve that limit, but most prefer to stick to 4GB for simplicity, I imagine.
Devlin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 October 2015, 01:16   #22
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,048
If you install AmigaOS 3.5+ you can use larger than four gig no problems
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 21 October 2015, 09:56   #23
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 1,042
Yep, you just have to have the boot partition within the first 4GB so that the updated drivers can be successfully loaded - then you can access all of the drive.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 21 October 2015, 12:22   #24
Registered User
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 373
If you are not using the rear expansion port for an Individivision mk2, then personally I would use a CF card adapter and the backplate from amigkit. Although not hot pluggable, it makes it really easy to setup on Winuae and then fit the card without opening the case.
CF cards are easy to make images of on the PC as backups as well.

I run my DVI out of there so have had to cut the case to fit the CF card adapter.

I also use a wired ethernet card and transfer files that way.
crazyc is offline  
Old 25 October 2015, 20:48   #25
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 37
Posts: 716
I love the network card I got from SirLucas. I download things onto my PC and then just use the Amiga to browse my PC and copy what I need. The PC has terabytes of disk space and I can even access my Dropbox folder on the from the Amiga

Sent from Ubuntu Touch using the Forum Browser app
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 26 October 2015, 04:27   #26
Registered User
illy5603's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 491
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
If you haven't already, consider backing the A1200 new cases project on kickstarter. Not only will the cases be new and non-smelly, they come in a bunch of cool colours and have a bunch of cool upgrades to work better with new-school items like floppy emulators, external CD card adapters and hopefully new the 1200 reloaded board that Individual is working on (I hope.) I went with the second round Scoopex edition case in solid dark gray. Lots of special edition units for those that were in the scene (TRSI, Skid Row, Scoopex.)
illy5603 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 upgrading OCrowley Amiga scene 8 07 July 2014 14:23
Upgrading A1200 for OS3.9 Cloudane New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 19 August 2010 14:04
Refurbishing LiteOn A4000D PSU? alexh support.Hardware 3 21 September 2009 20:11
upgrading a1200 wobbly support.Hardware 40 30 July 2008 07:24
Upgrading A1200 Hard drive broken support.Hardware 7 07 November 2002 08:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:18.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12229 seconds with 11 queries