English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 October 2015, 10:48   #1
Baia99
 
Posts: n/a
Last ninja 2

I recently purchased the last ninja 2 for the Amiga and found out it doesn't work on A1200, only works on the A500.
Was the last ninja 2 ever released on the A1200 and is there a way to make it work on A1200.

Thank you
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 October 2015, 12:13   #2
Konrad
Registered User
Konrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 563
You will find that most(!) classic games won't run (correctly) on an A1200. Some will crash, others will show graphics corruption. And a few titles which will run too fast.

There are two ways:
1. SoftKick -> booting in another kickstart, f.ex from an A500 with OCS/ECS chipset emulation. This is what I did before option 2 below was developed.

2. WHDLoad -> If you got a harddisk then definitely go for this. Simply said it's an HD-installer for old games. Almost all are fixed for A1200/AGA and will run from your harddisk without disk swapping required. WHDLoad-archives with pre-installed games are relatively easy to find on the net.
Konrad is offline  
Old 03 October 2015, 12:16   #3
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
Last ninja 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Konrad View Post
You will find that most(!) classic games won't run (correctly) on an A1200. Some will crash, others will show graphics corruption. And a few titles which will run too fast.

There are two ways:
1. SoftKick -> booting in another kickstart, f.ex from an A500 with OCS/ECS chipset emulation. This is what I did before option 2 below was developed.

2. WHDLoad -> If you got a harddisk then definitely go for this. Simply said it's an HD-installer for old games. Almost all are fixed for A1200/AGA and will run from your harddisk without disk swapping required. WHDLoad-archives with pre-installed games are relatively easy to find on the net.

3) find aga fixed cracked versions (if one exists)

Last edited by Vot; 03 October 2015 at 12:25.
Vot is offline  
Old 03 October 2015, 13:49   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,200
Also, Last Ninja 2 it's a game DOS, then you can run the game from starup-sequence utility degrader as Run500, NoAGA, RunIT, KillAGA or use [ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 October 2015, 15:36   #5
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
I tried this one on my A1200 (not WinUAE) and it loads. What problems are you having?

Last Ninja 2 - Back With a Vengeance (1990)(System 3)[cr Flashtro]
Arnie is offline  
Old 03 October 2015, 19:32   #6
Baia99
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
I tried this one on my A1200 (not WinUAE) and it loads. What problems are you having?

Last Ninja 2 - Back With a Vengeance (1990)(System 3)[cr Flashtro]
When I looked at the box it says AMIGA, A500 A1000 A2000 min 512K required.
So I emailed the ebay store and asked if it was compatible with the A1200.
He tested the game on the A1200 and crashed, also he tested his own copy and it also crashed.
So you say it works on your A1200, I've got an Amiga 1200 with a 40 mg hard drive, what model do you have.
Thank you for your reply.
 
Old 03 October 2015, 22:25   #7
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baia99 View Post
When I looked at the box it says AMIGA, A500 A1000 A2000 min 512K required.
So I emailed the ebay store and asked if it was compatible with the A1200.
He tested the game on the A1200 and crashed, also he tested his own copy and it also crashed.
So you say it works on your A1200, I've got an Amiga 1200 with a 40 mg hard drive, what model do you have.
Thank you for your reply.
Mine is a vanilla A1200 with a 4GB CF HD and a HD floppy drive. I can remove the CF card to boot to the boot screen.

Maybe it works because the game is cracked?
Arnie is offline  
Old 04 October 2015, 02:39   #8
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
I tried this one on my A1200 (not WinUAE) and it loads. What problems are you having?

Last Ninja 2 - Back With a Vengeance (1990)(System 3)[cr Flashtro]
I have not tested Last Ninja 2 on a A1200 real, but on WinUAE (Quickstart A1200 basic), and I noted that lack the in-game music. Regarding crashed, these could happen, even after a certain period of game.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 04 October 2015, 09:46   #9
Fendrix
Registered User
Fendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 27
Relokick 1.4a should work.
Fendrix is offline  
Old 04 October 2015, 12:29   #10
OlafSch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nuernberg
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baia99 View Post
I recently purchased the last ninja 2 for the Amiga and found out it doesn't work on A1200, only works on the A500.
Was the last ninja 2 ever released on the A1200 and is there a way to make it work on A1200.

Thank you
Would using WHDLoad be a option?
OlafSch is offline  
Old 04 October 2015, 13:46   #11
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,175
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baia99 View Post
When I looked at the box it says AMIGA, A500 A1000 A2000 min 512K required.
So I emailed the ebay store and asked if it was compatible with the A1200.
He tested the game on the A1200 and crashed, also he tested his own copy and it also crashed.
So you say it works on your A1200, I've got an Amiga 1200 with a 40 mg hard drive, what model do you have.
Thank you for your reply.
It crash because this game is protected with a copylock disk protection.
That's why. since you have a 1200, whdload would be the solution
you have a hard drive inside ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 04 October 2015, 13:57   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Just tried an IPF original disk image in WinUAE with Amiga 1200 quickstart. Works fine here, even without Relokick. But as AMIGASYSTEM already said, no ingame music.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Last Ninja 3 msayed1977 support.WinUAE 5 15 November 2010 15:36
Last Ninja 2 mai request.Old Rare Games 3 08 December 2009 12:16
Last Ninja 3 haynor666 HOL contributions 0 22 October 2008 13:27
Last Ninja 2 Retroplay Retrogaming General Discussion 10 05 June 2007 19:22
Last Ninja (1) alexh project.aGTW 4 16 October 2006 17:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23959 seconds with 11 queries