English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 October 2015, 02:06   #1
walterg74
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Buenos Aires
Posts: 6
AMIGA CD32 - New Laser needed?

Hi Folks,

Long story short, had an Amiga CD32, sold it and bought another complete in box.

Now it seems I didn't make such a good deal, as this new one is not really reading my compilation CDs...

Well, I take that back, and this is what puzzles me and maybe you can shed some light on:

If I put a compilation disc in, it will load up just fine, disc constantly spinning, get the menu, music, etc. all good...

However, when I select a game, it doesn't load, it just sits there reading bits at a time, with the disc spinning, then stopping, then spinning, etc...

Does this probably mean I need a new laser? If so, why is it that it loads menus and stuff all fine? I would think if the laser is bad to not read CD-Rs well, it would not even read that?

Help much appreciated...
walterg74 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 October 2015, 13:18   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,535
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by walterg74 View Post
Hi Folks,

Long story short, had an Amiga CD32, sold it and bought another complete in box.

Now it seems I didn't make such a good deal, as this new one is not really reading my compilation CDs...

Well, I take that back, and this is what puzzles me and maybe you can shed some light on:

If I put a compilation disc in, it will load up just fine, disc constantly spinning, get the menu, music, etc. all good...

However, when I select a game, it doesn't load, it just sits there reading bits at a time, with the disc spinning, then stopping, then spinning, etc...

Does this probably mean I need a new laser? If so, why is it that it loads menus and stuff all fine? I would think if the laser is bad to not read CD-Rs well, it would not even read that?

Help much appreciated...
Whats it like with bought games / music cd's?
FOL is offline  
Old 03 October 2015, 19:13   #3
walterg74
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Buenos Aires
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Whats it like with bought games / music cd's?

Ok, update: I tried a single game cd-r (banshee) and weirdest thing, it will load up, show the language selection menu, then the intro, then the main menu, and when the game's supposed to start it just sits there. And the disc doesn't even spin at all...

Answering your question, I'm afraid I don't have any bought games yet. The closest I have to that are two of those shareware/PD collections ("Now that's what I call games" and "games & goodies"). Those load up just fine, and the games also load fine (tried a couple).
Audio CD, I just tested one, goes straight to the player, plays fine and tried skipping to tracks and they load up and play almost instantly.
walterg74 is offline  
Old 03 October 2015, 21:33   #4
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 625
I too had similar probs with my CD32 not playing CDR`s, then I got some info from eab and my solution was to use these disks which work 99% of the time and also I burn them using nero 7 and my fail rate is nearly zero, here is a link for the disks

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/100-Mediar...item4aca595257

As your CD32 plays legit CD`d then I can say with certainty that your problem too lies with the type of CDr and Burning software
supaduper is online now  
Old 04 October 2015, 07:19   #5
walterg74
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Buenos Aires
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
I too had similar probs with my CD32 not playing CDR`s, then I got some info from eab and my solution was to use these disks which work 99% of the time and also I burn them using nero 7 and my fail rate is nearly zero, here is a link for the disks

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/100-Mediar...item4aca595257

As your CD32 plays legit CD`d then I can say with certainty that your problem too lies with the type of CDr and Burning software
Thanks for the suggestion, but I'm afraid they don't have those here (I live in south america).

This is driving me nuts... Just tried another game, Sensible Soccer (Int version). This one also boots up fine, shows me the intros, I get to the the menu, even select the teams, etc, and when I hit "play match" just goes to black screen, disc doesn't even spin at all nor does the drive try to do anything...
walterg74 is offline  
Old 05 October 2015, 11:45   #6
RetroPaul
Registered User

RetroPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Coventry/UK
Posts: 62
My CD32 is very sensitive to CD-R's, even after replacing the laser. It will play any original just fine but i tried multiple types of CD-R's with varying beahviour, some would partially load some would just spin-up and down repeatedly and not load.

I have found a combo which now works, using on a old 8x Ricoh burner with Verbatim CD-R's.

You could try tweaing the little pot next to the laser and upping the power a touch, some have had good results from that.
RetroPaul is offline  
Old 05 October 2015, 12:15   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,535
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroPaul View Post
You could try tweaing the little pot next to the laser and upping the power a touch, some have had good results from that.
Thats what I was going to say next. After cleaning the laser. Always try cleaning lense before tweaking laser power pot.

Not sure on CD-R's, as I have never had an issue with any I have used or speeds I have burnt at. Full speed burning everytime.
FOL is offline  
Old 07 October 2015, 09:33   #8
coope1999
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 95
Yy are lucky. My CD32 just sits there spinning the disc backwards and doesn't load at all!
coope1999 is offline  
Old 07 October 2015, 11:22   #9
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,535
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by coope1999 View Post
Yy are lucky. My CD32 just sits there spinning the disc backwards and doesn't load at all!
If its spinning backwards, then its a low power problem on laser.
The problem is, getting to work for CD-R's can screw it up for normal disc's.

First thing to try is cleaning the laser, as that can cause simular issue.
FOL is offline  
Old 07 October 2015, 16:24   #10
coope1999
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 95
Ironically my cdrs work better than the originals. My cd32 had something done to the power switch as it was stuck "on". Originally I had cdrom issues but that was because I didn't have the rf shield fitted. I fitted the shield and all was well but a month later my power switch became unstuck and now I get the backwards thing often on original games. I don't want to touch the laser screw as I don't think it's that.
coope1999 is offline  
Old 07 October 2015, 16:30   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by walterg74 View Post
Thanks for the suggestion, but I'm afraid they don't have those here (I live in south america).
Hey Walter,

I always used Sony CDR media without problems. I burn things using Alcohol 120% if I can, though. Sometimes even Imgburn will do. Try to burn as slow as your burner/media combination will allow you and try again.

Sometimes problems like this happen in other machines too. It could have to do with a stuffy motor spindle not picking up the speed it should normally. Try cleaning the spindle mechanism and lubricating it with a very thin oil (don't use gummy garbage like WD40). I did that to my Dreamcast after being suggested to change laser, and it worked just great.

Also try cleaning the laser head with isopropyl alcohol.

I wouldn't touch the calibration screws until the very last. You can potentially render the CD32 completely useless.

Buena suerte y tomatelo con soda
Akira is offline  
Old 08 October 2015, 13:46   #12
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,535
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I wouldn't touch the calibration screws until the very last. You can potentially render the CD32 completely useless.
I wouldn't touch any calibration pots either, that will destroy it if you don't know what your doing.
Laser power pot is different though.
CD lasers are a bit more forgiving, if you turn them up to high. It wont damage the laser.
DVD on the other hand, it tends to burn laser out.
FOL is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Replace a CD32 Laser Charlie Hardware mods 40 25 March 2015 20:40
Replacement CD32 laser assembly for sale kipper2k support.Hardware 3 18 February 2014 02:33
CD32 Laser Drake008@ support.Hardware 39 26 March 2009 21:04
cd32 - replacement laser JonSick support.Hardware 19 16 August 2008 13:20
CD32 Laser question. Charlie Hardware mods 9 16 August 2008 12:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19225 seconds with 11 queries