English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 September 2015, 13:35   #1
OlafSch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nuernberg
Posts: 456
Sign of life of Apollo FPGA project

looks good

http://www.apollo-core.com/bringup/index2.htm
OlafSch is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 September 2015, 18:32   #2
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
That is reeeally getting interesting..
CPU is now detected as proper 040 with FPU..
Also interesting.. the CPU performance is like a 110MHz 040, while the FPU is like a 333MHz 040 :-)

This thing is going to kick some serious @ss...
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 20 September 2015, 18:56   #3
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Wow! I wonder how's the instruction set compatibility coming along?
jbenam is offline  
Old 20 September 2015, 22:22   #4
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 43
Posts: 919
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
Wow! I wonder how's the instruction set compatibility coming along?
Gunnar has said before that any user-mode (emphasis mine) instructions or addressing modes that are not directly supported, will be patched. He has also said that the patching may not necessarily be patched strictly via software and in fact, will probably be patched in hardware somehow.

The only trouble that may arise will likely be in privileged instructions that run from supervisor mode. Ultimately, the OS may need a little patching but standard tools/apps/applications/programs/things-that-run-when-you-double-click-them or whatever you choose to call them, should run just fine.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 21 September 2015, 02:41   #5
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
There is hope for DosBox AGA after all
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 21 September 2015, 11:34   #6
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 262
Now this is starting to look interesting!

I always wanted a 68060 for my A1200, never managed to find one (that I could afford at the time I found it anyways). This might be a good alternative when it's released
roondar is offline  
Old 21 September 2015, 17:20   #7
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
There is hope for DosBox AGA after all
Cool!!
Reido is offline  
Old 21 September 2015, 18:37   #8
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
and lets not forget the last line "True color video out" ;-)
eXeler0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apollo Team has new Cyclone 5 FPGA accellerator cards OlafSch Amiga scene 245 23 August 2015 20:48
Toyota Celica sign codes supaduper support.Games 1 19 July 2015 20:20
Dungeon Kingdom : Sign of the Moon Jgames Retrogaming General Discussion 4 11 October 2014 00:54
SWOS "ONLINE CAREER" by Sensibleita - Season 14 sign-ups open! Retrieving Retrogaming General Discussion 4 25 November 2013 11:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12818 seconds with 11 queries