English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 September 2015, 19:37   #21
onkelarie
Registered User

onkelarie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Spijkenisse / the Netherlands
Age: 47
Posts: 438
Nice read it actually brings back memories about that frustration at the time when upgrading to ks 1.3 from 1.2. Then the little utilities and bootblocks popped up so you could force different ramsettings in some extend...
onkelarie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 September 2015, 21:14   #22
Workbench13
Banned

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: There
Posts: 16
I can't seem to get this one working properly, meaning I actually get to watch the demo but the screen is badly garbled.

The only reasonable things left for me to try on this one would an A1000 profile or a KS2 rom, but I don't have the required files to run the tests.

Any ideas? :
Attached Files
File Type: 7z mat.7z (100.8 KB, 43 views)
Workbench13 is offline  
Old 15 September 2015, 21:46   #23
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Workbench13 View Post
I can't seem to get this one working properly, meaning I actually get to watch the demo but the screen is badly garbled.

The only reasonable things left for me to try on this one would an A1000 profile or a KS2 rom, but I don't have the required files to run the tests.

Any ideas? :
No. Garbage on real A500 (ECS) and A1000.

Not 100% same garbage as in emulation because it also does odd writes to VHPOSW.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 September 2015, 00:47   #24
Workbench13
Banned

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: There
Posts: 16
Thank you for taking the time to test that one out against real Amiga hardware.

However, I don't know to what degree I'd be able to discard a mangled exe here, for every time I've come across one, the app didn't run at all or crashed right away.

Guess we'll have to leave it a mystery for the time being
Workbench13 is offline  
Old 16 September 2015, 03:31   #25
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Workbench13 View Post
Thanks for the hint! works perfectly now.

Nevertheless, that's a first for me; I never before encountered a demo that required downgrading from a stock A500 setup.
Using KS1.2 is not "downgrading from a stock A500" setup. Many if not most A500s (mine for example) had KS1.2, not 1.3.
Minuous is offline  
Old 16 September 2015, 07:16   #26
Workbench13
Banned

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: There
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
Using KS1.2 is not "downgrading from a stock A500" setup. Many if not most A500s (mine for example) had KS1.2, not 1.3.
For any stock A500 that came with KS13 (as many or as few as were sold), going KS12 is technically speaking a downgrade, and likewise would switching from WinUAE's default ("stock" if you will) A500-KS13 config to A500-KS12 be.

Semantics are a pretty bad argument fodder anyways
Workbench13 is offline  
Old 16 September 2015, 15:34   #27
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,518
Technically 1.2 may be more common (at least in some regions) but as a default KS it is not that good due to lack of autoboot support. Both choices have problems
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 November 2015, 15:30   #28
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 257
Are there any games or demos that run on KS1.3 but not 1.2 ?

I'm wondering what would be the most compatible KS version to use in order to run OCS games & demos.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 20 November 2015, 16:34   #29
Genlock
BAA - Born Again Amigan

Genlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 78
Not too sure about 1.2 but I was going to post a list of 1.3 and 3.1 compatable games here, about 5 years back until i found a list of 1.3 already created by some kind Amigan,, just try a search for it if it still exists.
It would be a start for you This may help http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...orkbench+games

Last edited by Genlock; 20 November 2015 at 17:19.
Genlock is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet another "plz help me find a demo" thead! AGA demo w/ texturemapped building ruinatokyo request.Demos 1 26 September 2013 16:29
"8 bit jungle" demo won't run with latest Aros ROMs lm473 support.WinUAE 2 28 May 2013 17:38
"Work in Progress" WHDloads Methanoid Games images which need to be WHDified 23 19 June 2012 15:40
Demo "With Vectors to Heaven" won't finish Maren support.WinUAE 9 28 July 2011 02:19
"Meeting Collection" by Dope Denmark won't run with CE on Maren support.WinUAE 5 04 January 2010 01:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.83767 seconds with 12 queries