English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 September 2015, 22:38   #1
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 598
Query about Extra Half-Brite (EHB)

So OCS/ECS Amigas had this mode which on principle takes the 32 colours of the first five bitplanes and with the extra bits of the sixth bitplane, halves the brightness if the bit is set.

What I've always wondered about is if the halved brightnesses were tied into the 4096 colours of the first 32, or unique accurate shades in their own right. What I mean is, say if a colour register with R01 G02 B03 is used in an image, would the EHB equivalent be R0.5, G01 and B1.5 or would it be the closest colours to be compatible with the 16 levels of RGB that this chipset could produce?
Foebane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 September 2015, 22:56   #2
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
What I've always wondered about is if the halved brightnesses were tied into the 4096 colours of the first 32, or unique accurate shades in their own right. What I mean is, say if a colour register with R01 G02 B03 is used in an image, would the EHB equivalent be R0.5, G01 and B1.5 or would it be the closest colours to be compatible with the 16 levels of RGB that this chipset could produce?
The video DAC inputs only have four bits per gun, so there are no extra colours in the cracks between the 16 levels that are normally available. Instead the levels are simply shifted one bit to the right, truncating the lowest bit, so R01 G02 B03 would become R00 G01 B01.
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 12 September 2015, 23:01   #3
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 598
Thanks, robinsonb5, I figured it would be that. Just wanted confirmation. I assume the same is true for AGA as well?
Foebane is offline  
Old 12 September 2015, 23:15   #4
saimon69
Bedroom musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 699
@foebane
Wish it was so,and have a 512 colors EHB mode for aga, but afaik does not.
saimon69 is offline  
Old 13 September 2015, 00:57   #5
commodorejohn
Shameless recidivist
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Duluth, Minnesota (USA)
Age: 32
Posts: 169
I think he means, does the EHB mode work the same on the AGA chipset, since the DACs there are 6 bits per element?
commodorejohn is offline  
Old 13 September 2015, 01:08   #6
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 598
I thought when it came to EHB in AGA, it was 8 bits per element?

Come to think of it, I'm even more confused now. I'm thinking of five bitplanes in OCS for EHB, so how many are there in AGA? Can someone describe in detail how EHB in AGA works, please?
Foebane is offline  
Old 13 September 2015, 02:08   #7
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
Can palette switching be used in AGA? Dividing screen into blocks / slices and modifying palette registers on the fly during vertical scans?
Using this trick it was apparently possible to produce 512 colors on ECS, but with limitations of course (one 32 color palette / block)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 13 September 2015, 02:12   #8
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
of course, AGA machines also have copper, you can change any hardware register approximately every 8 pixels. Writing a 24-bit colour value requires 3/4 register writes though.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 13 September 2015, 09:48   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,939
EHB works exact same in AGA, 6 bit plane mode without BPLCON2 KILLEHB bit set. (KILLEHB was originally introduced in ECS Denise, meant for genlock mode where 6th plane can be genlock transparency mask, it was not AGA-only bit).

BPLCON4 upper 8 bits can be used to make quick color "bank" switches on AGA machines.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 September 2015, 11:35   #10
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
so what happens if you use EHB on an AGA machine, but use 24-bit colour values in the palette?
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 13 September 2015, 12:07   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
so what happens if you use EHB on an AGA machine, but use 24-bit colour values in the palette?
AGA EHB always uses full AGA palette range.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 September 2015, 12:14   #12
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
AGA EHB always uses full AGA palette range.
but if OCS EHB truncates the Halfbright colours to 12 bit... and AGA EHB doesn't... they don't work the same way, right?
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 13 September 2015, 12:17   #13
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
of course, AGA machines also have copper, you can change any hardware register approximately every 8 pixels. Writing a 24-bit colour value requires 3/4 register writes though.
Could the OCS copper change a hardware register every pixel? There is a demo (Arte by Sanity) which has the most amazing plasma effect I've ever seen, and it's so fluid it could only be the copper changing a colour every single pixel!

And HAM8 is another query, as well.

HAM6 is simple to understand, the first two bits being:

0 - Colour register
1 - Red
2 - Green
3 - Blue

(OK, maybe not in that order)

and the remaining four bits being used for a value of 0-15 for each one, which makes full use of the OCS 4096 colours, or 12-bit palette.

BUT...

HAM8 is the first two bits used as described above, but leaving only 6-bit precision (64 levels) of Red, Green, and Blue. So what does AGA do then? Take the colour register with the 24-bit RGB, convert that to the closest 18-bit RGB and then modify the R, G or B in 6 bits?

Last edited by TCD; 13 September 2015 at 12:27. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
Foebane is offline  
Old 13 September 2015, 12:24   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
but if OCS EHB truncates the Halfbright colours to 12 bit... and AGA EHB doesn't... they don't work the same way, right?
Results are still the same. Same colors.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 September 2015, 12:43   #15
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Results are still the same. Same colors.
how can they be?

On OCS $FFF -> $777 = $777777
On AGA $FFFFFF -> $7F7F7F
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 13 September 2015, 13:18   #16
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
Could the OCS copper change a hardware register every pixel?
No

Quote:
HAM8 is the first two bits used as described above, but leaving only 6-bit precision (64 levels) of Red, Green, and Blue. So what does AGA do then?
AFAIK two lowest bits of color component are not modified.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
how can they be?

On OCS $FFF -> $777 = $777777
On AGA $FFFFFF -> $7F7F7F
You are right, for some reason I thought them as 2 separate 4 bit shifters (which probably isn't right, unless EHB really was designed to be fully OCS/ECS compatible)
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ggc 2015 ehb obiwanken support.Apps 0 20 May 2015 20:47
EHB problems Galahad/FLT Coders. Asm / Hardware 27 25 April 2014 15:39
Converting JPG to HAM6/EHB with ImageStudio jman support.Apps 0 21 June 2011 18:42
C2P Assember update required (6bit EHB hacking!) NovaCoder Coders. General 14 16 April 2011 13:26
EHB sprites with AGA chipset ? FrenchShark Coders. General 4 17 September 2009 07:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23246 seconds with 11 queries