English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 August 2015, 22:56   #1
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,389
Best Doom-clone on vanilla A500?

Googled around a bit after watching a couple of fairly impressive Speccy efforts.. Couldn't find anything conclusive..
What would you say is the most impressive FPS on an unexpanded A500?
Game or at least a playable tech-demo..
eXeler0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 August 2015, 23:16   #2
x56h34
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Toronto / Canada
Posts: 10
I always liked Behind the Iron Gate. I thought it was a good effort, given the technical limitations of an A500 and 3D. It runs smoothly on an A500 + 0.5MB memory expansion, from what I recall. I am not sure if that qualifies as unexpanded though.
x56h34 is offline  
Old 24 August 2015, 23:32   #3
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by x56h34 View Post
I always liked Behind the Iron Gate. I thought it was a good effort, given the technical limitations of an A500 and 3D. It runs smoothly on an A500 + 0.5MB memory expansion, from what I recall. I am not sure if that qualifies as unexpanded though.
Well, it was probably a good compromise, but I'm tempted to say it doesnt quite quality.. as the graphics look nothing like actual texturemaps, and enemies are what.. 2 colors?

Citadel is probably the best I can recall, although Ive never actually played it on an a500..

Death Mask doesn't quite qualify either.. due to its limited movement..

I guess Gloom should be mention too...
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 24 August 2015, 23:37   #4
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,372
Sort of clone - Death Mask - just 90 turns. Citadel in a tiny window.
zipper is offline  
Old 25 August 2015, 07:31   #5
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 469
Trick Or Treat ran nicely on A500 IIRC. Not exactly Doom kind of theme, but 3D FPS still
jPV is offline  
Old 25 August 2015, 07:38   #6
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,542
You can try Project Battlefield [ Show youtube player ] or Project Intercalaris https://youtu.be/lRmJR18jVaQ?t=284 I had both games on my A500, it's playable but it's hard to aim.
s2325 is online now  
Old 25 August 2015, 09:14   #7
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
3d fps games on the Amiga are all crap excepting Alien breed 3d 2 and Genetic species which are fantastic and exclusive Amiga titles

both requires AGA /
however in Alien breed 3d2 to get constant 39 fps which is the maximum this game does you need winuae and a fast CPU like a core 2 duo 3.0 ghz or better

for the A500 I do not recommend any 3dD game because they are all crap
Sandro is offline  
Old 25 August 2015, 10:26   #8
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 42
Posts: 872
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Adding to what Sandro said, most PC 3D FPS ports run like crap on an Amiga specifically because they use texture mapping. Compare ADoom to DoomAttack and you'll see that the latter is nearly twice as fast because it limits the texture maps to only part of the palette depth on an AGA system and uses the blitter to do filled polygon depth shading in native planar. If the same technique were applied to the others mentioned, they would've been faster as well.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 25 August 2015, 10:33   #9
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Citadel is probably the best I can recall, although Ive never actually played it on an a500..
It runs about as well as Doom on a 386, at 10FPS in a reduced screen size Which was good enough for me at the time, being able to run anything 3D on my A500 had a big WOW factor to it.
gimbal is offline  
Old 25 August 2015, 10:55   #10
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 28
Posts: 321
I'd say Death Mask isn't so bad on the CD32 with strafing.
twiggy is offline  
Old 25 August 2015, 11:02   #11
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,542
Preview version of Death Mask was slightly different than full version [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is online now  
Old 25 August 2015, 11:14   #12
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
3d fps games on the Amiga are all crap excepting Alien breed 3d 2 and Genetic species which are fantastic and exclusive Amiga titles

both requires AGA /
however in Alien breed 3d2 to get constant 39 fps which is the maximum this game does you need winuae and a fast CPU like a core 2 duo 3.0 ghz or better

for the A500 I do not recommend any 3dD game because they are all crap
Well @Sandro, thanx for your input but that wasnt really the point of this thread. Ive run most amiga fps games out there on my a1200 with overclocked 060.
But I was wondering how far someone pushed the stock A500. Ive seen doom and wolf ports on a 2MHz Spectrum so I figured someone tried to push the 500 to its limits just to prove a point.
So basically a tech demo is fine.. doesnt have to be a finished game...
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 25 August 2015, 12:54   #13
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 42
Posts: 872
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Tech demo that runs well on A500?
http://aminet.net/package/game/demo/walls17
(First person maze engine with editor. No texture mapping at all.)
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 25 August 2015, 18:45   #14
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,678
Jurassic park 3D bits? :P
Akira is offline  
Old 25 August 2015, 22:30   #15
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Ive seen doom and wolf ports on a 2MHz Spectrum so I figured someone tried to push the 500 to its limits just to prove a point.
Please don't call them ports. They are very limited tech demos meant to look like the games you mention, but they aren't ports. The Amiga at least has real Doom and Wolfenstein ports, but I'm afraid that asking for a Doom 'clone' on an A500 is asking for too much.

This being said, as a proof of concept Citadel is quite impressive. It will run an a vanilla A500, but really slow.
TCD is offline  
Old 25 August 2015, 22:47   #16
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,542
Yeti 3D Engine for Virtual Boy [ Show youtube player ] Maybe something similar is possible on A500.
s2325 is online now  
Old 25 August 2015, 23:58   #17
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
You can try Project Battlefield [ Show youtube player ] or Project Intercalaris https://youtu.be/lRmJR18jVaQ?t=284 I had both games on my A500, it's playable but it's hard to aim.
They look similar but Project Intercalaris seemed better somehow.. 1MB required so I guess its A500+ or A600 but still nice...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCD View Post
Please don't call them ports. They are very limited tech demos meant to look like the games you mention, but they aren't ports. The Amiga at least has real Doom and Wolfenstein ports, but I'm afraid that asking for a Doom 'clone' on an A500 is asking for too much.

This being said, as a proof of concept Citadel is quite impressive. It will run an a vanilla A500, but really slow.
Ok, I hear ya.. Ye they are not "ports" but I think my intentions got through.. ;-)
Anyhoo, I thought that we'd have some nice tech demos that really pushed the A500 to its limits by now, using Blitter, Copper tricks and what not to create a decent Wolfenstein/Doom-style FPS with whatever sacrifices that need to be made.
I now got a few examples I didn't previously know about so thats nice..
Meanwhile, in Atari land, this one -I think.- actually qualifies as a Wolfenstein port. Its running on an STe so 1MB RAM, BLitter and 8MHz CPU. Pretty close to a 500+/600
[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by TCD; 26 August 2015 at 06:39. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 26 August 2015, 00:15   #18
ReadOnlyCat
Code Kitten

 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Montreal/Canadia
Age: 46
Posts: 1,002
I guess the answer is "has yet to be written".

I wouldn't mind playing a 40x256 pixels in 4096 colors copper chunky doom with only a small fraction of the image center rendered at 1x1 pixel resolution.

It would probably run smooth moreover since the display window can be reduced to the center of the screen leaving plenty of memory slots available for the CPU even outside of the vertical blanking interrupt.

I'll put this on my todo list actually.
ReadOnlyCat is offline  
Old 26 August 2015, 00:36   #19
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadOnlyCat View Post
I guess the answer is "has yet to be written".

I wouldn't mind playing a 40x256 pixels in 4096 colors copper chunky doom with only a small fraction of the image center rendered at 1x1 pixel resolution.

It would probably run smooth moreover since the display window can be reduced to the center of the screen leaving plenty of memory slots available for the CPU even outside of the vertical blanking interrupt.

I'll put this on my todo list actually.
To quote Patches O'Houlihan from Dodgeball ;-) "Remember your training, and trust your instincts. You can do it! I believe in you! Bye-bye!"
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 26 August 2015, 01:32   #20
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 729
RoboCop 3 - brilliant fps. Amazingly atmospheric and playable. Just skip the driving and flying bits.
rare_j is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
music prog for vanilla A500 Vaninna support.Apps 10 14 March 2015 06:22
A bejewelled clone, deviish clone, columns clone Gordon Looking for a game name ? 10 16 June 2014 19:28
Amy A500-clone in miniITX fryguy Amiga scene 31 18 June 2013 19:04
Possible to port Alien Breed 3D maps to Doom? (I know AB3D has features Doom can't) dex Coders. General 2 21 January 2012 22:06
Vanilla Ice techmain request.Music 0 01 September 2010 03:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26008 seconds with 11 queries