English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 August 2015, 18:40   #1
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
If you would add ONE new feature to OS3.x...

Even though OS 4 development is slow... it is now a totally different beast than OS 3.9. If you could add ONE new major feature to the old OS 3.9 what would it be?
eXeler0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 August 2015, 18:57   #2
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Even though OS 4 development is slow... it is now a totally different beast than OS 3.9. If you could add ONE new major feature to the old OS 3.9 what would it be?
I'll give you two

1) Fix the font spacing in the title bar. There should be a gap at the top and bottom as per 1.3.

2) Large disk support.

We really should just kicktarter and get the OS opened. The 68k one. I don't really care about PPC.
frank_b is offline  
Old 17 August 2015, 19:44   #3
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 349
It would be kinda cool if someone could convince Hyperion to open up the 3.x source and allow it to be forked. Surely they can't see AmigaOS 3.x as still being some sort of cash cow greater than AmigaOS 4 was.
brett71 is offline  
Old 17 August 2015, 19:53   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Why they made OS4 run on PPC only doesn't make sense to me.
Arnie is offline  
Old 17 August 2015, 21:58   #5
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by brett71 View Post
It would be kinda cool if someone could convince Hyperion to open up the 3.x source and allow it to be forked. Surely they can't see AmigaOS 3.x as still being some sort of cash cow greater than AmigaOS 4 was.
Yea, you'd think they'd let that one go by now..
Question is if there still are dedicated individuals with the right knowledge and motivation to take over a project like that?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 17 August 2015, 23:48   #6
Megol
Registered User

Megol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: inside the emulator
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Even though OS 4 development is slow... it is now a totally different beast than OS 3.9. If you could add ONE new major feature to the old OS 3.9 what would it be?
Multiprocessing.
Megol is offline  
Old 18 August 2015, 20:21   #7
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
You already have it, CPU+ copper ;-)
I would be tempted to say memory protection but Im not going down that road. I know its practically impossible to implement as an afterthought.
Though a rewritten Intuition with some intelligence in scalable windows handeling would be high on my list.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 18 August 2015, 20:37   #8
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 768
a permissive source code license
Locutus is offline  
Old 19 August 2015, 19:25   #9
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
The OS 3 license is probably a mess smeared across Cloanto, Haage-Partner, Hyperion and probably Santa Claus...
Yes they should give it up already and let the community do something useful with the source...
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 19 August 2015, 20:18   #10
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,152
Datatypes with high quality dithering for images.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 19 August 2015, 21:44   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
In-built ability to load graphic data on Fast RAM like FBlit.
Akira is offline  
Old 19 August 2015, 22:09   #12
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,972
I would add improved IDE device handling to Kickstart (this includes handling new SATA stuff through a SATA to IDE bridge).
Thorham is offline  
Old 19 August 2015, 23:14   #13
esc
 
Posts: n/a
PPC Emulation *snicker*
 
Old 19 August 2015, 23:26   #14
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Commodore Activation Wizard.


Like Microsoft's... but when you phone Commodore to activate... the automated voice compliments you on buying an Amiga and offers a free massage at a designated Commodore service centre.
Paul_s is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 00:02   #15
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
I would be tempted to say memory protection but Im not going down that road. I know its practically impossible to implement as an afterthought.
Yes but we could have resource tracking, and maybe some sort of task manager, so if a program exits without freeing the memory it used, one could manually nuke it.

Quote:
Though a rewritten Intuition with some intelligence in scalable windows handeling would be high on my list.
I'd quite like a few features from a new version of intuition. It would be nice if it directly supported skinning/window themes/styles, rather than having to rely on a 3rd party hack or patch. Actually tbh, i might be on my own here but i kind of prefer the original Workbench 1.x look and feel to the 3D bevelled look of 2.0.

Also it would be nice if you could open more than one workbench screen, like having multiple workspaces in X Windows systems.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 21 August 2015, 05:03   #16
beezle
Banned

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 67
I'm happy enough with AROS.
It exists, it *is* open source. Its written by friendly people. It already has enhancements vs 3.x. People can actually have a say rather than dreaming about having a say.

Its like having 2 doors leading to the same place, one open, one locked/chained and with a plethora of barricades.
Yet for some reason, time and time again people seem to disregard the open door and ponder how to get through the other.

In regards to a task manager and the ability to free memory from a crashed program, its been possible for decades. My preference is Scout.
beezle is offline  
Old 21 August 2015, 06:00   #17
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
I would be tempted to say memory protection but Im not going down that road. I know its practically impossible to implement as an afterthought.
That reminds me of the old days and FidoNet..
I remember a long technical discussion about adding memory protection the the Amiga, among some very smart (sounding at least, way over my head..) people.
There were 2 sides (I can't remember the sides or specific issue), one led by Matt Dillon (no, not the actor, the guy who wrote DICE and went on to do lots in the BSD world) and the other side by someone else I didn't know.
(I only knew of Matt because I was a DICE user... so I was on his side by default..)
Anyway, of course it was never resolved, but I did read that the other guy got a job at Commodore later (of course, no idea doing what) and we never got memory protection.
I'm my memory, I always imagine that if Matt had somehow "won" the discussion, Commodore would have hired him and we'd have memory protection..
I know that's not the case, but still... ;-)

I know this sounds silly, but I always wanted DCTV (or HamE, I had that back in the day, DCTV now) support in Workbench..
You didn't say they have to be good ideas!! ;-)

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 21 August 2015, 06:08   #18
beezle
Banned

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 67
Better memory protection is more accurate

All Amiga-noid have some limited page based memory protection.
beezle is offline  
Old 21 August 2015, 17:54   #19
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 767
Ability to change resolutions without needing to close windows and programs.
kolla is offline  
Old 21 August 2015, 18:24   #20
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
boot/mount IPF/ADF natively with write support.
BarryB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help please - Making Frankenstein os3.0 with os3.5/9 bits Abdabs support.Other 3 27 February 2015 22:51
ECS. Make OS3.1 look like OS3.9 without loosing speed. lukassid support.Apps 21 19 February 2013 01:13
Feature BippyM support.WinUAE 3 10 May 2005 18:13
Feature that would be very useful Amigalizard request.UAE Wishlist 2 28 February 2004 19:17
"Add Harddisk" feature problem.... mrpijey support.WinUAE 8 28 November 2002 22:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.44451 seconds with 11 queries