English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 August 2015, 19:51   #1
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 442
PC HDD files won't show up on Workbench 1.3

I'm using WinUAE on Amiga Forever and I've noticed a problem I can't solve:

When I use the Workbench 3.1 config from the AF menu, Add PC drives at startup and so forth then I can usually access all the files and folders just by clicking on the PC drive in the WB desktop and access the icons and so forth.

However, when I try the same trick on Workbench 1.3 (so I can run non-AGA demos with no problems) I find that whilst the PC drive shows up, the window is completely empty when opened. I then have to resort to hunting down the CLI app in WB and then running the app manually, which is a mighty pain.

Basically, is there a way for all files and folders to show up in an HDD drive window in WB 1.3 for easy access?
Foebane is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 August 2015, 20:10   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,955
You could use a little like Filemanager DirWork, light does not need external files only just the executable, you can not copy 'editor. If you do not know DirWork you can see it in this my old floppy filemanager posted [ Show youtube player ] su YouTube.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 August 2015, 20:26   #3
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 442
Isn't there an alternative that doesn't require a third-party file browser? I just want the files and folders to show up in the WB 1.3 windows is all - I doubt DirWork would show up neither.
Foebane is online now  
Old 16 August 2015, 20:51   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
There is one hidden option, if you use directory filesystem (not HDF, not ADF): add "filesys_inject_icons=true" to config file (without quotes).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 August 2015, 21:16   #5
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
There is one hidden option, if you use directory filesystem (not HDF, not ADF): add "filesys_inject_icons=true" to config file (without quotes).
Is there a way to add those sorts of lines to the RP9 files that Amiga Forever uses? I've already just discovered that I can edit them to add the PC drives, so I don't have to do it in the emulator itself.
Foebane is online now  
Old 16 August 2015, 22:24   #6
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 442
Couldn't find any information on what I wanted to do, but did realise that it's literally only a couple of clicks to the Shell and two commands and I'm ready to go!
Foebane is online now  
Old 17 August 2015, 18:54   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,955
There would be another solution, mount the harddrive or directory concerned with OS3, with Dopus4 or other utilities use "AddIcon" to all affected files, create icons OS1.3 will see the files. You can do the same operation by the Workbench "Show File" and then do a Save Icon.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reputable pre-configured CF Card won't show up in Kipper2k A508IDE hard disk board Starglider 2 support.Hardware 47 22 May 2015 21:14
Howto show hidden drawers permanently in workbench?? bazizten New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 18 June 2012 10:05
CF0 won't show up Snowwie support.Hardware 5 06 April 2012 18:49
A2000 won't boot from SCSI HDD 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 11 20 February 2011 08:39
ADZ files won't run (while ZIP ones do!) SunChild New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 05 October 2010 10:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12483 seconds with 11 queries