English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 August 2015, 17:03   #41
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,582
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I wonder why v66c doesn't work with 16 or 24 bits with Picasso but it works with 16bits with uaegfx (not with 24bits) using the color modes Toni said.

AmiKit PC with Color modes changed using 16 bits:



AKReal using Picasso, 16 bits:


Last edited by Retrofan; 19 August 2015 at 17:13.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 August 2015, 17:24   #42
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I wonder why v66c doesn't work with 16 or 24 bits with Picasso but it works with 16bits with uaegfx (not with 24bits) using the color modes Toni said.
Test all 16-bit modes. I am not sure which one matches PicassoIV. Too lazy to check, can't be easily confirmed by simply checking code because CL emulation uses totally different rendering method.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 August 2015, 17:29   #43
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,582
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
There aren't more uae screen modes with 16bits displayed, only changes the size. With 800x600 16bit is the same.

If you see there is some corruption, but not the same.

Last edited by Retrofan; 19 August 2015 at 17:34.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 19 August 2015, 17:36   #44
bernd roesch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: germany
Posts: 73
thanks, I do test soon, but i think uaegfx in 32bit is faster than picasso4 on 24 bit. with p96 speed can see this, when look for speed in line draw, or text, draw circle
bernd roesch is offline  
Old 19 August 2015, 18:14   #45
bernd roesch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: germany
Posts: 73
ok, i get now the picasso 4 working with your files in my debug system. In screenmode selector i can choose 16 bit and 16bit PC.
In 16 bit, the color of the transparent window is wrong. i guess amistart problem too. but as you can see all 3.5 icons are here. in 16 bit PC picasso 4 mode the color is correct. that the text look so ugly is maybe because my Monitor do 1920*1080, and it is scale down from 1600*1200

Wy your screenmode requester show no picasso 4 16 bit PC mode i do not know. But i guess on real amiga it is possible to choose 16 bit PC for picasso 4 too

Edit: picasso4 work here with 24 bit and amistart too. I use 0.66c. the startbar image look crap but this is because i select a stupid image for tile test some day

edit 2: maybe you send me your amistart

Edit 3: i find a amistart 0.66b. this have the problems you show in 24 bit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clip_19.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	438.9 KB
ID:	45111   Click image for larger version

Name:	Clip_18.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	400.3 KB
ID:	45112   Click image for larger version

Name:	Clip_20.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	425.2 KB
ID:	45114  

Last edited by bernd roesch; 19 August 2015 at 18:35.
bernd roesch is offline  
Old 19 August 2015, 19:59   #46
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,535
[Possible reason to missing modes]

Check sys:prefs/env-archive/picasso96/ShowModes
It should have single line "All" without quotes.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 August 2015, 20:42   #47
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,582
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Thanks Toni. Yes, mine had "Essential" and now it shows those modes.

It's great that the v66c of Bernd works, because the one of AmiKit doesn't work (Bernd's one is larger). I know it was announced as an "special version" for AmiKit.

I'm waiting to receive the whole drawer of AmiStart, maybe the file that Bernd sent me was corrupted or something as it doesn't open (I've tried also with CWB39 with Picasso 24bits -only RTG- and it didn't open that AmiStart.)

Last edited by Retrofan; 19 August 2015 at 22:38.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 10:59   #48
bernd roesch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: germany
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
[Possible reason to missing modes]

Check sysrefs/env-archive/picasso96/ShowModes
It should have single line "All" without quotes.
I have set all and i get the more modes with picasso 4. But in uaegfx i see no 24 bit modes. I notice that uaegfx need a file in devs/picasso96settings. when i use picasso4 file or delete it, uaegfx do not start. file is old from 1998 was in picasso install. But what file i need to show uaegfx 24 bit modes ?.

Have you a idea wy no 24 bit modes show in uaegfx. ?
Do i need a setting in winuae prefs ?
bernd roesch is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 11:28   #49
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,582
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
So I've got the v0.66c of Bernd and it works with AfA, 24bits and 3.5 icons

It has a problem for what I've seen that doesn't have the "DATAPATH" option, but I surely can assign the functions that aren't loaded and it will save them in the sm.prefs

The sm.prefs can be assigned though. I have to investigate.

Last edited by Retrofan; 20 August 2015 at 11:56.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 11:49   #50
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by bernd roesch View Post
Have you a idea wy no 24 bit modes show in uaegfx. ? Do i need a setting in winuae prefs ?
Only "PC compatible" modes are available by default (because only those modes were originally available). Make sure 24-bit mode is enabled in WinUAE RTG options GUI.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 August 2015, 12:53   #51
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,582
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
The "Datapath" tool works. The only problem your 0.66c Amistart had is that it needs the full path of the assignment for some of the images, but it's done. Ah, I forgot: It has some more files in the main drawer that need to be added over other AmiStart versions for it to work.



Many thanks Bernd Roesch, Thomas Klein and Toni

Last edited by Retrofan; 21 August 2015 at 02:33.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 15:54   #52
bernd roesch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: germany
Posts: 73
thanks tony, now i get 24 bit uaegfx working. i need choose a 24 bit pixel format first. maybe to make it clear you can add in the menu entry when (24 bit) is show this text (24 bit disable).
@Fernando

I receive the version from amikit you use now. it is name 0.66c but with older date. it realy not work in 24 bit. i have send you too a version named amistart_jan. This is a version that is used in amikit earlier. this work in 24 bit with 3.5 icons too and is in smaller size. the bigger size version have symbol info for debugging in. i dont know what the new amikit version do better. maybe this was the time, the 24 bit problem is introduce. i test amistart_Jan. this work on uaegfx in 24 bit bgr and rgb mode.

I dont know what datapath do. maybe you look in snoopdos. maybe it is a special change for amikit, that it work relative.
mayber you need in your startup-sequence a cd to correct directory. when start from workbench it is critical to use relative paths. i dont know, what the default path is
bernd roesch is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 16:09   #53
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,582
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Datapath is only an assignment to where the AmiStart drawer with the files is, (so you can open AmiStart from the WBStartup) but it wasn't it wasn't working, but that I had to add to the AmiStart drawer I use in AmiKit some more files like the "buttons" drawer that you have in your files, if not it doesn't work.

You can also see that the original version of AmiKit when you open the Taskbar settings for example, some checkmarks are outside of the window, but in your version everything is ok with 24 bits.

So what version do I use, do you have any idea? The _jan one works too as you say, I don't see any difference. Edit: I think I will use the _jan one.

And yes, I agree that on WinUAE it should say better 24bits Disabled or Set 24Bits or something... but well, once you know what it makes...

Last edited by Retrofan; 21 August 2015 at 02:41.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 16:34   #54
bernd roesch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: germany
Posts: 73
maybe ask Jan, wy he use the new version. if there is no reason, then better Jan use the old version he use before
bernd roesch is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 16:42   #55
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,582
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Thanks, yes I've just told him. Well, he doesn't have any problem with his version as with uae he doesn't have 24bits modes, and the options panel that opens looks nicer in his version.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amistart 0.65 andyhants request.Apps 1 28 November 2013 13:17
WhdLoad & Picasso96 ChrisEvans support.WinUAE 2 03 September 2013 04:32
Image Problems (libraries?) to run BPPC/BVision Amistart on AmiKit conversion Retrofan support.Other 16 24 February 2013 17:10
BoingBag3 and AfaOS 4.6 ???? Amilord support.Apps 4 29 January 2010 12:52
Picasso96 problems The Rom Alien support.WinUAE 7 08 September 2005 19:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20082 seconds with 12 queries