English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene > Member Introductions

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 August 2015, 17:24   #1
rabindranath72
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stafford
Age: 45
Posts: 30
An Italian in UK

Greetings all!
I am 43, I am Italian but I have been living in UK for the last 10 years (decent academic jobs are hard to find in Italy if you are not "the son of X"...)
Anwyay; got an A1200 two years ago (one of Petro's batches) and I have been playing with it a bit. Had an Atari ST way back in the day (wanted an Amiga 1000, but back then they cost far too much) so now that I have unlimited funds, I thought it was about time to see how it worked (well, it doesn't really work, as I have a day job, I am married, and with two children )

I am not a lot into gaming (except Lucasarts and Sierra adventures) but the main reason I got the A1200 (with a 68030 accelerator) was to run MINIX on it (long story...) and do some OS hacking (projects for the future: implement an IDE driver, and extend MINIX to support the 68030 MMU.)

Cheers,
Antonio
rabindranath72 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 August 2015, 03:39   #2
Adrian Browne
Jackie Chan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 647
Ive got an a1200 but its gathering dust atm. When I move house, I'll have more room for it. And I need an indivision aga.
There's quite a few adventure games on the amiga.
Adrian Browne is offline  
Old 06 August 2015, 09:24   #3
rabindranath72
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stafford
Age: 45
Posts: 30
I was lucky enough to find a multisync LCD monitor (some Chinese unbranded thing that was gathering dust at my workplace), so I could connect it to the A1200 (using the Commodore VGA adapter; the one sold by amigakit didn't work as it doesn't have any electronics inside.) So I get all resolutions without the expensive indivision stuff. The monitor doesn't handle interlacing well though, but I don't care as I use productivity mode when programming, and standard 15kHz resolutions when playing.
rabindranath72 is offline  
Old 07 August 2015, 14:23   #4
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
Quote:
An Italian in UK
Can't be worst then Fred in UK....

Welcome to EAB!
Anubis is offline  
Old 07 August 2015, 15:00   #5
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,224
Nice to hear about other Amiga-loving italian expats in the UK!

Welcome to EAB, mate!
jbenam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drakkhen v1.1 Italian Supamax support.Games 8 05 July 2014 21:08
New italian project cpiac64 Amiga scene 3 21 January 2013 22:53
Italian versions ? dungeon.master request.Old Rare Games 5 30 December 2010 17:19
italian versions mai HOL contributions 5 14 January 2010 12:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13145 seconds with 11 queries