English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 April 2017, 11:41   #41
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
So are we in agreement? Make a board that plugs into an 040 or 060 socket with the 040/060 plugging into it, with a fast PCI bus that goes out to a busboard with Zorro+PCI or the Mediator bridge slot. Someone ask Haynie if he can do that.
I believe that's the route the Atari guys went down with the CT60 and CTPCI.
trixster is offline  
Old 25 April 2017, 20:53   #42
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
To refresh anyone's memory this was the first post:

Dave Haynie has said he would have went with PCI if it was a standard around when Zorro-III was being created, he just gets to "make it right".
Has anything changed since August 2015? Making a Buster replacement for big box Amigas almost seems like a step backward, or at least side ways, from a replacement FPGA Amiga motherboard which Dave supported for the Amiga future. It would be different if the optimized buster logic could be used in an FPGA Amiga motherboard but it would likely be unnecessary as is with the Zorro slots disappearing. It would be great if Dave could be encouraged to get involved with one of the FPGA Amiga motherboard replacement developments as he is great for PR and motivation, he has insights and resources for some of the custom chip logic and his advice has been solid (C= didn't listen and they are bankrupt and Hyperion/A-Eon didn't listen and they are likely a tax deduction as well). The current FPGA Amiga developers could use more vision and planning for the future. Too bad they can't all work together for the next generation and mass produce very affordable hardware. Then again, it may be the politics and short sighted people he wants to avoid after experiencing the destruction of C=.
matthey is offline  
Old 27 April 2017, 00:54   #43
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,328
Quote:
How do you think the Amiga hardware would look today if Commodore hadn't went bankrupt? How would the Amiga graphics system look? Would it be non standard and based on AGA/AAA or would it be more like SVGA? What about the bus system? And, last but least, what processor architecture could the Amiga have been using?

A: Well, it’s hard to say everything for sure. But I can tell you this. In the fall of 1991, with Sydnes basically cancelling every project, I decided to sit down and design the next system architecture, the thing that would hopefully replace the A3000 design (used in all A3000/A4000 machines). This was called “Acutiator”, and fully modularized the architecture, so that graphics, for example, could be separate from sound and basic I/O. This originally used a custom bus I designed, called the AMI Bus (Amiga Modular Interconnect).

But then a funny thing happened: PCI came out. PCI was designed to solve the very same problem, and by the time Intel kicked it out to the PCI SIG and they improved it, it was way better than the AMI bus at a bunch of things. And also, it was likely to be this huge standard. That’s a good thing....

See, there’s this misconception about C=/Amiga engineering and standards. We LOVED to use standards – any standard – as long as they did not suck. So you see all these proprietary buses and such around the Amiga, and figure, these guys hate standards. Not at all. We liked the good ones. PCI was a very good one, even then.

So, with all of that said, the next generation Amiga would have had a PCI bus. Also, probably, a PCI to Zorro III bridge. Graphics would have been on PCI. I had speced out PCI interface chips for AA and AAA subsystems, so the graphics could go on a card. Not at all cloning The PC; but the functionality is correct, to make these pieces modular if possible. I’ll let you say I’m copying the Apple ][ here is you like – after all, that’s what IBM did anyway.

There was a feature in Acutiator most systems simply don’t have: the TPU, or Transfer Processing Unit. Any time you had a bus to bus interface, you would (ideally) have a TPU there, in the chip that did that bus to bus interface. This was a very simple 32-bit microprocessor (I designed the architecture) which would transfer data, efficiently, from bus to bus. It would so largely because it understood, perfectly, both of the buses at issue. So, no imposed wait states if there were synchronization issues, speed mismatch, etc. You could write directly to memory/IO on the far side of that bus, but better still, just drop a transfer instruction into the queue for a particular TPU, and it would run the transfer for you, then signal when done. The goal: every bus in the system could be busy, all at once.

Anyway, that’s the kind of things I had in mind for the system. For graphics, Hombre, as mentioned, and that was also PCI – Dr. Hepler also saw the wisdom in PCI, even as I did independently. Beyond that, it’s questionable if Commodore would have remained in the graphics business. Most of the PC markers used to make their own graphics chips, too. Today, it’s nVidia, ATi, Matrox, and few others. Like Intel, Motorola, and National Semiconductor, you only need so many different CPUs around.
Source:
http://www.landley.net/history/mirro...re/haynie.html

Related to nothing, but I liked this interview with him.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 31 August 2018, 22:57   #44
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 409
this needs to be done a simple pop on board could be made to replace
nexus is offline  
Old 01 September 2018, 00:10   #45
Mr.Flibble
Registered User

Mr.Flibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 411
Given bugger all happened in the three years since the thread was started, I won't hold my breath..
Mr.Flibble is offline  
Old 01 September 2018, 00:23   #46
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 369
As an A3000 user, which back in the day could not find how and afford to upgrade it properly, this sounds very interesting!
KONEY is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 Buster -09 or -11 Revision: Heat Sink On Chip crazyegg support.Hardware 6 12 August 2015 03:25
Amiga on a Chip Project Amigan123 Amiga scene 27 13 July 2013 17:45
Need a Buster Chip! Yellow screen problem on my a4k magnetic support.Hardware 21 27 March 2011 23:08
WTB: WD A3000 chip and buster rev9 Dreamcast270mhz MarketPlace 2 09 February 2010 18:12
New Bounty-Project started for AROS: Kickstart replacement Paul News 0 26 December 2004 12:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06136 seconds with 12 queries