English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 July 2015, 00:27   #1
DisposableHero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 183
Will WinUAE work in Windows 10?

I've been offered the free upgrade to Windows 10, which has a Get Windows 10 program which checks the PC for incompatible programs. Nothing shows up, but I wonder if Toni has had a beta copy to test the program on? I've really got hooked on old Amiga games again this last six months and would hate to lose that.
DisposableHero is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 July 2015, 00:35   #2
Tmw2n
Registered User

Tmw2n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow(ish)
Posts: 10
I've been running windows 10 previews for a while on a machine here, and although i haven't run winUAE often, i haven't encountered any issues with it. I'm happy to do some more testing if there's a need.
Tmw2n is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 00:37   #3
Snake79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 168
I'm using WinUAE on Windows 10 fine too.
Snake79 is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 09:59   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,527
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisposableHero View Post
I've been offered the free upgrade to Windows 10.
Think everyone is getting this, wish it will go away. I already reserved my copy.
FOL is offline  
Old 25 July 2015, 18:11   #5
waltc
Martian Anachronism

waltc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Railway Station, Mars
Posts: 32
Been using it with Win10x64 for months, along with Amiga Forever, and now with the 10240 build (latest)--no problems at all. Win10 is the most backwards-compatible version of Windows Microsoft has released to date, thus far--I find it more compatible than Win7 by far..! 8/.1 was more back-compat than Win7, too, but sometimes in 8./1 I had to run a program under a DEP exception before it would run--same programs run in Win10 without having to set that up. Nice...!

It'd be nice if Gog could work a deal with Cloanto & Tony for UAE that would allow them to setup and sell Amiga classics via GOG just as GOG sells so many DOSbox titles. But I guess it would boil down to obtaining the IP for the games themselves...? I would think Cloanto & Tony would be amenable...

Everyone who can should certainly take advantage of the free upgrade offer for Win10 that will run from July 29 '15 to 7/29/'16...! I think that at least 90% of the people computing today are eligible as simply owning an authorized copy of either Win7 or Win8/.1 will net you a free installation of Win10 next week. Breaks down like this:

Win7 SP1 x(86) or x64 = Win10(x86) or x64 (will match the upgrade copy)
Win8/.1 x(86) or x64 = Win10(x86) or x64 (will match the upgrade copy)
Win7 Home/Win8 Core = Win10 Home
Win7 Pro/Win8/.1 Pro = Win10 Pro
Upgrade OS is an OEM license = Win10 license will also be OEM (Tied to your upgraded hardware--change out a motherboard, say, and you'll need a new Win10 license.)
Upgrade OS is a retail license = Win10 license follows owner, not hardware (Tied to purchaser--it will survive motherboards swaps, etc.)

It's a no-brainer, really. There will be no Windows 11, or 12, or 14, etc...Win10 will be it, and introduced features will be supported for a minimum 10 years (Microsoft recently stated.)

I'd advise everyone to go the retail-license route, even it if means having to pay something to get your OEM Win10 license upgraded to a retail Win10 license. Microsoft plans to continue its normal policy of releasing a continuing stream of feature updates, additional features, bug fixes and security-hole patching on a regular basis, just as the company has always done through Windows update. Difference is cosmetic, though: they won't be called "service packs" even though they will be "service packs" in all but name... Concrete difference is that Microsoft is pledging to continue such free services for the life of your supported product--which means as long as Windows supports your hardware, which in the case of a PC is pretty much forever... That's why you want the retail license...! If you have an OEM license then *that machine* is supported only as long as it lasts-- a new machine will require a new Win10 license. The OEM license is the one that "you can't take with you"...

Last edited by waltc; 25 July 2015 at 18:43.
waltc is offline  
Old 25 July 2015, 18:14   #6
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Works fine here too, there is no reason why it wouldn't work.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 25 July 2015, 19:56   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,524
I have been using Windows 10 test versions since last year in my development PC without major issues.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 July 2015, 20:53   #8
Narf the Mouse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vancouver Area, Canada
Posts: 131
It's only a "no-brainer" if your Win7/Win8 install is OEM. The Window 10 upgrade they're offering is OEM-only. Change your hardware, and you need to buy a license.

If your Win7/Win8 PC is not OEM? Don't touch the upgrade with a ten-foot pole. It'll make your non-OEM install an OEM install.

* OEM = Original Equipment Manufacturer. Can only use with the computer it was first installed on.
Narf the Mouse is offline  
Old 25 July 2015, 21:16   #9
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Or you could join windows Insider and get it for free on anything.
Shoonay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 3.0 - Windows 10 oobumblebeeoo support.WinUAE 12 21 June 2015 11:42
Will Amiga Forever work with Windows 8 64-bit?... dave4shmups New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 30 October 2014 15:23
Does WinUAE work in Windows 7 64 bit? flibble42 support.WinUAE 4 24 August 2014 10:07
WinUAE for Windows RT...? chiark support.WinUAE 5 11 December 2012 09:43
Can't get CDTV emulation to work on Windows Vista Emu500 support.WinUAE 3 03 June 2009 17:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14629 seconds with 11 queries