English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 July 2015, 01:32   #141
Smakar
Amiga Fan in Phoenix
Smakar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Age: 59
Posts: 60
It Never Fails

sneak the upgrades past my wife electronically later?

Another variance of Murphy's Law: my purchases will be delivered at the exact time and day that my wife happens to be near the front door
Smakar is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 July 2015, 01:37   #142
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 40
Posts: 2,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smakar View Post
Another variance of Murphy's Law: my purchases will be delivered at the exact time and day that my wife happens to be near the front door
So what? You're a grown man, do you need permission to buy something?
Thorham is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 02:33   #143
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smakar View Post
sneak the upgrades past my wife electronically later?

Another variance of Murphy's Law: my purchases will be delivered at the exact time and day that my wife happens to be near the front door

Yeah my wife always hands me my parcels and asks "so what have you bought this time?"

When I buy software and DLC she has no idea.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
So what? You're a grown man, do you need permission to buy something?

When you have two young children a gigantic mortgage and a budget, yes.

My deal with my wife is I have to get agreement to spend more than my small monthly "toy" allowance and so does she.

Last edited by prowler; 24 July 2015 at 21:58. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
dJOS is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 03:43   #144
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 40
Posts: 2,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
When you have two young children a gigantic mortgage and a budget, yes.
Respect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
My deal with my wife is I have to get agreement to spend more than my small monthly "toy" allowance and so does she.
Good, it's not like that for some people.
Thorham is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 08:05   #145
mikele
Registered User
mikele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: poland
Posts: 285
the good thing about ACA 1221 is that people won't have to buy from weasels selling 4 MB trapdoor expansions for 100 UK pounds on eBay
mikele is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 10:15   #146
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Does ACA cards require Amiga OS to work?

Say I was to use a future ACA123x with "locked away" features, would I be able to boot into Linux or NetBSD and have access to all resources? I have been tempted to replace my Blizzard 1230III with ACA1233 (glorious 128MB) of RAM, but since machine runs Linux most of the time, I have been very hesitant.
A part of the ACA1221 EEPROM is used to create an autoconfig, and we're trying to make a library available that handles setting CPU speed.

For the ACA1233, all features are available right from the start, but the ACA1221 will always start with 17,03MHz. That's a safety precaution, so a processor that isn't overclocking-stable will not keep you from using it from a cold-start and enter the refund code.

It's not a secret how to set a different CPU speed. We may either make that part of ACAcontrol open-source, or you'll implement a simple tool under Linux that does the job.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
so what's this about an "unprotect jumper"? seems pretty pointless if you have to have it set the whole time anyway. so i'd assumed the software would flash something and changes would be permanent.
Brett already has it right:

Quote:
Originally Posted by brett71 View Post
I suspect that jumper only needs to be set when applying the license key, and then it would be put back, like the read/write tab on a diskette, but for some flash RAM space that is set aside for this purpose.
Correct - the unprotect-jumper only needs to be set if a license is added or removed. Licenses are written into non-volatile memory and are still available if you remove the jumper and start up "cold".

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 13:12   #147
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
Respect.


Good, it's not like that for some people.

Cheers, i love my kids but I do miss having $1,000 a month to spend on whatever I wanted.
dJOS is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 15:23   #148
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,479
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
I do miss having $1,000 a month to spend on whatever I wanted.
Jezz, wish I was ever in that position. Kids do eat your cash though, .
FOL is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 16:29   #149
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
You're better off feeding them mashed fruit and veg.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 20:16   #150
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
It's not a secret how to set a different CPU speed. We may either make that part of ACAcontrol open-source, or you'll implement a simple tool under Linux that does the job.
Cool, this may be a fun little project. I picture implementing it within the framework of cpu frequency scaling in the kernel, AFAIK it would be a first for m68k, hehe.
kolla is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 22:12   #151
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Jezz, wish I was ever in that position. Kids do eat your cash though, .

I had a very small mortgage back then too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
You're better off feeding them mashed fruit and veg.

Lol

Last edited by prowler; 24 July 2015 at 21:59. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
dJOS is offline  
Old 24 July 2015, 15:07   #152
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,479
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
I had a very small mortgage back then too.
Me too, .
FOL is offline  
Old 24 July 2015, 16:22   #153
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
One ACA1221 pre-production unit has just reached San Jose, and will be shown at the 30-year Amiga event this weekend: www.amiga30.com

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 05 August 2015, 16:42   #154
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 775
Will a fully unlocked unit match the 1233? I had been saving towards that but at my rate of progress this may be a better choice.

Great idea by the way. I appreciate the scale of affordability on offer here. Something that has been painfully missing to people like me.

Also, will this board have the same timing fix requirement of the 1233?

Finally, will the 1233 ever be available again? It has disappeared from the usual online retailers.

Oh, and if I sell it later - does the new buyer retain my upgrades?

Sent from Ubuntu Touch using the Forum Browser app
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 05 August 2015, 18:29   #155
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 408
This card only has a 68020 chip AFAIK - which although overclocked wont match the 68030 on the card you are talking about.

The website also suggests that timing fixes may be needed as with other ACA cards.
crazyc is offline  
Old 05 August 2015, 22:19   #156
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenLeftFingers View Post
Will a fully unlocked unit match the 1233?
No, it won't. The ACA1233 is clocked at 40MHz, and the 68030 processor has two caches (instruction and data) instead of one (instruction only) that the 68020 processor has.
The faster memory interface of the 68030 gives it about a 10% advantage over a 68020 at the same clock rate. Since the ACA1233 runs at 40MHz, and the fully unlocked ACA1221 runs at 28.38MHz, there's quite a difference between them:

http://wiki.icomp.de/wiki/ACA1232#ACA_12xx_Benchmarks

I have already entered the ACA1221 in that table, and you can sort it by clicking on the colums' arrows.

The "big plus" of the ACA1221 is a new method to speed up chipram access, and the all-new-to-the-Amiga-computer property that the clock speed can be changed on the fly - something that modern laptops can do today is now available to the Amiga!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TenLeftFingers View Post
Also, will this board have the same timing fix requirement of the 1233?
Yes - all mainboards require timing fixes. We've just found out that even Blizzard cards have a hard time with unmodified boards. In short: Four caps on the bottom side of your A1200 must go under any circumstances: E123C, E125C, E121C and E122C. The latter two are not documented in any Commodore files, but I've found that my only incompatible board had them assembled, and once I removed them, everything worked fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TenLeftFingers View Post
Finally, will the 1233 ever be available again? It has disappeared from the usual online retailers.
It's sold out now. I'm thinking of making a new design that can handle different speed 68030s, and includes the same clock stepping feature as the ACA1221, so when the computer is idle, speed can be reduced and the computer doesn't get that warm. My trouble is that I don't have a source for properly-priced 68030 CPUs. I'm accumulating them, but at this point, I don't have enough to justify a production run.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TenLeftFingers View Post
Oh, and if I sell it later - does the new buyer retain my upgrades?
Upgrades are stored in the card - you can't lose them, and you'll automatically sell them with the hardware. So yes, the value stays there, and it'll be moved with the hardware without doing anything special.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 06 August 2015, 00:17   #157
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 775
Thank you Jens. I hope this is a success and leads to more products in the same vein.

Sent from Ubuntu Touch using the Forum Browser app
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 10 August 2015, 12:50   #158
corpsicle
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Wheres the 1230/56 ? =P
corpsicle is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 03:39   #159
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by corpsicle View Post
Wheres the 1230/56 ? =P
It was too fast to get a reading
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 07:22   #160
beezle
Banned

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 67
Isn't the "market" flooded with low end hardware already?

I don't mean to be negative, but each new a1200 accelerator is more boring than the last in recent times.

Or do people really only use their a1200's as whdload machines?
Seems a waste.
beezle is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A new, low-cost CD32 Expansion? Rebel-CD32 Hardware mods 267 12 January 2017 19:03
low cost pcb production emufan support.Hardware 3 09 August 2013 18:03
2x New Low Cost Turbo Card for A600 "Fria" venox Amiga scene 80 14 November 2012 11:38
Super Low Cost Amiga CF Card Reader AmigaMAD75 support.Hardware 5 26 January 2010 18:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23961 seconds with 12 queries