English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 June 2016, 12:21   #441
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 1,241
I had to send mine back. Requires some hardware to flash i believe.
dirkies is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 June 2016, 12:57   #442
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xebec View Post
Hi Jens! - I assume there is no way to 'flash' an ACA1221 from Rev 1.2 to Rev 1.3? It's some kind of hardware difference? I wanted to try 42 mhz ever since I saw how you divided out the mhz to get 17, 21, 28.. Thanks
It's a combined CPLD and flash update. Both require special tools that the average user does not have, and I would not part with the required files :-)

You have probably read in the Wiki that not all 68020 CPUs can take that kind of overclocking. Also, it appears like the power supply has great influence on overclocking capabilities: Just 0.1V too much, and the CPU gets too hot to run at 42MHz, although the mask is right. Cooling is a "must", but it's very difficult with the CPU upside down and no mounting holes on the card.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 24 June 2016, 17:25   #443
Xebec
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
It's a combined CPLD and flash update. Both require special tools that the average user does not have, and I would not part with the required files :-)

You have probably read in the Wiki that not all 68020 CPUs can take that kind of overclocking. Also, it appears like the power supply has great influence on overclocking capabilities: Just 0.1V too much, and the CPU gets too hot to run at 42MHz, although the mask is right. Cooling is a "must", but it's very difficult with the CPU upside down and no mounting holes on the card.

Jens
Fair enough - I appreciate the response

My first OC was a 486DX-25 that eventually ran at 48 mhz in 1992 (wouldn't do 50).. It's just a ton of fun to OC these old processors to me.. wanted to at least give it a try but understand..

Thanks for this great accelerator btw!
Xebec is offline  
Old 14 July 2016, 17:30   #444
Zippy Zapp
Registered User

Zippy Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CA/USA
Posts: 295
Hi. Is there any update on the new model ACA1221 or the ACA500plus?
Thanks. Revisions look good.
Zippy Zapp is offline  
Old 19 August 2016, 02:06   #445
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney
Posts: 154
Looks good, but no FPU?
Marchie is offline  
Old 19 August 2016, 07:55   #446
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marchie View Post
Looks good, but no FPU?
What would you need an FPU for?
demolition is offline  
Old 19 August 2016, 11:20   #447
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@demolition

Come come now Doctor Zoidberg, you know at least some of these reasons =)

1. Productivity : Ray-Tracing, Image & Video Decompression routines, 3D Modeling
2. Games : 3D Bit-mapped, 3D Polygon
3. Visual Aesthetics : Completeness
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 August 2016, 11:43   #448
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,936
Well, for (1) and (2) I wouldn't consider a 68020 based accelerator anyway. My point was that if you need an FPU, you'd probably want an 040 or faster. For (3), it is hard to argue against, although if you want completeness then an 020 will not leave you satisfied for very long.
demolition is offline  
Old 19 August 2016, 18:17   #449
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
For "completeness", a 68020 also needs the 68851 MMU. Then again, the ACA1221 and the forthcoming ACA1221EC are geared towards people who want slightly more memory and a bit more CPU oompf to run WHDload games.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 06 September 2016, 19:55   #450
geir
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Tonsberg / Norway
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zippy Zapp View Post
Hi. Is there any update on the new model ACA1221 or the ACA500plus?
I'm wondering too. Is there a spec list for the upcoming ACA500plus? And will it be released this year? Sorry if this has been asked a million times before. I've been out of the loop for a long time.
geir is offline  
Old 07 September 2016, 10:14   #451
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
For "completeness", a 68020 also needs the 68851 MMU.
This explains my attraction to the A2620

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Then again, the ACA1221 and the forthcoming ACA1221EC are geared towards people who want slightly more memory and a bit more CPU oompf to run WHDload games.

Jens
Indeed, its horses for courses - very few games use an FPU and I cannot think of any that use an MMU - why spend money one something one wont need or use.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 30 October 2016, 22:27   #452
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 515
Offloading math intensive software to an FPU makes a world of difference with the software that is able to use it. A 68020/030+882 is still a heck lot cheaper than a 060, and 040s tend to go warm. I really don't grasp this "hostility" against FPUs, especially when they are as cheap as they are.
kolla is offline  
Old 30 October 2016, 22:49   #453
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Offloading math intensive software to an FPU makes a world of difference with the software that is able to use it. A 68020/030+882 is still a heck lot cheaper than a 060, and 040s tend to go warm. I really don't grasp this "hostility" against FPUs, especially when they are as cheap as they are.
People who buy cheap accelerators usually want them for WHDLoad stuff. There is no need for an FPU for that and thus it just adds cost. If you really want to run high end stuff that requires an FPU, you'd probably want something faster than an 020/030. This is why I think low end accelerators with FPU are not particularly useful, at least for the general Amiga user.
demolition is offline  
Old 30 October 2016, 23:07   #454
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 816
Introducing ACA 1221 Low Cost Accelerator At AmigaKit.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
People who buy cheap accelerators usually want them for WHDLoad stuff. There is no need for an FPU for that and thus it just adds cost. If you really want to run high end stuff that requires an FPU, you'd probably want something faster than an 020/030. This is why I think low end accelerators with FPU are not particularly useful, at least for the general Amiga user.


I chucked a 68882 in my LCIII 030 Mac cause it was cheap and it made a noticeable difference.

Now I realise classic Mac's do almost everything in software and the Amiga uses custom chips, but I'd still have thought for anything using floating point math there would be a significant speed up?
dJOS is offline  
Old 31 October 2016, 00:30   #455
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,415
Which is Demolition's point. There's nothing in WHDLoad or its slaves that uses FPU.
idrougge is online now  
Old 31 October 2016, 06:27   #456
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
I'd still have thought for anything using floating point math there would be a significant speed up?
Actually, most software that can use the FPU will not even run if you do not have one (you get a guru if you try to execute FPU instructions without one present), so it is not just a question of speed. Some software was compiled in a FPU and non-FPU versions, and here it usually makes a difference if you can run the FPU version, but you won't see that with much classic software. Software that could benefit from an FPU was usually 3D software and games, which was mainly designed for high end Amigas, i.e. 040/060.
demolition is offline  
Old 31 October 2016, 17:56   #457
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 590
FPU is also needed if you want to use midi music for PC games in scummVM I think. But what's the point having Amiga to emulate PC games? lol

I want Amiga to run Amiga software. If I want to play old PC games I do it on a PC. But hey, that's just my opinion
turrican9 is offline  
Old 31 October 2016, 22:31   #458
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
FPU is also needed if you want to use midi music for PC games in scummVM I think. But what's the point having Amiga to emulate PC games? lol

I want Amiga to run Amiga software. If I want to play old PC games I do it on a PC. But hey, that's just my opinion


Lol, yeah that is what DosBox is for.
dJOS is offline  
Old 31 October 2016, 22:35   #459
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Actually, most software that can use the FPU will not even run if you do not have one (you get a guru if you try to execute FPU instructions without one present), so it is not just a question of speed. Some software was compiled in a FPU and non-FPU versions, and here it usually makes a difference if you can run the FPU version, but you won't see that with much classic software. Software that could benefit from an FPU was usually 3D software and games, which was mainly designed for high end Amigas, i.e. 040/060.


What about the various paint programs, surely they support FPU's?
dJOS is offline  
Old 01 November 2016, 21:47   #460
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 1,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
What about the various paint programs, surely they support FPU's?
Not usually.

Paint programs usually do not require floating point arithmetic.
whiteb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A new, low-cost CD32 Expansion? Rebel-CD32 Hardware mods 267 12 January 2017 19:03
low cost pcb production emufan support.Hardware 3 09 August 2013 18:03
2x New Low Cost Turbo Card for A600 "Fria" venox Amiga scene 80 14 November 2012 11:38
Super Low Cost Amiga CF Card Reader AmigaMAD75 support.Hardware 5 26 January 2010 18:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32094 seconds with 12 queries