English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 May 2016, 18:27   #421
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by traal View Post
So instead of preconfiguring it with the fewest options, preconfigure it with the most options?

Why not make it more like ordering a computer online: let everyone configure it however they want at the time of purchase? It would save buyers from needing to pay more money again later to finally get what they want. I think people are resentful when they have to pay twice like that.
I haven't made a decision yet. From what I found so far, all E13G CPUs work fine @42MHz (even the 16MHz-rated ones!), so I might as well enable that "always" and treat it like will treat that frequency of the ACA500plus: Have it always available, but don't guarantee it.

For the ACA1221EC, this would mean you pay for a 28MHz accelerator, and if it works at 42: Good for you.

For the ACA500plus, you'll pay for a 14MHz accelerator. If it works at 21, 28 or 42: Good for you.

If the higher frequency doesn't work, it's just bad luck. However, I do have to make a difference for those accelerators that use a CPU with a mask that is known to "not like" overclocking. I'll have to sell these cheaper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by traal View Post
Have you considered the 68EC030? I think it has the full 32-bit address bus so it won't be limited to 16 MB.
The 68EC030 has the full address space, that's correct. It lacks the MMU, though, so Linux-68k folks would not be happy.

When I did my very first A1200 accelerator, the ACA1230, I had lots of EC030-25 and developed the MapROM feature, so lack of MMU doesn't hurt that much. I do have a few EC030's left in stock, but the majority of CPUs I have includes the MMU. You don't save much money on EC030 versus full-030. It's mainly a matter of availability, not of price. I found a nice stock of brand new 68030 (partly Motorola, partly Freescale), which is why I have taken the time to improve the ACA1233 one more time.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 May 2016, 23:08   #422
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 860
Why not keep the proven and affordable model of ACA1221 ?

Pay little for the basic card, and later save up and pay for the upgrades.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 23:28   #423
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 1,241
He said the cpu's used in the 1221 are short in supply so need for an alternative cpu.
dirkies is offline  
Old 01 June 2016, 00:17   #424
traal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 14
Then I guess the next step up from a 68020 is either a full 68030 or the 68LC040.
traal is offline  
Old 01 June 2016, 10:08   #425
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 860
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirkies View Post
He said the cpu's used in the 1221 are short in supply so need for an alternative cpu.
No no, you misunderstood. I meant the paying model not the card model
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 01 June 2016, 10:10   #426
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 1,241
Ah ok
I also like the model iComp introduced by unlocking functionality using licence codes. Maybe they should do the same with the Vampire
dirkies is offline  
Old 01 June 2016, 10:58   #427
SKOLMAN_MWS
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by traal View Post
Then I guess the next step up from a 68020 is either a full 68030 or the 68LC040.
"68LC040"

Better to produce cards without CPU with saucers under CPU 040 or 060. CPU each user can buy yourself.
SKOLMAN_MWS is offline  
Old 01 June 2016, 15:23   #428
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKOLMAN_MWS View Post
"68LC040"

Better to produce cards without CPU with saucers under CPU 040 or 060. CPU each user can buy yourself.
This is not a new idea. The response is usually that this would make support for the product very hard.
As the guy who gives you warranty and support on the product, how do you deal with the part where you have no idea about what CPU the user tries to install..

And the response to *that* is usually, "he but how can Motherboard makers sell mobos with empty sockets"...
And then the debate dies without getting anywhere :-)

In short, if Jens *wanted* to, he could of course...


Skickat frn min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 01 June 2016, 15:29   #429
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
And the response to *that* is usually, "he but how can Motherboard makers sell mobos with empty sockets"...
They probably factor in a larger amount of replacements and have a more substantial support organization in place. IComp is too small to have a big support organization, so he needs to avoid the situation as much as possible in the first place.
demolition is offline  
Old 01 June 2016, 16:03   #430
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 860
That is a rational decision and I support Jens in this one.

Just imagine the number of "I gots me a brand new 68060 CPU for 3 dollars from Chinas and it don't work with your kard" emails.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 01 June 2016, 17:59   #431
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
That is a rational decision and I support Jens in this one.

Just imagine the number of "I gots me a brand new 68060 CPU for 3 dollars from Chinas and it don't work with your kard" emails.
Exactly...

Skickat frn min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 07 June 2016, 09:54   #432
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
ACA1221EC performance data

At 42.56MHz, the ACA1221EC is really a fun card. I don't know if any other '020 accelerator before has offered this kind of speed. Table not yet fully populated, but it gives an idea about what to expect:
http://wiki.icomp.de/wiki/ACA1221#ACA_12xx_Benchmarks

Jens
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA1221EC_AIBB_42MHz.JPG
Views:	331
Size:	144.6 KB
ID:	48771   Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA1221EC_Sysinfo_42MHz.JPG
Views:	461
Size:	143.0 KB
ID:	48772  
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 07 June 2016, 10:38   #433
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
ACA1221 is discontinued due to "no more CPUs in stock".
What about the Tekmos 68020?
idrougge is offline  
Old 07 June 2016, 10:55   #434
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
What about the Tekmos 68020?
Checked that quite some time ago already: Way too expensive. The one and only reason why the ACA1221 was so cheap was the low price for the CPUs. I've bought them as "scrap metal with impurities" (if that's the right translation - you probably get the idea).

Would I spend the kind of money that Tekmos wants, I could easily afford to buy 68030s (which I did earlier this year; ACA1233n in production already).

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 17 June 2016, 14:45   #435
Boboo_SK
Develop HW
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nitra / Slovakia
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
At 42.56MHz, the ACA1221EC is really a fun card. I don't know if any other '020 accelerator before has offered this kind of speed. Table not yet fully populated, but it gives an idea about what to expect:
http://wiki.icomp.de/wiki/ACA1221#ACA_12xx_Benchmarks

Jens
Yes surpassed, overlock Furia EC020 37,5MHz (Zero waitstate) look here:
http://eab.abime.net/attachment.php?...1&d=1466167418
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0737-1.jpg
Views:	474
Size:	190.3 KB
ID:	48895  
Boboo_SK is offline  
Old 18 June 2016, 00:25   #436
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
Nope, I didn't surpass yours (your benchmark shows higher performance despite lower clock), because my memory is SD-Ram at 85MHz. This clock speed is just over the edge of a timing trick that I'm using on my 80MHz memory controller, so I need to add one clock cycle in order to have stable memory.

In other words: I'd be faster if my base clock would be 80MHz (thus CPU would be clocked at 40MHz), but that would mean slower chipram access. My original intention was to only go up to twice the board speed, and I have chosen the crystal frequency to be 3 times that clock rate. At 28MHz, all times are pretty much ideal, but the board infrastructure just wasn't designed to run with a CPU speed of 42MHz. Just because I didn't expect a 68020 to go that fast :-)

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 18 June 2016, 01:25   #437
DerSheriff
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post

Jens
Hi Jens ,

how the work on the 1221ec is going? Any news about release? My vanilla A1200 is waiting for a good expansion

DerSheriff
DerSheriff is offline  
Old 18 June 2016, 18:15   #438
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
ACA1221ec will most likely go on sale by the end of the month.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 18 June 2016, 18:31   #439
DerSheriff
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
ACA1221ec will most likely go on sale by the end of the month.

Jens
That's great!

I missed the first ACA1221, went to order and was no more available. Hope to be able to get a 1221EC!!!

Thank you
DerSheriff is offline  
Old 24 June 2016, 11:59   #440
Xebec
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 44
Hi Jens! - I assume there is no way to 'flash' an ACA1221 from Rev 1.2 to Rev 1.3? It's some kind of hardware difference? I wanted to try 42 mhz ever since I saw how you divided out the mhz to get 17, 21, 28.. Thanks
Xebec is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A new, low-cost CD32 Expansion? Rebel-CD32 Hardware mods 267 12 January 2017 19:03
low cost pcb production emufan support.Hardware 3 09 August 2013 18:03
2x New Low Cost Turbo Card for A600 "Fria" venox Amiga scene 80 14 November 2012 11:38
Super Low Cost Amiga CF Card Reader AmigaMAD75 support.Hardware 5 26 January 2010 18:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18730 seconds with 12 queries