English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 August 2015, 19:42   #201
GhstWlf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
If you have licensed 63MBytes, you can use these as 1MByte @$00c0.0000 and 62MBytes continuous memory in the 32-bit area.

The final one MByte of memory is reserved for Maprom. If Maprom is NOT licensed, you can "addmem" that part of memory to the freemem pool. So technically, yes, you can use the whole 64M as memory, but it's a bit of an expert's job.

Note that the ACA500 firmware does NOT know about the ACA1221 yet. We need to make a firmware update for that.

Jens
I will probably get the 63M licence but I know that it will be hard for me to use it all.

Will you add pmmu dlc (down loadable configuration )? NetBSD will be slow but I like the idea of being able to run it.
GhstWlf is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 August 2015, 20:03   #202
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 1,909
@TenLeftFingers

Cool, well if you can fit it in, the offer's there, but good find on that Irish guy, definitely a lot handier than shipping to the UK! His website could to with a bit of proofreading, but bookmarked anyway and looks like the right kinda guy for that sort of work.

Do you know where he's based?
Daedalus is offline  
Old 27 August 2015, 21:37   #203
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhstWlf View Post
Will you add pmmu dlc (down loadable configuration )? NetBSD will be slow but I like the idea of being able to run it.
MMU is a separate component on 68020 systems - one that's even harder to find than the CPU itself (part number 68851). So no MMU on the ACA1221, and therefore no NetBSD.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 27 August 2015, 23:07   #204
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
@TenLeftFingers

Cool, well if you can fit it in, the offer's there, but good find on that Irish guy, definitely a lot handier than shipping to the UK! His website could to with a bit of proofreading, but bookmarked anyway and looks like the right kinda guy for that sort of work.

Do you know where he's based?
Thanks buddy. He's based in Waterford and says an A600 cost EUR 15 to post to him from within Ireland. It's not a huge saving really, but there's more peace of mind that if anything goes wrong it should be less hassle to sort it out.

He said if I send him the accellerator with the machine he'll make sure the timing fix is right for that card and because I have the caps from AmigaKit already I won't have to pay for those.
TenLeftFingers is online now  
Old 28 August 2015, 13:47   #205
GhstWlf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
MMU is a separate component on 68020 systems - one that's even harder to find than the CPU itself (part number 68851). So no MMU on the ACA1221, and therefore no NetBSD.

Jens
I was thinking of one implemented in FPGA/CLPD but it would need cooperation with the NetBSD devs
GhstWlf is offline  
Old 29 August 2015, 22:51   #206
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
All ACA1221 pre-orders have been tested&packed - some cards shipped yesterday, some today, and the majority will be shipped on monday. Product has status "in stock" now. Another release date met ;-)

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 29 August 2015, 23:19   #207
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 1,909
Another Saturday well spent Jens? Not that I can say much, sitting here coding on my Saturday night...

Well done!
Daedalus is offline  
Old 30 August 2015, 00:30   #208
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 818
I hope they do well Jens and we get an aca1230 version as a result.
dJOS is offline  
Old 30 August 2015, 00:47   #209
SKOLMAN_MWS
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 100
Next ACA with audio codec, not necessarily the DSP.
SKOLMAN_MWS is offline  
Old 30 August 2015, 08:07   #210
LieutLaww
Registered User

LieutLaww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Uckfield, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
All ACA1221 pre-orders have been tested&packed - some cards shipped yesterday, some today, and the majority will be shipped on monday. Product has status "in stock" now. Another release date met ;-)

Jens
Looking forward to getting mine
LieutLaww is offline  
Old 30 August 2015, 19:36   #211
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
All ACA1221 pre-orders have been tested&packed - some cards shipped yesterday, some today, and the majority will be shipped on monday. Product has status "in stock" now. Another release date met ;-)

Jens
What about ACA1221 and ACA500? Will they play along nicely?
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 30 August 2015, 22:08   #212
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
What about ACA1221 and ACA500? Will they play along nicely?
See post#199: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=199

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 31 August 2015, 09:24   #213
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 880
Yes, that post prompted me to write
I was hoping you could shed some more light on it. Will we have to send ACA500s to retailers for the upgrade ?
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 31 August 2015, 10:28   #214
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
It's a pure software/flash update.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 31 August 2015, 10:48   #215
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 880
Ok, thanks !
That's a load off my back
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 01 September 2015, 10:01   #216
CrashMidnick
Registered User
CrashMidnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 185
Jens, any date for the ACA500/ACA1221 compatibility ? I bought it mainly for that
Thanks
CrashMidnick is offline  
Old 01 September 2015, 13:57   #217
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
Basic compatibility is given already. It's just that the menu system will not recognize if MapROM is not licensed and may try to activate it anyway. Same for memory options, which may need small adaptions in the code.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 01 September 2015, 14:54   #218
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
Still not totally clear about 'timing fixes'? I'm planing to buy the card in a few weeks but don't fully understand about 'removing' some of the capacitors on the A1200 Mobo. I have an original Commodore A1200, does it need these timing fixes for the ACA1221 to work?
fatboy is offline  
Old 01 September 2015, 16:49   #219
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatboy View Post
Still not totally clear about 'timing fixes'? I'm planing to buy the card in a few weeks but don't fully understand about 'removing' some of the capacitors on the A1200 Mobo. I have an original Commodore A1200, does it need these timing fixes for the ACA1221 to work?
Both Commodore and Escom have made all kinds of mistakes when assembling the A1200. They all have in common that timing fixes that were required for very early Budgie revisions have been applied, although Budgie was already the new version.

To put it simple, your board will not be stable with any accelerator if one of these four components is assembled: E123C, E125C, E121C and E122C. All of them are located on the bottom side if the A1200. You won't get around opening the computer and checking yourself if these components are assembled. The revision number of your board says nothing. The year of your board also doesn't give any information. The one and only thing you can do is to check your board.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 01 September 2015, 17:18   #220
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
[QUOTE=Schoenfeld;1039182]Both Commodore and Escom have made all kinds of mistakedon't hen assembling the A1200. They all have in common thatrelated iixes that were required for very early Budgie revisions have been applied, although Budgie was already the new version.

To put it simple, your board will not be stable with any accelerator if one of these four components is assembled: E123C, E125C, E121C and E122C. All of them are located on the bottom side if the A1200. You won't get around opening the computer and checking yourself if these components are assembled. The revision number of your board says nothing. The year of your board also doesn't give any information. The one and only thing you can do is to check your board.

Jens[/QUOTE

just out of interest I use to have an Escom a1200 with a Blizzard mkIV '030' but don't recall having any noticeable problems? if I have any of these unwanted caps I guess it just removing them with a soldering iron.
fatboy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A new, low-cost CD32 Expansion? Rebel-CD32 Hardware mods 267 12 January 2017 19:03
low cost pcb production emufan support.Hardware 3 09 August 2013 18:03
2x New Low Cost Turbo Card for A600 "Fria" venox Amiga scene 80 14 November 2012 11:38
Super Low Cost Amiga CF Card Reader AmigaMAD75 support.Hardware 5 26 January 2010 18:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27322 seconds with 12 queries