English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 July 2015, 21:42   #1
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,687
Introducing ACA 1221 Low Cost Accelerator At AmigaKit.com

We are pleased to confirm that we will stocking the new ACA 1221 accelerator and ram card from Individual Computers in early September.



This exciting new accelerator design features a full 68020 CPU, 9Mb of 32-bit Fast Memory (expandable to a maximum of 63MB) for a great price.

To find out more, please visit the AmigaKit.com product pages here to place your order:

UK direct product link
Europe direct product link
USA direct product link
Canada direct product link
amigakit.com is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 July 2015, 22:22   #2
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Since this is a news thread we should point out that the accelerator is also available from other vendors:

http://www.vesalia.de/e_aca1221.htm
https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/de/shop/...t/aca1221.html
TCD is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 01:38   #3
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,372
Payment required to unlock features?

Is this an Android App or retro hardware....I'm very confused.

NovaCoder is online now  
Old 21 July 2015, 02:00   #4
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 380
What's this then some sort of hardware DLC?
-Acid- is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 02:17   #5
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,391
You pay to unlock features locked in the firmware I guess.
Its weird, but from a manufacturers standpoint it makes sense, since making multiple production runs with various config would be more expensive and this card is all about keeping costs down.

But could someone explain why one would underclock the 020 to 9MHz?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 02:30   #6
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 38
Posts: 609
Very decent basic accelerator for that price. Does seem a bit smelly though, I would guess there is virtually zero profit on the base model. Get the punters in with cheap but knobbled hardware, then tease the real price out of them later.

No prices for the unlocks?
jimbob is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 02:48   #7
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,357
I can guess, but better ask:

Is it a PCMCIA ram expansion friendly accelerator?
gulliver is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 03:47   #8
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Although the card is running asynchronously to the A1200, synchronous ChipMem speed can be achieved while maintaining full PCMCIA compatibility
From the IC website.
Arnie is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 04:30   #9
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 40
Posts: 2,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
Is it a PCMCIA ram expansion friendly accelerator?
Undoubtedly. It's a full 68020, so the RAM is almost 1000000% for certain mapped outside of the first 16 megabytes of the memory map (it would be totally and utterly insane, not to mention blistering madness, if this wasn't the case).
Thorham is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 05:40   #10
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 491
And if someone tinker with it enough to find out how to unlock the features? I mean, these are old tactics that never really worked well, ask SGI, oh... too late I guess. I am curious only about the price of the maxed out option.
kolla is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 07:51   #11
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 615
License key locked CPU frequency and memory count? What is this, IBM ?
Locutus is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 08:08   #12
SKOLMAN_MWS
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
Is it a PCMCIA ram expansion friendly accelerator?
Yes.
SKOLMAN_MWS is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 10:50   #13
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob View Post
Very decent basic accelerator for that price. Does seem a bit smelly though, I would guess there is virtually zero profit on the base model. Get the punters in with cheap but knobbled hardware, then tease the real price out of them later.

No prices for the unlocks?
Indeed, I remember reading Jens saying that the unit is practically sold at zero profit and all profit is going to be made on unlocks.

Weird marketing technique, but he's the one which has got the numbers and if he's still doing this I suppose it must be working
jbenam is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 10:53   #14
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
You pay to unlock features locked in the firmware I guess.
Its weird, but from a manufacturers standpoint it makes sense, since making multiple production runs with various config would be more expensive and this card is all about keeping costs down.
...especially the cost of testing if a CPU is overclocking-stable - correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
But could someone explain why one would underclock the 020 to 9MHz?
Game compatibility, cooling. Also, we're working on a tool that dynamically adjusts CPU speed depending on CPU load. Just because we can ;-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob View Post
Very decent basic accelerator for that price. Does seem a bit smelly though, I would guess there is virtually zero profit on the base model.
Correct - it's a test of a new business model. If it's a success, I'll use it on future products as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob View Post
No prices for the unlocks?
21MHz overclock is 5,- EUR
28MHz overclock is 15,- EUR
Maprom is 5,- EUR
9MB->17MB upgrade is 8,- EUR
9MB->33MB upgrade is 15,- EUR
9MB->63MB upgrade is 22,- EUR

Upgrading from 21MHz to 28MHz and from mid-memory to higher memory is also possible, but I haven't decided on prices yet. All depends on the level of automation that I can implement.

Sales of these codes cannot start yet, as some EU tax details aren't covered yet (new EU laws about taxing download/digital products). Also, it wouldn't make sense to sell them before the actual card is there, as the serial number of the card must be entered to find out the license code.

Kolla: If it's cracked, it will just be cracked for a single card, and for the next, you need to do all the work again. Hardly worth the trouble for just over 40,- EUR.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 12:17   #15
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 491
I suddenly see a usecase for phoenixconsole's quantum computing offer, lol. But, indeed, 40 euros is not much for maxing out the features, as I suspect most buyers will do. I am still hoping for something to replace my aging Blizzard 1260 cards, and preferably offer more and faster RAM. An ACA1260 (with full 060 and as much RAM as possible) to be offered together with Amiga Reloaded would be swell. But I am not holding my breath.
kolla is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 12:37   #16
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
8>< ------
I am still hoping for something to replace my aging Blizzard 1260 cards, and preferably offer more and faster RAM. An ACA1260 (with full 060 and as much RAM as possible) to be offered together with Amiga Reloaded would be swell. But I am not holding my breath.
A Vampire 1200 comes to mind as a more cost effective high end solution, doesnt it? ;-)

Not sure how many *genuine* (RC)060's are around and available these days even if Jens could produce a decent card.
(In any case it would probably make more sense to do a dual design that accepts both 040 and 060's with jumpers for the right voltage for each CPU rather than a pure 060 card as 040 availability is better....
but I doubt very much such a card could be produced at a decent price... it would have a tough time competing with the Vampire (both on price and performance).
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 12:40   #17
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 491
Vampire will not suit my needs, since it will not be compatible on the level I need it to be. As for 68060 chips - well, I am happy to move mines over to new cards.

Btw - so far we have yet to see any 020+ software run on Apollo core, and we have no idea about the pricing.
kolla is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 12:42   #18
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
9Mb? why 9?
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 12:48   #19
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 491
I understand 9 (8+1), 17 (16+1) and 33 (32+1). 63 is the oddball - should it not be 65 (64+1)?
kolla is offline  
Old 21 July 2015, 14:52   #20
SKOLMAN_MWS
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 99
Memory Master also has 9MB
SKOLMAN_MWS is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A new, low-cost CD32 Expansion? Rebel-CD32 Hardware mods 267 12 January 2017 19:03
low cost pcb production emufan support.Hardware 3 09 August 2013 18:03
2x New Low Cost Turbo Card for A600 "Fria" venox Amiga scene 80 14 November 2012 11:38
Super Low Cost Amiga CF Card Reader AmigaMAD75 support.Hardware 5 26 January 2010 18:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23845 seconds with 12 queries