English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 December 2002, 12:30   #1
Feltzkrone
Junior Member
Feltzkrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 102
Question Commando crashes (both CAPS and cracked versions) => works, needs slowmem

I noticed this before (but forgot to post it), Commando doesn't work with all newer WinUAE versions >= 0.8.22r1.

First the game loads some data from disk, then it starts to read from track 0 to 2 and then crashes. Some rubbish graphics appear and FPS counter runs mad (alternating between ~100 and ~600).

I've tried BOTH CAPS and cracked versions and the bug appears in every case. Playing around with config didn't help.

After that I've tried to run an extended ADF of the CAPS release (made with X-COPY in WinUAE) in WinUAE 0.8.21r4 => worked. Trying to run a cracked version in WinUAE 08.21r4 => worked, too.

Last edited by Feltzkrone; 25 December 2002 at 12:47.
Feltzkrone is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 December 2002, 12:34   #2
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Has always worked fine for me on every WinUAE release I've tried
The CAPS version works 100%
 
Old 25 December 2002, 12:39   #3
Feltzkrone
Junior Member
Feltzkrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 102
Yes, someone from GAEB told me that he had no problems with running Commando, too. Anyway, I can't manage it to get it work...

EDIT: 512 KB Slowmem made it work! But I still wonder why Commando worked before without Slowmem...

Last edited by Feltzkrone; 25 December 2002 at 12:47.
Feltzkrone is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 16:23   #4
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally posted by Feltzkrone
Yes, someone from GAEB told me that he had no problems with running Commando, too. Anyway, I can't manage it to get it work...

EDIT: 512 KB Slowmem made it work! But I still wonder why Commando worked before without Slowmem...
Hint: Just do a real-thing test and turn slow mem off.
If it works there, it's a bug in WinUAE mem emulation.
(NB: As long as the CAPS image writing tool is WIP and not yet released, I'm speaking of the non-CAPS release, of course.)
andreas is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 16:56   #5
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Tested ipf in the zone.

Game crashes when slow mem is set to 0 / 512k chip.

Did work with 512k chip / 512k slow.

The log.

Quote:
WinUAE 0.8.22, Release 4
(c) 1995-2001 Bernd Schmidt - Core UAE concept and implementation.
(c) 1998-2002 Toni Wilen - Win32 port, core code updates.
(c) 1996-2001 Brian King - Win32 port, Picasso96 RTG, and GUI.
(c) 1996-1999 Mathias Ortmann - Win32 port and bsdsocket support.
(c) 2000-2001 Bernd Meyer - JIT engine.
(c) 2000-2001 Bernd Roesch - MIDI input, many fixes.
Press F12 to show the Settings Dialog (GUI), Alt-F4 to quit.
End+F1 changes floppy 0, End+F2 changes floppy 1, etc.
Follow sprite mode set
Building CPU table for configuration: 68000 (compatible mode)
1866 CPU functions
Building CPU function table (0 1 1).
Max CPUID level=1 Processor is AuthenticAMD
have_cmov=1, have_rat_stall=1
JIT: Setting signal handler
JIT: Building Compiler function table
Ct: 00000009, picasso_vidinfo.selected_rgbformat 00000000
WinUAE now active via WM_ACTIVATE
DirectSound driver 'SB Live! Audio [D000]' found and configured for 16 bits at 44100 Hz, buffer is 98304 bytes, distance 32768 bytes, Secondary buffer
joystick setpropertry failed, 00000002 S=0 F=0000 C=0002 (2) (Unknown)
joystick setpropertry failed, 00000002 S=0 F=0000 C=0002 (2) (Unknown)
DDRAW: Primary surface created in video-memory
DDRAW: Secondary surface created in video-memory
CreateOverlaySurface being called with 16-bits!
try_surface_locks() returning overlay
set_ddraw() called, and is 640x480@16-bytes
Window mode (bits: 16, pixbytes: 2)
Don't care mouse mode set
joystick setpropertry failed, 00000002 S=0 F=0000 C=0002 (2) (Unknown)
PAL mode, 50Hz
Illegal instruction: 4e7b at 00FC0564
Illegal wget at 00f10000
Illegal wget at 00f10002
Illegal wget at 00f10004
Illegal wget at 00f10006
Illegal wget at 00f10008
Illegal wget at 00f1000a
Illegal wget at 00f1000c
Illegal wget at 00f1000e
Illegal wget at 00f10010
Illegal wget at 00f10012
Illegal wget at 00f10014
Illegal wget at 00f10016
Illegal wget at 00f10018
Illegal wget at 00f1001a
Illegal wget at 00f1001c
Illegal wget at 00f1001e
Illegal wget at 00f10020
Illegal wget at 00f10022
Illegal wget at 00f10024
Illegal wget at 00f10026
PAL mode, 56Hz
PAL mode, 50Hz
681B2 written to DSKDAT. Not good. PC=0054FD47
SERPER: unsupported baudrate (0x0000) 3579546
warning: Program does not wait for blitter 000681B2
681B2 written to DSKDAT. Not good. PC=0054FD47
SERPER: unsupported baudrate (0x00f0) 14852
WARNING! Very strange DDF values.
681B2 written to DSKDAT. Not good. PC=0054FD47
SERPER: unsupported baudrate (0x0780) 1863
warning: program is doing blitpri hacks.
681B2 written to DSKDAT. Not good. PC=0054FD47
SERPER: unsupported baudrate (0x18c0) 564
681B2 written to DSKDAT. Not good. PC=0054FD47(further messages suppressed)
SERPER: 9bit transmission not implemented.
SERPER: unsupported baudrate (0x5e7f) 147
Program uses Copper SKIP instruction.
WARNING! Very strange DDF values.
PAL mode, 68Hz
PAL mode, 50Hz
WinUAE now inactive via WM_ACTIVATE
DirectSound driver freed
SOUND: Can't write to primary buffer, using secondary
Primary buffer size smaller than requested (196608 > 32768), using secondary
DirectSound driver 'SB Live! Audio [D000]' found and configured for 16 bits at 44100 Hz, buffer is 98304 bytes, distance 32768 bytes, Secondary buffer
DMACON: 1ff7 INTENA: 7c1f INTREQ: 14e1 VPOS: 0 HPOS: 1
COP1LC: 00810082, COP2LC: 00850086
DIWSTRT: 1fff DIWSTOP: fff8 DDFSTRT: 00fe DDFSTOP: 00f8
BPLCON0: 4000 BPLCON1: f000 BPLCON2: f000
Average frame time: 19.812121 ms [frames: 1485 time: 29421]
DirectSound driver freed
BTW: I had 1300 fps when it first crashed

Hope this helps

Last edited by Paul; 25 December 2002 at 17:02.
Paul is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 21:41   #6
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,129
Unhappy Uploads

If somebody wants to upload the CAPS images here can they PLEASE always upload just the IPF file as a separate archive? I don't care about the box and manual, but I do need some IPF files for adding CAPS support to RawDIC - and over a 56k modem, it's bloody annoying downloading 1.8 Mb for a couple of hundred k file...

I don't care if people want to upload both, just please upload an IPF only version aswell!
Codetapper is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 22:30   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
BTW: I had 1300 fps when it first crashed
This is nothing special. R4 added some support for ECS/AGA-only programmable refresh rate features. Commando for some reason writes random crap to custom chipset area causing this effect when slow ram is not enabled. (bug either in winuae or in commando...)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 December 2002, 10:51   #8
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,926
Re: Uploads

Quote:
Originally posted by Codetapper
If somebody wants to upload the CAPS images here can they PLEASE always upload just the IPF file as a separate archive? I don't care about the box and manual, but I do need some IPF files for adding CAPS support to RawDIC - and over a 56k modem, it's bloody annoying downloading 1.8 Mb for a couple of hundred k file...

I don't care if people want to upload both, just please upload an IPF only version aswell!
Sorry we have not replied to your mail yet Codetapper, v. busy at the moment.

Anyway, just to say to people not to bug Codetapper for adding support for CAPS images to RawDIC/WHDLoad because he is constrained by us, and when we can find the time to port the CAPS image support library to the Amiga.

And we are very busy right now!
fiath is offline  
Old 28 December 2002, 19:31   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Crash without slowRAM is finally solved and fixed in next WinUAE release.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commando War stainy project.aGTW 9 29 November 2015 17:09
Cracked versions of 3 games brolly request.Old Rare Games 21 09 January 2015 16:57
Bionic Commando NfernalNfluence support.Games 1 19 June 2007 16:16
commando percystarter request.Old Rare Games 2 10 December 2002 12:54
Commando in WinUAE? Walker support.Games 7 28 December 2001 19:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15536 seconds with 11 queries