English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 July 2015, 15:02   #1
ghosty777
Registered User

ghosty777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 47
Unhappy bottom of screen cut off :(

in full-screen PAL mode, winuae is sometimes missing the bottom few lines of the screen. it seems to do this no matter what settings I use. bizarrely, if I go into filters and adjust the picture up vertically these bottom few lines aren't even there! take the loading screen from RSI megademo as an example. in windowed mode you can see the figures right hand, full screen for me its cut off. I would really appreciate it if someone could help figure out what's causing this, and perhaps test it with the RSI megademo themselves. thanks.

Last edited by ghosty777; 06 July 2015 at 15:20. Reason: mobile problem
ghosty777 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 July 2015, 20:16   #2
ghosty777
Registered User

ghosty777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 47
fullscreen (1280x1024)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...psam8hjdwn.png

window (720x568)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...psqmdfpntk.png
ghosty777 is offline  
Old 06 July 2015, 21:26   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,518
If you have 2x doubling, 1024 equals 512 without doubling which is not big enough for overscan.

Checks:
- Make sure Direct3D mode is enabled (misc panel), DirectDraw won't support all filter operations fully.
- Filter mode "default" may cause clipped borders, especially if display also did clip on old TVs.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 07 July 2015, 00:14   #4
ghosty777
Registered User

ghosty777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 47
Thanks for getting back to me Toni.

Yes, line mode is set to double. But graphics API is Direct 3D and filter is set to 'none'. Could you suggest what I need to change to correct the issue (Sorry, not sure what you mean by your first sentence, I just went for the native 320x256 amiga resolution and 1280x1024 being that x4 (I'm probably looking at this all wrong, lol)

But why is it if I adjust the vertical position of the screen, the graphics I assume to be off the bottom of the screen doesn't show up just blank lines (If you understand what I mean)

Thanks again!
ghosty777 is offline  
Old 07 July 2015, 01:10   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,626
If the RSI Megademo is PAL overcan then a windowed resolution of 720x568 mostly cover all overscan stuff = single x288 horizontal. While the fullscreen resolution of 1280x1024 = single x256 horizontal not.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 07 July 2015, 18:07   #6
ghosty777
Registered User

ghosty777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 47
Toni & Retro-Nerd, Wow I can't believe I didn't know about this overscan business (Or at least forgot about it after all these years Just been reading about it. Thanks v much for clearing the matter up for me.

Regards,
Jonathan.
ghosty777 is offline  
Old 22 July 2015, 20:28   #7
michaljarz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Katowice/Poland
Posts: 44
Go to "Filter", under the "Reset to defaults" change "Default" to "No scaling"...
michaljarz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jim Power bottom screen flickering Nostromo support.Games 7 08 February 2015 14:20
WinUAE 2.0.1.0 graphics glitch at bottom Photon support.WinUAE 14 29 December 2009 23:00
Z-Order always bottom tero request.UAE Wishlist 4 27 September 2009 21:39
Turning Off Status at Bottom ? Death support.WinUAE 1 22 April 2004 22:09
Bottom of the page Ian project.EAB 24 19 February 2003 19:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13204 seconds with 11 queries