English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

View Poll Results: Does my app look big in this?
Standard TV - they don't make 'em like they used to 18 64.29%
Widescreen - my mouse arm needs the exercise 9 32.14%
Headless - I have a psychic link to my Amiga 1 3.57%
Voters: 28. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Tools
Old 01 July 2015, 21:39   #1
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 37
Posts: 716
What's your preferred display type for classic Amiga?

I'm curious what folks use for games and workbench applications. Widescreen is fine on modern systems where the windows snap but I'm not so sure about workbench. I guess Amiga games would look best widescreen if you have an Indivision AGA.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 July 2015, 21:40   #2
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
i use a 19" non-widescreen monitor

edit: LCD. Acer AL1932M iirc (it has SCART input)

Last edited by Mrs Beanbag; 01 July 2015 at 22:14.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 01 July 2015, 21:45   #3
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Posts: 229
I have a Dell U2410 - http://www.engadget.com/products/del...p/u2410/specs/ - and it can sync directly connected to my A1200. I wil say that workbench doesn't look perfect but gaming feels just fine with WHDLoad.
esc is offline  
Old 01 July 2015, 21:49   #4
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 38
Posts: 4,068
19" 4:3 LCD monitor.
Predseda is offline  
Old 01 July 2015, 22:36   #5
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 670
A1200 on 26 inch CRT set to 16:9
A600/CD32 on 7 inch TFT screen 16:9 again
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 01 July 2015, 23:47   #6
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 15,816
Games on my CD32 connected to a 40" LED, widescreen stretch
Everything else on a 1084S.
Akira is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 01:07   #7
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,348
I've been using an LED 5:4 1280x1024 screen with my Indy Mr2...looks lovely and has 50Hz scrolling.

I have used a widescreen in the past but found that it doesn't look as good with Classic games.
NovaCoder is online now  
Old 02 July 2015, 02:48   #8
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brno / Czech Republic
Posts: 196
4:3 and 5:4 monitors (CRT and LCD), I hate widescreen on Amiga...
jack-3d is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 07:30   #9
Jope's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 36
Posts: 5,755
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
I mainly use 4:3 and 5:4 TFT monitors here too. If I have a widescreen display, I always make sure to adjust the aspect ratio to suit the source material. No stretched images for me, please.

For those special CRT fetish occasions I have a 20" BVM and a few 1084s and 8833s. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 07:53   #10
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 412
Urgh... I can't understand anyone using stretched images. Everything should be in the original aspect ratio how it was designed. I just hate watching normal TV shows at the people who just think "bigger is better" and they have flat&fat people on screen then. Same applies to computers too, and Amiga's games aren't designed to widescreen, so it isn't any advantage for them.

With Amiga nothing beats a good CRT display. Scrolling will be smooth and colors deep. Unfortunately they are clumsy, but still with image quality you can't match them with modern displays.

I have 15" CRT TV, C1084, and M1438S for the original experience on some Amigas. One Amiga on 27" widescreen LCD with SCART, and one on 17" 1280x1024 monitor with Indivision AGA mk2.

That 17" is nice because it accepts 640x512 mode too (some displays seem only acccept 640x480)... so with Indi2 you get non overscanned image to fit full display with lores to 640x512 (pixel doubling) and also with hires laced to 1280x1024. I'd just wish that Indi2 would get 4x vertical pixels which would allow to get both lores and hires to monitor's native 1280x1024 resolution. That would be just cool, because then it wouldn't take that much time to switch between modes (you have annoying delay when games switch to lo/hires), and also hires sprites would work better etc.

Oh, and I have few video projectors too. It's pretty nice option for games too

But anyway.. with my setups I'd probably like them in this order: CRT > projector > Indi2/SCART.
jPV is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 09:17   #11

Michael's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 573
Originally Posted by esc View Post
I have a Dell U2410 - http://www.engadget.com/products/del...p/u2410/specs/ - and it can sync directly connected to my A1200. I wil say that workbench doesn't look perfect but gaming feels just fine with WHDLoad.
Really ? 50Hz and 15KHz ? Both are out of spec for this unit.

For AGA I currently use a 40" LCD with custom sizing to keep proportion and fill most of the screen. (320x200 scales well on wide screens, PAL has borders on the sides if overscan is not used by game/demo)

And 19" CRT ViewSonic for WB
Michael is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 09:33   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Round Rock / Texas
Posts: 17
For the gaming A600, I use a C= 1084-S, but that's only for games.

A2000 uses a Commodore 2080, since I like to run Workbench interlaced, and the 2080 is a natural flicker-fixer. I don't guess it's ideal for games, but it doesn't look bad -- I play Super Street Fighter on it regularly.

A4000 & 3000 share the Commodore 1950 @800x600. I also have a 1960, but for some reason the picture just don't look as good to be as the 1950...

- Bo
bozimmerman is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 09:42   #13
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 1,039
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
Really ? 50Hz and 15KHz ? Both are out of spec for this unit.
It's the exact same monitor I use, and it syncs perfectly. Fantastic for Amiga use when you don't have the space for a decent CRT. It's technically outside the VGA range, yes, but since the monitor also has component and composite inputs that accept PAL frequencies, it seems they just allowed those frequencies across the board so I get a nice Amiga display through the VGA port. It also displays it in 4:3 mode so no stretching, and works fine with my classic's Voodoo3 for a 1600x1000 OS3.9 Workbench screen.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 10:01   #14
Jope's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 36
Posts: 5,755
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
We had those Dells at work and I also tried it with my A1200. It does indeed work. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 10:21   #15

Gordon's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Amigastan
Posts: 1,103
19" lcd. Its widescreen but has 4:3 mode which looks fine for me
Gordon is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 10:40   #16
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I prefer to play games on my Sony PVM by RGB Scart but productivity stuff it's RTG on 19in LCD TV (1366x768) from my A4000 or SuperPlus with IndivisionAGA (800x600) on my A1200.

HD720 mode is nice but takes too much Chip Ram.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 11:55   #17
roy bates
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 47
Posts: 2,797
crt monitors mainly,surprised its not on the poll.
but i suppose its covered by tv's but not really...unless it has some way to use rgb.(i dont use rf ever on anything)

lcd's for rtg and scandoubled resolutions.for anything else.
roy bates is offline  
Old 04 July 2015, 14:25   #18
Jack Burton
It's all in the reflexes!
Jack Burton's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wingkong warehouses
Posts: 141
Since my last 1084 died some time ago, I replaced it with an other 4:3 CRT, a Sony PVM that just does the job perfectly, for the Amiga at least (actually it does not like my MSX2+ ).
Jack Burton is offline  
Old 04 July 2015, 17:01   #19
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 209
Only 4:3 CRT for me.

Tried multiple LCD monitors with the Amiga, never liked the image.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 04 July 2015, 17:03   #20
Registered User

LieutLaww's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Uckfield
Posts: 116
Currently its my 46" LCD Samsung but if I could get my hands on a 1084 or variant I would have it hooked up to that full time
LieutLaww is offline  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your favourite/preferred joystick? Andrew Retrogaming General Discussion 186 17 August 2016 23:22
Wanted: Amiga power supply (preferred with 4.5A on 5V) spajdr MarketPlace 1 29 January 2013 20:13
set uae config file to 'preferred device' for joystick Interceptor support.WinUAE 2 21 April 2010 23:38
Will Classic Workbench Adv display through composite outputs? Fingerlickin_B project.ClassicWB 12 09 June 2007 11:38
A3640 Testing required (Australia preferred) T_hairy_bootson support.Hardware 1 20 August 2006 13:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:49.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26234 seconds with 12 queries