English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 July 2015, 08:58   #1
Staringlizard
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lund
Posts: 23
Amiga HDMI output

Hello,

I am done with my latest project
Please feel free to check out the youtube link below.

[ Show youtube player ]

Be aware that this board has some state of the art, expensive as hell, parts.
Lets see what the interest is in this gadget and go from there.

Regards,
StaringL
Staringlizard is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 July 2015, 11:18   #2
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
wow, nice work!
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 01 July 2015, 11:34   #3
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
This is exactly one of those "I do it because I can" projects the Amiga world is so renowed for Great job!

What's the BOM at the moment? Looks like it's going to be expensive as heck!
jbenam is offline  
Old 01 July 2015, 11:57   #4
OldB0y
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Letchworth/UK
Posts: 71
Very nice - I'd consider buying one! Will it work with AGA as well as ECS?
OldB0y is offline  
Old 01 July 2015, 12:07   #5
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,600
Very Very nice. Well done. This is just amazing, Kinda speechless.

What's the plan on how we all can have or make one of these?
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 01 July 2015, 12:34   #6
Oli_HD
Collector

Oli_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: No longer active
Posts: 157
Very nice design! Love it.
Would be good to see an external RGB to HDMI adapter like yours on the market.
Oli_HD is offline  
Old 01 July 2015, 13:00   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,360
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Good idea, but I must ask: Does it really change 50Hz -> 60Hz? Why? :-(

Also you write 576i but the Amiga normally outputs 288p.. Could you shed some light on the details please?
Jope is offline  
Old 01 July 2015, 13:04   #8
voxel
Amiga Nuts!
voxel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Le Mayet d'Ecole, 03800, FRANCE
Posts: 162
why 60 Hertz ? think it's just because most of the screens (TV, Monitors, etc...) that are HDMI supports that by default... ;-) try to find a NEW monitor that is 50Hz native, saddly it are no so many now.
voxel is offline  
Old 01 July 2015, 13:28   #9
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
TVs should still support 50Hz, i'd be surprised if not. personally i'm more worried about the pixels being stretched into widescreen proportions.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 01 July 2015, 13:49   #10
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,360
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by voxel View Post
why 60 Hertz ? think it's just because most of the screens (TV, Monitors, etc...) that are HDMI supports that by default... ;-) try to find a NEW monitor that is 50Hz native, saddly it are no so many now.
It was a bit of a rhetorical question, I know why some people want 50->60, but to me that is a detriment. If you change the framerate, then you might as well run an emulator, as the only thing the original HW has going for it (jerk free 50FPS action) is not there any more.

If a display takes in HDMI, there is a high possibility that it support 50Hz via HDMI too.

I'm guessing this project allows you to choose the refresh rates, so that's why I asked for details. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 01 July 2015, 14:17   #11
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 710
cool project.. why not just use your tv's RGB input, it has similar circuitry already built in?

too bad it will reduce the color depth on aga machines, though (due to only 16 bit color support).
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 01 July 2015, 14:42   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
cool project.. why not just use your tv's RGB input, it has similar circuitry already built in?
To avoid artefacts due to the internal A/D converter i assume. Is the shown Turrican in 576i? Looks horrible in motion. Direct HDMI without extra A/D convertion would be awesome. But as Jope said. 720p/1080p in 50Hz should be selectable. There are gazillions of HDTV monitors/TVs which supports 50Hz via HDMI. Nice project btw.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 01 July 2015 at 14:50.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 14:32   #13
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Direct HDMI without extra A/D convertion would be awesome
that's only possible by using an internal solution like indivision 2..
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 21:47   #14
Staringlizard
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lund
Posts: 23
Thanks everyone for kind words about this gadget

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
This is exactly one of those "I do it because I can" projects the Amiga world is so renowed for Great job!

What's the BOM at the moment? Looks like it's going to be expensive as heck!
As for everything, the price varies with quantity. For one board I would think the BOM is around 13 (ad9984a) + 14 (adv7511w) + 20 (fpga) + 13 (board and misc stuff) = 60 euros. For 25 boards I would estimate the price will drop with around 20-30%.
Staringlizard is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 21:53   #15
Staringlizard
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lund
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldB0y View Post
Very nice - I'd consider buying one! Will it work with AGA as well as ECS?
I am not sure, but anything that outputs 576i and probably similar formats like 480i (not tested) will be converted. I have tested with Amiga 500 and Amiga 1200 in PAL. Multiscan and other formats will not work. In most games I think 576i is used but I am not sure.
Staringlizard is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 22:00   #16
Staringlizard
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lund
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
Very Very nice. Well done. This is just amazing, Kinda speechless.

What's the plan on how we all can have or make one of these?
Everything you need will be on my website to make this board yourself. However the pcb itself will be a little tricky since it will be very expensive if making just one. If you want me to make and assemble one for you, you could write me a message on this forum (but it will be quite expensive if I just make one). An alternative would be for me to sell you just the pcb (I have 5-6 left I think). Keep in mind that you will need some tools to flash the MCU and the FPGA if you want to have a try and assemble yourself.
Staringlizard is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 22:10   #17
Staringlizard
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lund
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Good idea, but I must ask: Does it really change 50Hz -> 60Hz? Why? :-(

Also you write 576i but the Amiga normally outputs 288p.. Could you shed some light on the details please?
I would say that the PAL Amiga normally output 576i. All the games I have tried so far at least. The startup screen is not using the interlaced mode though. But I could be wrong ?

As far as the Hz is concerned, I think it does not matter. What comes out from the FPGA and resides inside the SRAM is the same, no matter what vertical Hz I choose to display it in. I choose 60Hz since I think it is supported by almost all screens.

If you think the interlacing will get worse in PAL mode by changing vertical Hz, It is an interesting thought, one that I will test today actually
Thankfully it is very easy to change.
Staringlizard is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 22:13   #18
Staringlizard
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lund
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
cool project.. why not just use your tv's RGB input, it has similar circuitry already built in?

too bad it will reduce the color depth on aga machines, though (due to only 16 bit color support).
The horizontal update frequency is around 15Khz for these old computers. I do not think you can use the RBG input on your not so old TV due to lack of support. But I am not sure, if you try it out, please send a memo
Staringlizard is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 22:22   #19
Staringlizard
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lund
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
To avoid artefacts due to the internal A/D converter i assume. Is the shown Turrican in 576i? Looks horrible in motion. Direct HDMI without extra A/D convertion would be awesome. But as Jope said. 720p/1080p in 50Hz should be selectable. There are gazillions of HDTV monitors/TVs which supports 50Hz via HDMI. Nice project btw.
I think Turrican is shown in 576i. Actually, personally I do not think it looks so horrible when not zoomed in as much as the video is doing (normally you do not play Turrican with your head that close to the screen ). When displayed using normal composite output the raster beam is blurring out everything a tad and the interlaced magic, of course, work best for the technology it was design for. I must also mention that there is room for improvement for the board, not only for the software but also for the hardware. Perhaps someone else will improve it in the future. That would be cool.
Staringlizard is offline  
Old 02 July 2015, 22:24   #20
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
is it possible to configure it not to stretch the image sideways to widescreen width? or does it work with non-widescreen monitors?
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kipper2K HDMI Audio Output bbond007 support.Hardware 4 04 October 2012 01:50
HDMI with Amiga? lordofchaos support.Hardware 5 17 November 2011 16:05
Amiga to HDMI Reynolds support.Hardware 6 20 April 2011 19:47
Doing mods to the Amiga sound output 8bitbubsy Hardware mods 2 22 March 2010 08:41
Best HDMI output laptop for WinUAE retrogaming heaven Pyromania Amiga scene 3 10 November 2009 19:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26782 seconds with 11 queries