English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 June 2015, 07:02   #21
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post
@Toni
Do you know which few Amiga HD controllers are DMA? I believe the CSMK3/CSPPC is. Perhaps the 3000 and 4000T SCSI as well?
24-bit DMA (Zorro-2/A500):

- All GVP Series II and any GVP combo accelerator that includes Series II SCSI (Series I is not true DMA)
- Commodore A590, A2091 (A2090 is also DMA but it has issues)
- Masoboshi MasterCard (DMA implementation quality is unknown). This is also IDE DMA capable. Possibly the only Amiga IDE DMA controller!
- (SupraDrive 2000 non-WordSync is DMA but it had bad implementation)

32-bit DMA:

- A3000
- A4000T
- A4091
- Phase 5 SCSI controllers (Blizzards and CyberStorms, FastLane)
- GVP combo accelerators based on 32-bit upgraded Series II DMA controller.
- WarpEngine (missed this. 53cxxx)

All SCSI controllers based on 53C7xx, 53C8xx are always true DMA. DMA controller is chip built-in. (A4000T, CSPPC etc..)

DMA does not have any "native" speed limit, it is controller, interface and memory bandwidth specific. EDIT: CPU upgrades rarely increase DMA controller speed because limit is DMA controller hardware, not CPU. (vs PIO controllers).

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 29 June 2015 at 11:11.
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 June 2015, 09:56   #22
mjnurney
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 262
from my chat with Jens after his announcement he said they will be drop in boards to replace dead motherboards - he does not want people gutting working Amigas.

He did not mention any specific new features other than it will be an enhanced and modern version of the Amiga 500 / 1200

mike.
mjnurney is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 10:14   #23
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
All SCSI controllers based on 53C7xx, 53C8xx are always true DMA. DMA controller is chip built-in. (A4000T, CSPPC etc..)

DMA does not have any "native" speed limit, it is controller, interface and memory bandwidth specific. EDIT: CPU upgrades rarely increase DMA controller speed because limit is DMA controller hardware, not CPU. (vs PIO controllers).
53C7xx (not), 53C8xx are PCI chips and AFAIR Amiga have no PCI (not sure if PCI<>Zorro is made in fully 'DMA' like way).

Most DMA SCSI in Amiga use original CSG chips as MC68K bus was not so popular on SCSI IC's market (so most of pre PCI DMA capable SCSI are focused on x86 bus).

And yes, i agree - DMA controller emulate CPU (from BUS perspective) so it is limited in same way as CPU.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 11:10   #24
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy71 View Post
53C7xx (not), 53C8xx are PCI chips and AFAIR Amiga have no PCI (not sure if PCI<>Zorro is made in fully 'DMA' like way).
Yeah, 53C7xx series were used in non-PCI Amiga boards (4000T, 4091, WarpEngine, CSMK3,CSPPC, possible others). I confused with 815 which is in DKB Wildfire's PCI bus.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 11:43   #25
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,224
Exciting news! Maybe after the C= chips run out it'll finally be the right time for Jens to unveal the results of project Clone-A?
jbenam is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 12:02   #26
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
it would be neat if the A1200 motherboard would also be able to fit in A600 case (it's only one joystick port that stops it)
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 12:06   #27
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
it would be neat if the A1200 motherboard would also be able to fit in A600 case (it's only one joystick port that stops it)
A1200 in compact case is my dream machine You wouldnt be able to fit turbocards, though.
Predseda is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 12:23   #28
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
will they be in the original form factor?
I imagine they will be 3mm wider, with integrated secret cameras just so Jens could watch us struggle

A600 size might not be the problem, but the keyboard would be.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 12:41   #29
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
A600 size might not be the problem, but the keyboard would be.
it's been done! why C= chose not to make the connections the same on both is a mystery, but it only requires swapping a couple of lines AFAIK. An adapter would be fairly simple. Or Jens could put both ribbon sockets on the board like he does on his Keyrah.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 12:56   #30
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 896
Yeah, that could work But it seems like too much work. My guess is that Jens would want this as simple and as compatible as possible.
Maybe in a next wave of smaller FPGA replacement boards. With tiny - put anywhere you like - form factor, and breakout cables for ports.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 13:07   #31
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,458
Okay, and now: who will make new, show-white A1200 cases?
Predseda is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 13:15   #32
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,282
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Where's that MicroATX or maybe even Mini-ITX AGA Amiga board I'm dreaming about? The world hasn't run out of A1200 motherboards yet.. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 13:28   #33
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The world hasn't run out of A1200 motherboards yet.. :-)
Man, it is closer than it appears. Even non-functional Channel Z mobos are going more and more expensive!
Predseda is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 14:38   #34
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,224
Okay, you guys got me drooling at the idea of an A1200 A600-sized motherboard... About the keyboard adapter, it'd be nice to have something that would take care of the absent numpad as well.

Pretty please for the ultimate Amiga, Jens?

I still remember my frustration when playing Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, I couldn't enter the damn van since you needed the 0-key on the numpad!
jbenam is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 15:47   #35
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Yeah man, A1200 in an A600 case would be a reason to start using an A1200 again.
But you have to think that pretty much most expansion port cards would make the unit not fit in an A600 case. So I don't tihnk he would do something that could potentially hinder the A1200's full operation.
Akira is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 15:56   #36
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 577
It would be nice indeed if Jen's initiative and the brainstorming on new cases in this thread can be combined...
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ght=a1200+case
spudje is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 20:30   #37
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,282
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
C'mon guys, it's still 6 months away. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 20:39   #38
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
i meant to try making a new Amiga keyboard with Cherry MX switches but still haven't got round to it yet
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 21:12   #39
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
i meant to try making a new Amiga keyboard with Cherry MX switches but still haven't got round to it yet
Hey, I had the same idea recently since I got a KB for my PC with Cherry MX switches. Leave it alone.

Actually I thought about making one for the C64. Shouldn't be too complicated. Mounting and cabling would be a little more tricky on the Amiga and the 64 needs a better KB more than Amigas.
demolition is offline  
Old 30 June 2015, 11:00   #40
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Yeah man, A1200 in an A600 case would be a reason to start using an A1200 again.
But you have to think that pretty much most expansion port cards would make the unit not fit in an A600 case. So I don't tihnk he would do something that could potentially hinder the A1200's full operation.
Well, the good thing about newer technologies is that we could pretty much make the motherboards a LOT smaller than they were, thanks to smaller SMD components and newer, more integrated ICs

I think it should be possible to get an A1200 edge connector with enough space left where the good ol' A600 expansion door is
jbenam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: Amiga 600 motherboards majsta MarketPlace 6 06 September 2012 19:20
Jens Schoenfeld : XSurf2 Diagnostics help ancalimon support.Hardware 1 30 November 2011 17:46
Update on Jens FlickerFixer for A1200? mfletcher support.Hardware 25 10 July 2008 23:08
Met Jens Schoenfeld :) blade002 Amiga scene 7 10 July 2007 01:31
New from Jens Schoenfeld Methanoid News 20 01 July 2005 20:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32683 seconds with 12 queries