English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 June 2015, 10:32   #1
mjnurney
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 262
New Amiga motherboards from Jens

New Amiga mainboards
Announcement from Jens.

he announced yesterday that he has bought all of the remaining stocks of csg and mos Amiga chipsets from chip suppliers.

he will build new Amiga motherboards for the Amiga 500 & 1200.
he hopes to have something to show in 6 months. I have videoed his announcement and I'll upload it when I get home.

also a new aca500 with 8mb ram which I think he said runs at 40+ MHz asynchronously

and a budget a1200 accelerator in two versions with speed upgrades available to purchase after sale.

mike


My Amiga 30 film , quickly done ...hey I'm tired but here are the bits i caught, jens is on here

its still uploading so it could be a while....

[ Show youtube player ]

http://wiki.icomp.de/wiki/Amiga_reloaded

Last edited by mjnurney; 12 July 2015 at 18:40.
mjnurney is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 June 2015, 13:20   #2
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Great. Did he say something about the DC-DC converter?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 13:33   #3
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
Whoa that's some good stuff !
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 13:44   #4
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
This is new too https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/...er-supply.html
Retrofan is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 15:08   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
Amiga Reloaded sounds great, the c64 one is pretty awesome.
Akira is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 15:49   #6
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 266
It might be awesome, but very expensive in my opinion.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 16:32   #7
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Is the A1200 one just a 'drop in' replacement or will there be enhancements like faster IDE support or onboard SCSI
BarryB is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 17:03   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Is the A1200 one just a 'drop in' replacement or will there be enhancements like faster IDE support or onboard SCSI
SCSI? Why would you use SCSI in 2015?

The C64 reloaded has a bunch of upgrades, it's not just a 1:1 copy of an old motherboard, so I would expect these motherboards to be the same way (probably S-video output in built and CF slots already on the motherboard? Dunno)
Akira is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 17:56   #9
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
this is amazing news!

will they be in the original form factor?
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 18:56   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
will they be in the original form factor?
If the 64 reloaded motherboards are any indication, then yes, they will fit any standard cases.
Akira is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 20:48   #11
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
SCSI? Why would you use SCSI in 2015?
Choice! Plus SCSI uses much less CPU time. Until Jens reveals what his plans are for the board then we can only guess at what will be added!
BarryB is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 21:42   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Plus SCSI uses much less CPU time.
This is popular opinion but it is not really true (in Amiga world). Only SCSI with DMA controller uses less CPU time than PIO IDE. There is at least over 30 different SCSI controller models for the Amiga and very few are true DMA, especially pre-Z3 models. Most are PIO = they are as CPU power hungry as Amiga IDE controllers. (I was also surprised, I expected more true DMA models. I noticed it when I started adding 3rd party SCSI and IDE controller emulations)

IDE + DMA controller would be more or less equal to SCSI + DMA controller in CPU time usage.

AFAIK problem with DMA controllers is that it is really difficult to make it work (and work fast) with all kinds of expansion devices and different main board versions. Should be more possible now that all chips and whole board is guaranteed to same.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 22:06   #13
Bastich
Registered User

Bastich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 257
Sounds interesting. I just hope the price isn't silly.
Bastich is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 23:14   #14
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
This is popular opinion but it is not really true (in Amiga world). Only SCSI with DMA controller uses less CPU time than PIO IDE. There is at least over 30 different SCSI controller models for the Amiga and very few are true DMA, especially pre-Z3 models. Most are PIO = they are as CPU power hungry as Amiga IDE controllers. (I was also surprised, I expected more true DMA models. I noticed it when I started adding 3rd party SCSI and IDE controller emulations)

IDE + DMA controller would be more or less equal to SCSI + DMA controller in CPU time usage.

AFAIK problem with DMA controllers is that it is really difficult to make it work (and work fast) with all kinds of expansion devices and different main board versions. Should be more possible now that all chips and whole board is guaranteed to same.
Thanks for that Toni, you should be on 'Mythbusters' Hope Jens has factored this into the design, IDE is more common.
BarryB is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 23:47   #15
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Well, SCSI is the more professional solution, and supports harddrives, optical and magnet-optical devices, as far as that goes, and you can have lots of them. And SCSI is still professionally supported by companies who deal with older servers. But, the devices supported are unattractive today.

DMA isn't really that big an advantage. It caps out at 2.3MB/s and there's no way to go beyond that. And even on 68000 it doesn't really help it boot much faster, you get fast stuttering loads instead that semi-freezes the startup-sequence, since it chokes the DMA to leave little time for the CPU. Today I would say modern IDE is the better solution. I would not have said that for slow MFM/ATA back in the day, it was crap on a stick.

If I wasn't so happy with my CF speeds on (switchable) accelerators, i.e. if I were unhappy using my CF card as main harddisk for all my Amigas, I'd love to try some SSDs on updated IDE drivers. But that would add an extra step, i.e. a card to transfer stuff and then an SSD locked inside each Amiga's case to copy it to. Hurgh. Expensive and stupid.

As for motherboards fitting original cases, yes, they will. I mean, if he makes them tower-only, he will sell basically none of them and I think the A500 mobo specifically will be much smaller than the original. The other products will very likely be "base model, buy upgrades with it or later" and very attractive, I think. He might carry that approach to the Amiga Reloaded to make them very different from the C64 Reloaded prices, and offer bundles, like complete, tested, new, working, accelerated systems to just plug in. My crystal ball is hazy, but that's my prediction. Cos that would be awesome

The only component left really would be the floppy drive. And now there are USB-enabled, new, floppy drives.

Last edited by Photon; 28 June 2015 at 23:58.
Photon is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 23:50   #16
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
the last computer i built has a SSD in the PCIe slot
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 28 June 2015, 23:58   #17
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
@Toni
Do you know which few Amiga HD controllers are DMA? I believe the CSMK3/CSPPC is. Perhaps the 3000 and 4000T SCSI as well?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Thanks for that Toni, you should be on 'Mythbusters' Hope Jens has factored this into the design, IDE is more common.
Buffered IDE like the 4000T IDE and/or enabling better IDE transfer modes like Cosmo's hardware modification should be possible while compatible and would be a big improvement. There are more and cheaper IDE->CF and IDE->SATA adapters than SCSI->CF or SCSI->SATA adapters. Too many motherboard changes (while tempting) could affect compatibility like increasing CPU clock speed. I expect Jens will choose compatibility over upgrades.
matthey is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 00:03   #18
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Again I'm putting my hazy crystal ball to the test but I think he will make the motherboards absolutely as correct and compatible as he can, it's hard to see anything but flashable ROM (and available *new* CPUs and RAM) as modification. I think he will use the same approach as for C64 Reloaded.
Photon is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 01:54   #19
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,440
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Finally got around to making a clear space for my A500+ re-build. Now this has me wondering should I leave it and wait for an A500 reloaded board instead
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 03:38   #20
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Kickstarter candidate?

Might be fun...
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
TheBoss
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: Amiga 600 motherboards majsta MarketPlace 6 06 September 2012 20:20
Jens Schoenfeld : XSurf2 Diagnostics help ancalimon support.Hardware 1 30 November 2011 18:46
Update on Jens FlickerFixer for A1200? mfletcher support.Hardware 25 11 July 2008 00:08
Met Jens Schoenfeld :) blade002 Amiga scene 7 10 July 2007 02:31
New from Jens Schoenfeld Methanoid News 20 01 July 2005 21:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30609 seconds with 12 queries