English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 July 2015, 18:27   #41
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_3200b3.7z

Beta 3:

- CD and sound card audio are now always resampled with Anti interpolator before it gets mixed with Paula audio stream. Previously it used very crude resampling method.
- ES1370 (SB128) emulation fixed, DMA length register was not reset when playback was restarted. (I don't understand how it would have ever worked in QEMU without sound glitches)
- Added "Full PCI DMA" option to PCI bridges that in real world don't have Amiga to/from PCI DMA support (Prometheus and Mediators). Default is off = emulates real hardware limits.
- Validate PCI DMA addresses, log message and return random data if trying to access unsupported address or if attempting to access Amiga address space and bridge does not have full PCI DMA support. (Probably becomes HALT-something if real hardware simply hangs in this situation)
- 68040 MMU mode hardware bus error not caused by MMU had incorrectly status register ATC bit set.
- More reliable A2410 resolution switching.
- A2410 framebuffer space is also mirrored at the beginning of TMS34010 address space.
- Implemented A2410 TMS34010 to/from Amiga address space DMA feature. So far no programs found that uses it.
- Emulate 68020/030 prefetch pipeline more accurately, branch instructions stop prefetching after last opword of branch instruction has been loaded. It reduces unnecessary memory accesses. This probably also makes 68020/030 cycle exact mode even more faster without adjusting other parts of emulation (which needed to be made faster because some other unknown part was too slow, hopefully it was this prefetch feature..) Not fully implemented yet, addressing modes that use brief or full extension words disable this feature until next branch instruction because length of instruction needs to be known in advance and in these addressing modes it can't be calculated statically.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 July 2015, 18:44   #42
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Very cool updates, thanks!
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 22 July 2015, 19:54   #43
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_3200b4.7z

Beta 4:

- RTG<>chipset mode switching didn't check if modes have different filter type (forgot to add when RTG filter support was implemented)
- 68020/030 prefetch pipeline b3 missing addressing mode implemented. Other adjustments: single word unconditional branch-like instruction (for example RTS) stop prefetches immediately but conditional single opcode always prefetch one extra word before stopping. Bcc.S (when not branching) and DBcc probably aren't exactly right yet.
- A2090 ST-506 support implemented.
- Note about existing configurations that use A590 XT support: drive type (SCSI ID/XT) must be reset.
- GUI default windowed mode window size (when it runs for the first time and size information is not yet stored in registry/ini) is now adjusted for high DPI screen. (Windows 8.1+ only). Previously default size was far too small on high DPI displays.
- Added "I am Windows 10 compatible" manifest entry, winuaebootlog.txt now shows correct Windows 10 version information.
- Cleaned up pfield_do_linetoscr() mess.
- Added support for AGA subpixel bitplane delays (lores pixel can horizontally scroll 4 shres or 2 hires pixels or hires pixel 2 shres pixels). Limit: only works if both odd and even planes have same subpixel scroll value (which probably is true practically in all situations)
- b1 sprite right border corner case broke SSCAN2 sprite horizontal duplication.
- x86 bridgeboard emulation! A1060 Sidecar, A2088 and A2088T currently implemented.

x86 bridgeboard information:
- Currently uses fake86 CPU core + PC support chip emulation. Selected because it was very easy to integrate. Possible future A2286+ emulation needs different CPU core.
- All jumpers emulated. (Required redesign of expansion GUI extra config)
- Amiga floppy drive DF2: and DF3: can be re-configured as bridgeboard PC drives A: and B:.
- Only 360k and 720k standard dos disk images supported.
- A2088T 360k/720k compatible drive supported. Floppy switch not implemented.
- A1060 and A2088 apparently only have 360k drive and BIOS support.
- BIOS ROM required. Searching for "A2088 BIOS" or similar should work... No BIOS ROMs
added to rom scanner.
- Not much real testing done. Boots from dos boot floppy, drive formatting and reading/writing works.
- x86 CPU speed is currently very randomly chosen speed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 July 2015, 20:27   #44
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,146
AVG found a virus on it, Win32/Heri.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 22 July 2015, 20:38   #45
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
AVG found a virus on it, Win32/Heri.
False positive as usual. Virustotal reports ok from every antivirus except AVG..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 July 2015, 20:43   #46
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,146
But why Windows opened a dialog box asking for a file that it not found when I ran WinUAE b4 for the first time?
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 22 July 2015, 20:50   #47
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
But why Windows opened a dialog box asking for a file that it not found when I ran WinUAE b4 for the first time?
What is that supposed to mean?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 July 2015, 21:19   #48
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,146
Dont get angry, it is supposed to mean nothing, I am only warning you to check your system.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 22 July 2015, 21:25   #49
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Angry? Your description didn't explain anything at all. "Something happened that I didn't expect to happen" was all it did say, no details whatsoever. (EDIT: What window? What file? What was not found? What did it say? And so on)

EDIT: I assume it is some difference in final version of visual studio 2015 and probably some related updated/missing DLL error.

AVG false positives are so common, especially that "Heri". (Do a quick search). There is no virus unless some other antivirus vendor also reports it.

EDIT2: ESET Smart Security didn't detect anything.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 22 July 2015 at 22:02.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 July 2015, 21:48   #50
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
But why Windows opened a dialog box asking for a file that it not found when I ran WinUAE b4 for the first time?
Please check your PC Leonardo Jardim, my Windows 8.1 64Bit System running Symantec's Norton Internet Security does not report a thing and no dialog box opens here asking for a file that's not found when I try to run WinUAE 3.2.0 b4. Your own system may have been infected by a virus.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 22 July 2015, 22:19   #51
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
His PC's not Infected, It's AVG.

The annoying thing is that it gives you 2 options for WinUAE.exe:
Deletes it.
Ignores it (but stops it working).

Should have a third option: Keep your nose out

EDIT: Toni, what have you added in beta 4 to create this false positive? Beta 3 has no such report.

Last edited by Arnie; 22 July 2015 at 22:24.
Arnie is offline  
Old 22 July 2015, 22:35   #52
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
As I said above, it probably is just released (only 2 days ago) final visual studio 2015 that does something differently and not all virus scanners have been updated or something like that.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 July 2015, 23:28   #53
Snake79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 168
I'm using Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview build 10162 with built-in Windows Defender (updated) and latest beta is working fine, without any issues so far...

Last edited by Snake79; 22 July 2015 at 23:44.
Snake79 is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 18:50   #54
Steve
FreelanceAndroidDeveloper
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,103
AVG is a pile of shit. I stopped using it last year and now use Bitdefender which is great. I scanned the latest file with Bitdefender and its completely clean.
Steve is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 18:57   #55
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake79 View Post
I'm using Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview build 10162
Strongly recommend an update, RTM build 10240 is out since over a week ago.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 19:41   #56
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 56
Posts: 517
Mind you testing or playing via a preview build of an unfinished OS perhaps isn't the best choice, no OS is ever finished during its release life but at least Win 7 and 8.1 (ish) have had a fair bit of hammering by the users.
Mclane is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 19:51   #57
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
There's no such thing as a finished software product, to be honest...
Shoonay is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 21:50   #58
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 76
More Menu.

Hi Tony,
do you think of divide meu controller from acceleration board and bus board? and create differts tabs?

Thaks.
Zilog.
Zilog is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 22:27   #59
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mclane View Post
Mind you testing or playing via a preview build of an unfinished OS perhaps isn't the best choice, no OS is ever finished during its release life but at least Win 7 and 8.1 (ish) have had a fair bit of hammering by the users.
And some people still use XP.

Windows 10 even in it's current state is the best OS Microsoft have ever made for home PCs.
Ian is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 22:57   #60
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
I think that is enough Windows 10 discussion, at least in this thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zilog View Post
do you think of divide meu controller from acceleration board and bus board? and create differts tabs?
"meu controller"?
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 3.1.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 305 06 June 2015 23:25
WinUAE 2.8.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 51 16 June 2014 18:05
WinUAE 2.4.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 342 29 March 2012 09:02
WinUAE 2.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 119 28 June 2010 02:35
WinUAE 1.6.0 beta series (was 1.5.4) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 751 22 May 2009 07:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25801 seconds with 12 queries