English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 October 2015, 12:11   #281
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Not yet.
Take time, no rush.

PS. At moment I check the excellent ShapeShifter support.
AnnaWu is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 October 2015, 12:15   #282
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigone View Post
I use wazp3d. If i switch to winuae 64 bit the soft3d.dll works also with it?
No if dll is 32-bit.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 October 2015, 16:57   #283
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
You found the reason why Picasso IV Zorro III + OS4x support problems exist on the 32-bit OS?
Does http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.7z fix it?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 October 2015, 17:07   #284
waldiamiga
Registered User

waldiamiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kraków, Poland
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post

Yes, Picasso IV Zorro III now working under AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition & Windows 7 32bit.
Thanks Toni.
waldiamiga is offline  
Old 16 October 2015, 17:24   #285
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Thanks Toni, now Picasso IV Zorro III It goes well with OS4.1
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 October 2015, 19:48   #286
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Great. No wonder I didn't find it so easily because it was some temp test stuff that I forgot about..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 October 2015, 06:23   #287
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Great. No wonder I didn't find it so easily because it was some temp test stuff that I forgot about..
Thanks for the fix, Toni!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OS41.png
Views:	378
Size:	448.2 KB
ID:	45834  
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 21 October 2015, 19:35   #288
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_3200b17.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_3200b17.7z

Beta 17:

- Trace mode in 68000 cycle-exact was 4 cycles too long.
- 68000 cycle-exact mode STOP needs at least 8 cycles before it can wake up.
- Memory-only cycle exact crash when entering GUI.
- Memory-only cycle exact shortcut config entry cycle_exact=memory (Old false and true values have not changed)
- Only use picassoiv_rom_file config entry if it contains valid path. (Workaround for some config files that contain picassoiv_rom_file=:NOROM for some reason)
- Z3 Picasso IV was disabled if there was not enough address space even when JIT was disabled (b16).
- JIT on/off change was not delayed until it was safe to do, like other CPU option changes. uae-configuration (or similar) on the fly config changes were unreliable in this situation.
- FAT drive mounted as a directory harddrive: file's modification time was not always correct. (2.6.0, wrong date field name)
- Warp mode fps limit added, config file only: warp_limit=fps
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 23 October 2015, 16:43   #289
shaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto / Canada
Posts: 87
There appears to be a problem with creating Virtual Hard Files greater than 2.0GB whenever a new drive is created the RDB configuration gives a bad cylinder error.
shaf is offline  
Old 23 October 2015, 17:30   #290
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaf View Post
There appears to be a problem with creating Virtual Hard Files greater than 2.0GB whenever a new drive is created the RDB configuration gives a bad cylinder error.
Only possible reply is "Not enough information". Did you try first post in this thread? (=Did you test last official version?)

Unfortunately my guess is that there is nothing wrong and you are triggering usual drive size limits and so on.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 October 2015, 17:16   #291
andyhants
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hampshire England
Posts: 77
So with all this great progress on PPC under WinUAE with JIT now working does it mean that worthwhile stuff like running WipeOUT 2079 or MACE at a playable speed is now within reach of WinUAE systems under 0S 4.1?

I haven't got OS 4.1 FE yet and ppl seem to be saying its practical use under WinUAE is very limited due to both speed and the very limited RAM accessible. Would really appreciate ppls views on this?

Thanks
andyhants is offline  
Old 24 October 2015, 17:27   #292
esc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Posts: 372
Currently WipeOUT 2097 won't work in UAE because there's no real Warp3D support. uaegfx is unsupported by Warp3D. Unless someone hacks together a driver.

Also, the RAM bottleneck still exists for OS 4.1 FE. The issue is that you can only have 128mb on a CSPPC and only 256mb on a BPPC, and zorro 3 RAM isn't utilized by OS 4.1 (as far as I know). Or, it isn't utilized the same. On a physical Amiga, the Z3 RAM is _much_ slower than RAM attached to the processor boards, but in UAE, it's all the same, so...maybe someone can hack together a solution in OS4.1.
esc is offline  
Old 24 October 2015, 18:03   #293
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by esc View Post
Currently WipeOUT 2097 won't work in UAE because there's no real Warp3D support. uaegfx is unsupported by Warp3D. Unless someone hacks together a driver.
That someone is not me. I don't do PPC software. Only update that I may do someday is to port some existing OS4 compatible PCI card emulation. Currently only existing is Voodoo 3 in MAME but it is very difficult task and it is software-only (with MAME game specific hacks that can't work very well in generic emulation).

Quote:
Also, the RAM bottleneck still exists for OS 4.1 FE. The issue is that you can only have 128mb on a CSPPC and only 256mb on a BPPC, and zorro 3 RAM isn't utilized by OS 4.1 (as far as I know). Or, it isn't utilized the same. On a physical Amiga, the Z3 RAM is _much_ slower than RAM attached to the processor boards, but in UAE, it's all the same, so...maybe someone can hack together a solution in OS4.1.
UAE can't do anything to "fix" it. Either OS4 kernel gets official support or someone hacks it. (Again, it is PPC software fix = someone else's problem)

It is BPPC/CSPPC hardware limit, there is nothing that hardware (=UAE) can do to work around it.

Lots of users seem to also forget that UAE is emulating BPPC/CSPPC expansion hardware (you get exact same RAM limit on real A1200/A4000), not some "real" PPC board! If you want proper PPC board emulation (without classic board limitations), take QEMU and add missing parts that OS4 needs, done. It would be much more optimal emulator for OS4 without need for UAE.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 October 2015, 18:36   #294
esc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Posts: 372
At the risk of derailing the thread and going completely OT, just wanted to respond to your QEMU suggestion. I was messing with some QEMU stuff a while ago to try to fully emulate a PPC Mac in order to get a recent version of MorphOS to boot. Definitely a non-trivial task! Honestly, emulating hardware is one of the more difficult things I've looked at programming-wise. It's far outside my scope of understanding, at least for now. Toni, you've done some really remarkable work. It's easier to appreciate what you and Frode have done after trying to wrap my own head around that stuff.
esc is offline  
Old 26 October 2015, 17:58   #295
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_3200b18.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_3200b18.7z

Beta 18: (RC1)

- If dragndrop to GUI closed GUI (for example config file with show_gui=no), invalid GUI windows handle was accessed.
- Don't parse command line again when restarting emulation (for example by loading new config when emulation has already been started). Previously command line overrode new config.
- "Forget" all remembered scan line states when forcing full refresh, previously some border region scan lines were not refreshed properly when display parameters, for example centering, changed.
- Fixed named pipe unicode format buffer size calculation bug.
- If last command line parameter is a path and it looks like config file or state file: load it automatically. Adds support for dragndrop over winuae.exe shortcut with other parameters in shortcut's Target field.
- Automatically resolve all shortcut (*.lnk) paths in command line.
- D3D9 non-shader mode forgot scanline texture when switching modes.
- Fixed off by one bug in input device re-enumeration causing keyboard layout B->A or C->B change.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 October 2015, 18:02   #296
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,981
Many thanks Toni

Will continue my testing using this latest beta

Last edited by DamienD; 26 October 2015 at 18:07.
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 October 2015, 23:03   #297
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,981
Trying to go though as many games that I can with the latest beta

Aladdin AGA no longer works with the same config that did with v3.0.0. Basically go through the cracktro, the game loads, starts to play music and you should see the Disney screen but no image

Tried playing around with stuff like 24-bit addressing, Cycle-Exact, Immediate Blitter and Wait for Blitter but no joy unfortunately.

Config + Log files attached.

Last edited by DH; 07 September 2016 at 17:43.
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 October 2015, 23:37   #298
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,981
Alien Breed 3D AGA has funny grey graphic (bottom right) when playing the game. Tested using the same config in v3.0.0 and all is ok there.

Tried playing around with stuff like 24-bit addressing, Cycle-Exact, Immediate Blitter and Wait for Blitter but no joy unfortunately.

Config + Log files + Screenshot attached.

Last edited by DH; 07 September 2016 at 17:42.
DamienD is offline  
Old 29 October 2015, 15:45   #299
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Aladdin AGA no longer works with the same config that did with v3.0.0.
The usual important unanswered question (see first post) that needs to be answered: did _previous_ official version (3.1) have same problem?

Quote:
Alien Breed 3D AGA has funny grey graphic
Does it appear if you create state file, quit, start emulation, load statefile? If it does, attach it.

EDIT: CRC32 of the game image also required.

EDIT: Aladdin confirmed but it is 3.1 problem as I expected

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 29 October 2015 at 16:01.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 October 2015, 16:36   #300
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Ciao Toni, if I can be helpful, the graphical issue with Aladdin begins with the version 3.2.0 Beta 9

EDIT

Strange, now Aladdin is going well with the recent 3200b18, It will be something left in memory that corrects errors? attach screenshot


EDIT

The graphical issue with Alien Breed 3D begins with the version 3.2 Beta 4, attach screenshot 3.2.0b3 & 3.2.0b4

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 01 November 2015 at 20:38.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 3.1.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 305 06 June 2015 23:25
WinUAE 2.8.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 51 16 June 2014 18:05
WinUAE 2.4.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 342 29 March 2012 09:02
WinUAE 2.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 119 28 June 2010 02:35
WinUAE 1.6.0 beta series (was 1.5.4) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 751 22 May 2009 07:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22766 seconds with 12 queries