English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 December 2002, 17:55   #1
funkymoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wales/UK
Age: 45
Posts: 22
Catweasel PCI

Hi,

Has anyone had any luck using the new Catweasel in the latest Winuae release?

I am a bit confused about the part that says Windows drivers may conflict with Winuae.

Does that mean i have to uninstall the catweasel from the windows side of things?

Does anyone know if it will be possible to boot from an Amiga disk via the Catweasel in Winuae?

Many thanks, i am still quite new to this great emulator.
funkymoose is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 December 2002, 15:08   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
AFAIK, WinUAE has support for the latest Catweasel card, the MK3. Is this the model you have? If not, it will not work.

As far as booting goes, I think it won't work. At least not with normal Amiga NDOS disks. I'll let Toni speak here though
Akira is offline  
Old 24 December 2002, 16:14   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
Does that mean i have to uninstall the catweasel from the windows side of things?
Yes. Current Catweasel Windows driver can't be used by WinUAE. It must be uninstalled or both WinUAE and Windows driver get confused when they try to access Catweasel at the same time.

Quote:
Does anyone know if it will be possible to boot from an Amiga disk via the Catweasel in Winuae?
This is not possible. (yet...)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 December 2002, 16:37   #4
funkymoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wales/UK
Age: 45
Posts: 22
Question Catweasel PCI

Hi,

Yes its the MK3 version i have.

I am currently in the process of transferring my favorite Amiga disks to ADF's via Windows.

I was kind of dreaming that i may be able to use it under Winuae to boot my games from.

Is there anyway around uninstalling the Windows drivers so that i can still transfer ADF's or is it a case of one or the other?

Merry xmas to you all,

Thanks :-)

Marc
funkymoose is offline  
Old 24 December 2002, 23:50   #5
radfoo
 
Posts: n/a
Hi,

I'm having trouble with the Catweasel on UAE too.

Would it be okay to just disable the driver rather than un-install?(on win2k)

When I launch the IO program I get the message "No matching devices found. Press any key to continue . . . ", though I have a MK3 installed and it is working fine. From the Win2k "Device Manager" settings I see the IO is E400, I assume this is the same?

Any ideas what I need to do? (I would like to get the joysticks working)
 
Old 25 December 2002, 10:02   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
Would it be okay to just disable the driver rather than un-install?(on win2k)
Not tested but should be ok.

Quote:
When I launch the IO program I get the message "No matching devices found. Press any key to continue . . . ", though I have a MK3 installed and it is working fine. From the Win2k "Device Manager" settings I see the IO is E400, I assume this is the same?
You saw that under Windows driver's properties? It is the same.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 13:17   #7
funkymoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wales/UK
Age: 45
Posts: 22
Question Toni, its mounted but...

Hi Toni again,

Sorry to be a pain about this Catweasel thing but, i followed your new instructions and it seemed to go well and mounted with no error messages.

But i am getting no drive noise or icon on my workbench when i put in a disk.

I tried the copy section but nothing happened.

Any idea?

Cheers,

Marc
funkymoose is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 14:36   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Do you see following in winuaelog.txt?

<clip>
Catweasel MK3: mapped @$ea0000
Card 4 (ZorroII) done.
</clip>

Does joystick-port work in games?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 15:10   #9
funkymoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wales/UK
Age: 45
Posts: 22
no, sorry

Hi,

There is no mention of what you asked. The only thing i can find in relation to CAT device is this:

aino=0 a='CAT.info' n='C:\Program Files\WinUAE\Workbench\Devs\DOSDRIVERS\CAT.info' c='(null)' mode=2 dir=0

After that, i get a lot of 'joystick setpropertry failed, 00000002 S=0 F=0000 C=0002 (2) (Unknown)'

I dont know if this is related to the Joystick port on the Catweasel though.

Thanks,

Marc
funkymoose is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 15:14   #10
funkymoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wales/UK
Age: 45
Posts: 22
and more, sorry

There is also this in the bootlog:

unknown config entry: 'io_catweasel=0xa800'
unknown config entry: 'win32.killwinkeys=false'

Hope that sheds some light also.

Cya,

Marc
funkymoose is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 15:17   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Oops.. It should be "catweasel_io", not "io_catweasel"

winuae.net Catweasel-guide fixed and updated.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 15:21   #12
funkymoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wales/UK
Age: 45
Posts: 22
:)

Hi Toni,

I will try it out after dinner, thanks for all your help today.
Must go and get fat and drunk.

Will post my results later,

Cheers,

Marc
funkymoose is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 15:26   #13
funkymoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wales/UK
Age: 45
Posts: 22
couldnt resist

I am getting the icon on my screen but it is greyed out and it says under the icon ' CAT unreadable'

It doesnt matter what disk is in there and there seems to be no lights or action from my drive.

Cheers,

Marc
funkymoose is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 17:44   #14
radfoo
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Toni Wilen
Oops.. It should be "catweasel_io", not "io_catweasel"

winuae.net Catweasel-guide fixed and updated.
Wahoo, that was the problem with my joysticks. They are working great now, thanks.

I'll see if I can get the drive working in Workbench.
 
Old 25 December 2002, 18:40   #15
funkymoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wales/UK
Age: 45
Posts: 22
How?

How did you get the sticks to work, let me know if you have any luck with the disks too.

Cheers,

Marc
funkymoose is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 18:53   #16
funkymoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wales/UK
Age: 45
Posts: 22
error message

Hi Toni,

You asked before if i am getting the messagein the log):

Catweasel MK3: mapped @$ea0000
Card 4 (ZorroII) done.

Well i have and it says it again further in the log but then says this after it:

Illegal instruction: 0848 at 00000006


Is this anything to do with the problem?

Cheers,

Marc
funkymoose is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 19:27   #17
radfoo
 
Posts: n/a
Re: How?

Quote:
Originally posted by funkymoose
How did you get the sticks to work, let me know if you have any luck with the disks too.

Cheers,

Marc
I cant get the disk to work.

Sticks have now stopped working, which is a bit weird (maybe i'll reboot). Previously it worked by adding the line catweasel_io=0xE400 as you advised.
 
Old 25 December 2002, 21:12   #18
radfoo
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Re: How?

Quote:
Originally posted by radfoo
I cant get the disk to work.

Sticks have now stopped working, which is a bit weird (maybe i'll reboot). Previously it worked by adding the line catweasel_io=0xE400 as you advised.
Oh, I understand now. The joysticks need the windows driver to work.

I'll try again with the disk drive later.
 
Old 25 December 2002, 21:36   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
The joysticks need the windows driver to work.
No. WinUAE does not need the driver. Joysticks, keyboard and disk drive will work without the driver.

Keyboard port and disk drive won't work if both WinUAE and driver are in use simultaneously. Joysticks probably work because driver doesn't support joystick ports.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 December 2002, 00:32   #20
radfoo
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Toni Wilen
No. WinUAE does not need the driver. Joysticks, keyboard and disk drive will work without the driver.

Keyboard port and disk drive won't work if both WinUAE and driver are in use simultaneously. Joysticks probably work because driver doesn't support joystick ports.
Oh, I must have something wrong then. When I disable the driver, the joysticks stop working, any ideas why that would be?

Just tried again with the floppy, I guess that wont work until I sort the joysticks out though.

Thanks for your help so far.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catweasel Mk4 Plus (pci) Specksynder support.Hardware 7 18 February 2010 15:17
Catweasel MK4 Plus PCI paulo_becas support.Hardware 5 12 February 2010 15:46
Selling Catweasel PCI boing_1000 MarketPlace 6 09 June 2008 04:51
Catweasel Mk Iv Pci nikos support.Hardware 5 29 April 2006 13:49
Catweasel MK3 PCI! Where can I buy in the uk? ElectroBlaster support.Hardware 3 21 July 2004 00:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35104 seconds with 11 queries