English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 June 2015, 21:42   #1
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
Dropbox on a 68k Amiga

So I have also posted this in AmiBay but since a lot of work went on in threads here to make this possible I wanted to post it here also.

After a long road of my wife ordering an Amiga 1200 and deciding to take the plunge and try to add wireless internet, I finally have a working FTP client browsing shares on my home network.

I have to thank Sir_Lucas for his patience and perserverance with my many, many questions! I shudder to think how much time he has spent replying to my messages which eventually unearthed problems with Workbench itself and led to a re-install of the OS. So he went far beyond the realms of the device I bought from him. Thank you again Luke! Also Thomas and EmuFan on this board for a lot of education.


So now I have a very interesting setup where my Copy/Dropbox client is running on a remote machine and I have continual access now. So I effectively have Dropbox on my Amiga This is great because I can begin a document at home and continue it on my phone when I'm in transit. A very modern Amiga I would say!

TenLeftFingers is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 June 2015, 23:40   #2
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 768
can be done better, export your dropbox folder over NFS :-P
Locutus is offline  
Old 16 June 2015, 19:28   #3
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
I have (or at least I had, must check ) n NFS share too, but Samba came out trumps at the time so I haven't started that service since. Is there an advantage over FTP?
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 16 June 2015, 19:37   #4
jayminer
Registered User

jayminer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Umeň / Sweden
Posts: 164
There's always smbfs !
jayminer is offline  
Old 16 June 2015, 20:23   #5
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayminer View Post
There's always smbfs !
Smbfs is quite ok as well.
Smbfs 68k

There's also GUI for it.
SMBMounter
It might be helpful.
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 19 June 2015, 22:45   #6
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
I haven't even had a chance to use the setup I have much yet with the end of school activities going on so I ptobably wont change the setup for a long time. But would applications be able to see the samba shares and edit remote files directly ?

Sent from my awesome Ubuntu Touch device using the Forum Browser app
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 21 June 2015, 23:05   #7
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenLeftFingers View Post
I haven't even had a chance to use the setup I have much yet with the end of school activities going on so I ptobably wont change the setup for a long time. But would applications be able to see the samba shares and edit remote files directly ?

Sent from my awesome Ubuntu Touch device using the Forum Browser app
To be honest I haven't tried that options. I'm more of a FTP guy as well.
I'm aware of this solution, but FTP seems to be more appealing to me.
It's just a matter of personal preference.
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 22 June 2015, 13:50   #8
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
Thanks Sir_Lucas. FTP is fine for me. But if I can actually mount remote volumes and use them as easily as local ones, then I may look into it in the future as it means I can do less work

I just saw the signature my phone app is leaving in forums! :/
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 23 June 2015, 00:45   #9
jayminer
Registered User

jayminer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Umeň / Sweden
Posts: 164
Yes smbfs mounts your SMB-shares so you can access them as local ones!
jayminer is offline  
Old 23 June 2015, 10:44   #10
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,336
The latest SMBMounter also supports FTP folders using FTPMount...
Daedalus is offline  
Old 24 June 2015, 23:26   #11
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
Jayminer, Daedalus, that sounds great. Thats the style I use on Ubuntu. Are the memory requirements require upgrading?

Sent from my awesome Ubuntu Touch device using the Forum Browser app
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 16 July 2015, 15:35   #12
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,336
To be honest if you don't have any additional memory in your A1200 you're going to struggle to run most software. You might get away with mounting directories alright, but with the network stack already running, the nice Indivision screenmodes and whatever else you're using will easily use all of your 2MB of RAM.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 16 July 2015, 15:56   #13
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
I'm learning that. In my other thread about accellerators I've been thinking ahead to Christmas. Looks like the most cost effective way of getting more ram is to get an accellerator these days.

Sent from Ubuntu Touch using the Forum Browser app
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 18 July 2015, 09:25   #14
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenLeftFingers View Post
I'm learning that. In my other thread about accellerators I've been thinking ahead to Christmas. Looks like the most cost effective way of getting more ram is to get an accellerator these days.

Sent from Ubuntu Touch using the Forum Browser app
This is your great networking tutorial - WIFI WPA2/AES. You're learning pretty fast
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 18 July 2015, 11:51   #15
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
Thanks Sir_Lucas. I had a great teacher

Sent from Ubuntu Touch using the Forum Browser app
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 18 July 2015, 18:03   #16
mech
Registered User
mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: texas,usa
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Lucas View Post
To be honest I haven't tried that options. I'm more of a FTP guy as well.
I'm aware of this solution, but FTP seems to be more appealing to me.
It's just a matter of personal preference.
Does anyone use FTPMount-1.0.lha anymore? it was quite handy to mount a ftp as a drive on workbench.
mech is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running WinUAE entirely from within Dropbox? oRBIT support.WinUAE 3 07 April 2015 21:32
Dropbox: the easy way themamboman support.WinUAE 3 22 January 2015 14:34
Mess for Amiga 68k MazinKaesar request.Apps 2 19 February 2008 10:06
sdl 68k on my amiga mrodfr support.Apps 0 19 November 2006 17:23
Looking for a 68k amiga coder anakirob Coders. General 0 15 October 2004 06:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22364 seconds with 11 queries