English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 June 2015, 19:22   #1
rfancella
Registered User

rfancella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Clay Center, KS USA
Age: 53
Posts: 83
Uropa2 - The Ulterior Colony CD

Hello all,
I am hoping someone can help me out just a bit.
Here is my issue. I am trying to get Uropa 2 to run in WinUAE 3.1RC2b21.
I have the UAE Video Drivers loaded in the Startup-Sequence with this:
Code:
IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors
  IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
    DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
  EndIF
 
  C:List >NIL: DEVS:Monitors/~(#?.info|VGAOnly) TO T:M LFORMAT "DEVS:Monitors
  Execute T:M
  C:Delete >NIL: T:M
EndIF
Here is where the trouble starts. I do not want to change any of this startup, but when the game is launched, I get a black screen with background music.
If I comment out (which I don't want to do) the line "Execute T:M" this prevents the uae video from loading and the game launches fine.
Is there some way I can unload the uae drivers? Or a setting to allow the game to display correctly with the uae drivers loaded?

Thanks,
Ron
rfancella is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 June 2015, 19:30   #2
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfancella View Post
Here is where the trouble starts. I do not want to change any of this startup, but when the game is launched, I get a black screen with background music.
Some games fail to properly initialise the display if workbench is using a non-hires screen mode. Start Prefs/Screen, switch to a PAL:Hires screen, then run Uropa.

If that works, go check Aminet. There are tools that will automate the process, but I can't remember their names - it's been to long.

KillAGA does what you need, IIRC - but it also disables AGA, I guess.
Korodny is offline  
Old 12 June 2015, 19:59   #3
rfancella
Registered User

rfancella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Clay Center, KS USA
Age: 53
Posts: 83
Korodny,
Thank you for your prompt reply. My setup is already in PAL:Hires. So no change there. And you are correct, KillAGA doesn't work either.

Thanks,
Ron
rfancella is offline  
Old 12 June 2015, 20:32   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,518
I guess this game hates Picasso96 if it happens even in normal chipset graphics mode with Picasso96 driver loaded.

Unfortunately there is not much to do. (and it most likely is not emulation-only).
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 June 2015, 16:46   #5
rfancella
Registered User

rfancella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Clay Center, KS USA
Age: 53
Posts: 83
Thank you also Toni for your reply.
After some digging Brolly discovered there is a patch called "uropa233.lha" out there somewhere. The file is listed but not available from the publishers website. Does anyone have this file?
It is suposed to fix the Picasso96 crash at boot.

Thanks,
Ron
rfancella is offline  
Old 16 June 2015, 10:34   #6
brolly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lost
Posts: 414
It's available on that other link I sent you Ron
brolly is offline  
Old 16 June 2015, 16:21   #7
rfancella
Registered User

rfancella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Clay Center, KS USA
Age: 53
Posts: 83
Thanks Brolly,
I was hoping for just the patch. Getting the other link now.

Thanks,
Ron
rfancella is offline  
Old 16 June 2015, 17:38   #8
rfancella
Registered User

rfancella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Clay Center, KS USA
Age: 53
Posts: 83
Update. Found the patch. Copied the file to LIBS: and the game now launches without an issue!
If anyone is interested, I'll upload both the 232 and 233 updates to the FTP.

Thanks,
Ron
rfancella is offline  
Old 16 June 2015, 22:36   #9
BigFan
Registered User

BigFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 261
i'm interested, but i can't find the updates. where have you put them?

thank you for finding and uploading.
BigFan is offline  
Old 16 June 2015, 23:51   #10
rfancella
Registered User

rfancella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Clay Center, KS USA
Age: 53
Posts: 83
I tried to upload them to the FTP here, but it would not allow me to.

Thanks,
Ron
rfancella is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
black screen with uropa2 turrican3 support.WinUAE 5 22 June 2015 15:35
Uropa2 cosmicfrog request.Old Rare Games 9 24 March 2009 12:50
The Colony asm1 Retrogaming General Discussion 1 21 March 2009 02:16
REQ: Merchant Colony andreas request.Old Rare Games 11 28 September 2004 20:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17927 seconds with 11 queries