English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 June 2015, 20:34   #21
zerohour1974
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Swindon UK
Posts: 202
@jPV

Yep it's a 7,3 machine not 7,5 my bad

I actually now have the G5 working. I think the issue was I had the main partition as FFS. So I blitzed the system. This time split the partition in two and formatted them as SFS. It seems to have got rid of most of my issues.

E-UAE and Poly Organiser are now working.

I managed to get the Wireless working, by setting the DNS servers to OpenDNS. However it refuses to work after about 30 seconds. Even though the card is connected the transfer of data seems to freeze and no longer work.

Will have to try Ethernet.

Sound seems to be more stable too. I think my system was just playing silly buggers
zerohour1974 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 July 2015, 18:34   #22
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by jPV View Post
WPA2 should work just fine. In fact it's harder to configure the system lower security encryptions like WEP (you need to edit configuration files manually for it). Only the best encryptions are supported from the GUI.
Meaning what exactly? Personally I use WPA2 and AES-CCMP, and 802.1x authentication with PEAPv0 (EAP-MSCHAPv2) or EAP-TLS with client certificates. I have yet to get an answer on whether the wpa_supplicant in MorphOS is built with support for WPA2 Enterprise or not. I admit I have not upgraded since MorphOS 3.2 or thereabouts on one of my minis.
kolla is offline  
Old 11 July 2015, 12:04   #23
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
Unless you're into Amiga only PPC compatible productivity software, there's really no point. It uses UAE to run 68k software and games, so it's no different from running an emulator on a modern Mac or PC!
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 11 July 2015, 12:40   #24
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by edd_jedi View Post
Unless you're into Amiga only PPC compatible productivity software, there's really no point. It uses UAE to run 68k software and games, so it's no different from running an emulator on a modern Mac or PC!
No, UAE is only needed with hardware hitting programs (mostly games and demos). It is VERY different to Mac or "PC".

MorphOS has OS3.x compatible API and build-in 68k emulator (only CPU is emulated). When you run 68k software they use MorphOS native API, libraries, devices etc. 68k programs use directly MorphOS graphics drivers etc and you can even use 68k shell commands and system components like libraries, datatypes, device drivers, filesystems, and all kinds of other binaries as they are in MorphOS. No separate emulator is needed and you don't notice any difference between 68k and native software. 68k software doesn't run in any kind of sandbox, they share everything with native programs. You can use ARexx ports and everything between them (unlike if you'd run software in UAE).

It's the whole point of MorphOS that it's Amiga compatible system... but seems that some just imagine something else always... and spread that "knowledge" :/

MorphOS also contains updated Amiga software, which you can't even run in UAE. For example newer or native versions of CGX, MUI, Turboprint, AHI, Poseidon, and many other system components and utilities. If you want to see how they've progressed, you can see it with MorphOS. Whole MorphOS is based on the familiar software from 68k Amiga times and their legacy. You just can't say "it's no different to running UAE" ...

Last edited by jPV; 11 July 2015 at 13:06.
jPV is offline  
Old 11 July 2015, 14:11   #25
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
Sorry, how exactly is it "Amiga compatible" if it requires an emulator (UAE or other) to run AMIGA games? Sounds like you guys are trying to convince yourselves it's not a complete waste of time, apart from as I mentioned the fraction of people that use the small pool of software that will run natively on it.
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 11 July 2015, 14:21   #26
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 455
You can run 68k apps/games if they are coded in a system friendly way.
I'm very happy with my powerbook g4 and MorphOS 3.9.
tolkien is offline  
Old 11 July 2015, 19:09   #27
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by edd_jedi View Post
Sorry, how exactly is it "Amiga compatible" if it requires an emulator (UAE or other) to run AMIGA games? Sounds like you guys are trying to convince yourselves it's not a complete waste of time, apart from as I mentioned the fraction of people that use the small pool of software that will run natively on it.
I already told you, but you don't want to understand. Amiga was much more than just the OCS/AGA games (and some of them do work too. And how games compatibility would be the correct measurement, heck, even A600 or later models don't run many A500 games, not to talk with different addons...). Amiga apps scene was huge and it wasn't only a fraction of people who did use their Amigas to other than gaming. Later you went with Amiga more it came about productivity instead of games, but if you jumped off after floppy based A500 setups feel free to live in your imaginary world, but don't come to tell us how we should live. And please stop speading false facts of the thing you aren't familiar with.

Last edited by jPV; 11 July 2015 at 19:49.
jPV is offline  
Old 12 July 2015, 07:52   #28
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,658
Compability with most PD games is pretty poor too: I tried out a couple of dozen and only a few worked properly.
Minuous is offline  
Old 12 July 2015, 19:00   #29
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by jPV View Post
free to live in your imaginary world, but don't come to tell us how we should live. And please stop speading false facts of the thing you aren't familiar with.
OK again please tell me how either of these statements aren't true:

1) Most Amiga users were gamers. Not all, as I said, but most.
2) Most games will not run on MorphOS without SOME KIND of emulation. Again most, not all.

I'm not spreading false rumours, you just seem to casually sweep aside 99% of Amiga users and programs in your claims.
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 12 July 2015, 19:08   #30
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
And as you don't seem to have even read any of the posts so far, here's the OPs question and first response:

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerohour1974 View Post
What is the compatability like for MorphOS...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
I've found the compatibility is pretty good for system-friendly stuff, but for most older games you need an emulator instead. So I guess it depends on what you want from it.
Imaginary world you say? I'm not telling you how to live your life, I'm answering the OPs question.
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 12 July 2015, 21:21   #31
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 485
This is your first comment which made me to respond:

Quote:
Originally Posted by edd_jedi View Post
Unless you're into Amiga only PPC compatible productivity software, there's really no point. It uses UAE to run 68k software and games, so it's no different from running an emulator on a modern Mac or PC!
1) Although MorphOS runs Amiga PPC compatible software including WarpOS and PowerUP binaries, and even OS4 binaries in some degree, it also runs 68k software. And the 68k software compatibility is what people are mostly interested when they use MorphOS, because the amount of it available. Without backwards compatibility with 68k there wouldn't have be any MorphOS users at the first place. So the claim "Unless you're into Amiga only PPC compatible productivity software" is wrong.

2) You said "It uses UAE to run 68k software and games" is wrong too. 68k software can be run without UAE. I admitted that only small amount of 68k games do work without UAE, but for other binaries it's quite the opposite. I don't know why you started to talk only about games later even when you made difference between "software and games" originally. And if you run MorphOS on the real Amiga, then even those games do work better too. It's only if you run MorphOS on the hardware without the Amiga's original chipsets, then hardware hitting non system friendly games don't work without UAE.

3) It's very far away from running UAE on some non AmigaOS API compatible OS, as I've been trying to explain. "It's no different" it's very harsh and misleading wording for the AmigaOS API and binary compatible OS which is fully based to AmigaOS structure on its own too.

I just wanted to correct these claims so that other people wouldn't take it literally when it's not quite correctly said.

Quote:
Originally Posted by edd_jedi View Post
And as you don't seem to have even read any of the posts so far, here's the OPs question and first response:
He's got few proper answers, I can't see he'd specified the question to games compatibility only.

Last edited by jPV; 13 July 2015 at 08:04.
jPV is offline  
Old 30 December 2016, 19:49   #32
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 44
Is there a list, what 68 software runs natively on morphos?
Which Demos/Games/Progs do not need UAE on morphos?

I am planing to buy it (79 Euros) and using it on my G4-Mini 1,42Ghz R9200/32MB.
dr.zeissler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MorphOS 2.7 Released S0ulA55a551n Amiga scene 0 02 December 2010 16:02
New FS for MorphOS Doc Mindie News 0 16 August 2010 11:17
MorphOS under Emulation? Charlie Retrogaming General Discussion 11 02 February 2010 19:09
Morphos Amigan Amiga scene 2 06 May 2008 11:54
MorphOS 1.4 Screenshots! Pyromania Amiga scene 39 15 August 2003 17:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24691 seconds with 11 queries