English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 May 2015, 15:39   #1
Nova
Registered User

Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peristaltic City
Posts: 168
Latest working Winuae Version for XP 32bit (SSE1)?

the title says it already. winuae 3.0.0 crashes on my old xp (sse1) machine, so what zipped version to look for?
Nova is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 May 2015, 15:57   #2
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
last 3.0 version works fine in windows xp, I just tested it
problem is maybe tony compiled last versions using SSE2. so if you have an old cpu ie athon xp.pentium 3, will not work

use winuae 2.01 is a great and stable version, this one surely will work
Sandro is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 16:01   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
It only needs SSE1.

How does it crash?

EDIT: SP3 is required.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 May 2015, 17:13   #4
Nova
Registered User

Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peristaltic City
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
EDIT: SP3 is required.
forgot to mention sp3 + all updates till may 2014 are present.

grey error message box appears: winuae has determined a problem and must be closed down.

where can i find older winuae zip versions to test?
Nova is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 17:19   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
It crashes before GUI appears?

Do you get any output if you start winuae with -log command line parameter? ("winuae.exe -log")
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 May 2015, 17:26   #6
Nova
Registered User

Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peristaltic City
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It crashes before GUI appears?

Do you get any output if you start winuae with -log command line parameter? ("winuae.exe -log")
exactly.

no.
Nova is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 17:42   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
There was some reports about visual studio 2013 compiled programs not running in some XP installations, crashing in startup code (before any winuae code was run). Reason unknown and not my problem anyway

My 32-bit XP test virtual machine still runs winuae just fine.

You could try "sfc /scannow" to see if something corrupted is detected but it probably is not the cause or you'd have lots of other problems too.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 May 2015, 18:03   #8
Nova
Registered User

Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peristaltic City
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
There was some reports about visual studio 2013 compiled programs not running in some XP installations, crashing in startup code (before any winuae code was run). Reason unknown and not my problem anyway
sorry for creating havoc, just realized that i do not have visual c++ 2013 installed, so that might be the problem...
Nova is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 18:04   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nova View Post
sorry for creating havoc, just realized that i do not have visual c++ 2013 installed, so that might be the problem...
winuae is statically linked, it does not need those runtime libraries. (Ages ago it was but everyone complained..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 May 2015, 18:07   #10
Nova
Registered User

Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peristaltic City
Posts: 168
so all hope is lost for this machine?

edit: what is the latest winuae vs 2012 compile?

Last edited by Nova; 27 May 2015 at 19:43.
Nova is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 19:39   #11
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Last version works well on my WinXP SP3 32-bit OS.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 19:47   #12
Nova
Registered User

Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peristaltic City
Posts: 168
hm, again: where can i get previous winuae zip versions? official site offers only installers as far as i can see.
Nova is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 19:51   #13
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
No, check the page again.
http://www.winuae.net/
[installer] [zip-archive] [PPC core plugin]
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 19:55   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
You can also change WinUAExxxx.zip part in the URL to download really old versions, if needed. (But note that old versions are totally unsupported, you are on your own)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 May 2015, 20:11   #15
Nova
Registered User

Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peristaltic City
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
You can also change WinUAExxxx.zip part in the URL to download really old versions, if needed. (But note that old versions are totally unsupported, you are on your own)
ok toni, will try, thanks. by any chance, do you remember off the cuff which winuae version is still vs 2012 compiled. i guess this one will work for sure....
Nova is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 20:22   #16
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
I guess last 2010 compiled was 2.7.0. (2011 does not exist, 2012 didn't support XP)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 May 2015, 20:30   #17
Nova
Registered User

Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peristaltic City
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I guess last 2010 compiled was 2.7.0. (2011 does not exist, 2012 didn't support XP)
yes, of course you are right, latest vs for xp is 2010..

will check 2.7.0 first and report back as soon as possible
Nova is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 20:43   #18
Nova
Registered User

Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peristaltic City
Posts: 168
ok, testing already finished. latest working version is 2.8.1. any severe changes in 3.0.0?
Nova is offline  
Old 28 May 2015, 05:24   #19
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 580
Strange, 3.x betas so far worked for my XP SP3 boxes.
Hope WinUAE still and will support it, I don't see any reason why it should not.
It's still a very common system and runs uae extremely good.
Michael is offline  
Old 28 May 2015, 13:23   #20
Nova
Registered User

Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peristaltic City
Posts: 168
i'm not an expert, but after all could it be a cpu feature issue or maybe a visual studio targeting problem.

2.8.1 runs without problems, would be interresting to know if it was a vs 2013 compile as well (like 3.0.0)?
Nova is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.3.0 (32bit & 64bit): HDF not working... MazinKaesar support.WinUAE 7 02 October 2010 19:20
Latest version? emuola project.KGLoad 13 30 May 2010 11:12
Cadaver WHDload version not working on WinUAE 1.6.1 prismra support.Games 14 17 December 2009 17:17
WinUAE in 32bit mode Unregistered support.WinUAE 1 20 August 2004 15:17
Latest winUAE version..what a load of !! scoobysnax114 support.WinUAE 4 28 April 2002 02:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26059 seconds with 12 queries