English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 May 2015, 23:46   #1
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
68060 -only Amiga games?

I'd say Quake qualifies as a 060 only game but its a PC port. Are there any other exclusive Amiga games that are 060 only?
AB3d2: TKG was arguably only playable on 060 but to say its 060 only is a bit of a stretch..
Can we assemble a little list?
eXeler0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 May 2015, 23:56   #2
jack-3d
kLiker
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brno / Czech Republic
Posts: 284
Most of "3D" games in 1x1 fullscreen needs 060.

My list: Breathless, Gloom(s), Genetics Species and then games like Xtreme Racing, Flying High, Crossfire 2, Earth 2140
jack-3d is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 00:09   #3
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,810
You may try https://www.google.com/#q=site:hol.abime.net+060
s2325 is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 00:21   #4
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 518
I wouldn't say Quake was 060 only. I play it on an 040/25 and it runs ok... Well, it's playable. And I also played AB3dII on the same set-up.

Feasibly, unless a game is compiled to run specifically on 060, then it's not 060-only.

However, I agree that you have to take playability into account, and stuffing Quake through anything less than 060 may not necessarily give you much of a 'game'.

So are we looking at FPS, texture-mapped games only? I can't think of any other genre that requires the 060 specifically. Happy to be told otherwise, though

I enjoyed Genetic Species
LuMan is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 00:42   #5
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
LuMan, not FPS only - its understandable that they qualify but really.. any really demanding game is fine.
Havent played Earth 2140 but I can see how a "starcraft clone" could require a 060.
TFX was barely playable on 060 but that was mostly due to poor optimization.
It would be nice to see how good a 060 only driving game could be for example.
Maybe something that uses heavy interpolated voxels..
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 13:07   #6
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 518
Having a bit more of a think, how about Alien F1 (aka Virtual GP). It plays sort of OK on an 040/25, but is much better suited to 060.

Shadow Of The Third Moon uses a pretty decent voxel engine, but only lists 040/40 for max detail. I wonder how it plays with 060...

I remember a demo for a Mario64-style game. Can't remember what it was called, but if anyone knows and has played the demo with an 060 it would be interesting.
LuMan is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 13:08   #7
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuMan View Post
I remember a demo for a Mario64-style game. Can't remember what it was called, but if anyone knows and has played the demo with an 060 it would be interesting.
Tales From Heaven?
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 13:43   #8
Schlachtwerk
68k RULEZ
Schlachtwerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 178
Works good on Blizzard IV
Schlachtwerk is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 13:48   #9
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 518
@CodyJarrett - That's the one. I remember it being on a cover disk and playing it loads. I'll dig it out again and fire it up
LuMan is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 14:21   #10
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
@LuMan I actually have Shadow of the third moon but its on CD and Im currently in the process of fixing my CD setup.. ordered buffered ide ports from amigakit but havent received it yet.
When ive tried it Ill let you know. ;-)
Meanwhile, this one seems like a 060 only for sure...
Quests of Nargoth.. it runs in 640x256 @ HAM8
[ Show youtube player ]
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 17:25   #11
Jack Burton
It's all in the reflexes!
Jack Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wingkong warehouses
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuMan View Post
I remember a demo for a Mario64-style game. Can't remember what it was called, but if anyone knows and has played the demo with an 060 it would be interesting.
The guy who did the intro screen of this game and I were both in the same class at university.
I tried the demo version of Tale from Heaven many years ago and I didn't really got into it, I found the game very monotonous (too much slow paced).


On the other hand, "Payback" (a GTA like game) ran like a charm on my Blizzard 1260.
Jack Burton is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 22:33   #12
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
@LuMan I actually have Shadow of the third moon but its on CD and Im currently in the process of fixing my CD setup.. ordered buffered ide ports from amigakit but havent received it yet.
When ive tried it Ill let you know. ;-)
Meanwhile, this one seems like a 060 only for sure...
Quests of Nargoth.. it runs in 640x256 @ HAM8
[ Show youtube player ]
I got the CD years ago, but I may have lost it. I do remember playing it on my 040/25 and loving it. Be sure to post a video when you get your CD sorted

QoN does look like it needs something big to push it along. In the linked vid an NPC 'glides' by at about 4:00. I was really enjoying it up until that point and felt that a couple of frames of animation would be nice. But it still looked pretty darn good!

@Jack - Yep, Payback looks great. I'll definitely check out how it runs on my set-up. I wonder if a similar approach can be used for a version of the old PS1 game 'Loaded' on the Amiga..
[ Show youtube player ]
Just think, we could have a new Alien Breed with this engine... or Chaos Engine....
LuMan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
68060 for Amiga 2000 hese support.Hardware 3 03 December 2009 12:37
WTB: Amiga 4000D / Cyberstorm 68060 Mk3 Sallinen MarketPlace 5 09 November 2009 11:10
68060 HD games compatibility list robotriot support.Games 22 25 January 2008 17:49
Wanted: 68060 accelerator for Amiga 1200 DJ Mike MarketPlace 19 29 August 2006 00:54
More boxed Amiga games and cd32 games! Also coverdisks and unboxed games! Smiley MarketPlace 12 20 July 2005 23:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16518 seconds with 11 queries