English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 December 2002, 15:57   #1
Gunnar
 
Posts: n/a
UAE + AmiTCP problem

Hello, I need your help..

I wanted to set up an Amiga webserver
with apache, php and mysql.

But I can't even get the TCP-stack working.

I use UAE 0.8.22 and Amiga in a Box r10c.
I have the Geekgadgets installed (for Unix
and AmiTCP 4.0 to provide the TCP/IP-stack.

After installing AmiTCP, it always complains
that the bsd-socket is already there??


Can anybody please give me a hint,
or show my a working server?


many thanks in advance
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 December 2002, 16:24   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
You wonīt need AmiTCP in WinUAE ! Just check the MISC settings, there is an option called BSDSOCKET.LIBRARY ! If itīs checked, WinUAE will use existing Windows Networks for Amiga Side
RetroMan is offline  
Old 19 December 2002, 18:54   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Hmm.. he said just UAE, perhaps he's using another port (DosUAE, macUAE, etc.)
Akira is offline  
Old 19 December 2002, 19:59   #4
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Hmmm, right But he said 0.8.22 and donīt the other ports have BSD*** as well
RetroMan is offline  
Old 19 December 2002, 20:10   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Point for Retroman

That tells you how clued I am into lameulation :P
Akira is offline  
Old 20 December 2002, 17:26   #6
Gunnar
 
Posts: n/a
First of all, yes I'm using WinUAE.


I'm not sure if the bsdsocket library of WinUAE
is enough to do the job?
For example, how can I set the IP address of my machine?

My target is to have later a running webserver (apache)
and a mysql database server on this WinUAE machine.
To make apache/mysql work I think I need a UNIX like
user/group system.
(Like Unix has in /etc/passwd and /etc/groups.)
As far as I know AmiTCP and Miame can provide
such a right system.

Is there a way to get them running just with the
BSDsocket?



again many thanks for your help
 
Old 20 December 2002, 18:22   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Quote:
Originally posted by Gunnar
I'm not sure if the bsdsocket library of WinUAE
is enough to do the job?
For example, how can I set the IP address of my machine?
When you enable bsdsocket.library emulation, WinUAE parses ALL your network settings from your PC. So if you set up an IP in your PC, this wil be your "Amiga"'s IP too.

I think what you want to do should work flawlessly using the bsdsocket.library emulation. Just try it out! There's nothing to lose, is there? AmiTCP is a pain in the booty to get running, and Miami might not be as flexible.

Please report your progress, it's an intersting little project
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
uaenet.device problem with amitcp 2.2 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 15 06 August 2012 10:00
E-uae audio problem lomdav support.OtherUAE 0 27 August 2010 10:01
UAE Hadrfile problem arnljot support.WinUAE 4 26 December 2009 00:01
AMitcp problem with password paulisthebest support.Other 2 04 November 2009 09:28
AmiTCP problem Peanutuk support.Apps 6 21 July 2004 19:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20337 seconds with 11 queries