English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 May 2015, 18:46   #1
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,607
Display Help? Where are the Help files?

I am struggling to understand the many display options offered.

I prefer my PC running 1920x1080Px60Hz (I get blurry text at 50Hz) and would like my WinUAE Amiga to retain 4:3 ratio but fill the screen otherwise. There are just too many options!

Does anyone apart from Toni know what they ALL do?

Hope this screen cap helps


image upload with preview

Thanks guys...
Methanoid is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 May 2015, 10:07   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
I prefer my PC running 1920x1080Px60Hz (I get blurry text at 50Hz) and would like my WinUAE Amiga to retain 4:3 ratio but fill the screen otherwise. There are just too many options!
You sure about that? Perhaps you have some stupid overscan feature enabled only in 50Hz mode because refresh rate shouldn't make any difference.

You didn't say if you want to use RTG or native display (or both).

Main option is in filter panel (if native) or expansion (if RTG), make sure aspect ratio is either automatic or 16:9 (ratio of your display, not amiga).

Then try different scaling settings in top/right corner. (if native).

Windowed/full-window/fullscreen: window = obvious. full-window = borderless windowed mode, fullscreen = real fullscreen (resolution and refresh rate can be different than desktop, usually much slower alt-tab)

Make sure Direct3D mode is active. DirectDraw has very limited filter options.

Other marked display panel options: no need change.

EDIT: "GeForce GTX 970" text means monitor selection, it is not part of resolution choice, resolutions are listed under the monitor name. (Multiple device names appear if you have multiple monitors)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 17 May 2015 at 11:37.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 May 2015, 15:30   #3
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Windowed/full-window/fullscreen: window = obvious. full-window = borderless windowed mode, fullscreen = real fullscreen (resolution and refresh rate can be different than desktop, usually much slower alt-tab)

Make sure Direct3D mode is active. DirectDraw has very limited filter options.
Toni, thanks for responding. I guess it really is you only who fully understands the options. My Monitor/TV does not have any overscan features. I have 3 Samsung LT23B551 TV/monitors. The PC is connected to the HDMI (DVI) port which is recommended for computers. There is another HDMI port which I think does have overscan "features"

Filters was where I was missing looking. Preset of PAL and no filters and keep aspect ratio gives me what I want. I have to say I really don't like any of the filters but I guess that is very much down to person preference, much like scanlines. I therefore dont think I have D3D enabled?

I think I am happy now... will play with RTG another time. I am supposed to be revising for an exam tomorrow!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 18 May 2015, 15:09   #4
21stcentury
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Paris
Posts: 22
Try this configuration. It's absolutely perfect for me, like original.

It comes from "Ultimate Amiga Configurations" package. The "Overscan Blanking" option gives excellent result.
Attached Files
File Type: uae AMIGA 1200.uae (19.6 KB, 50 views)
21stcentury is offline  
Old 18 May 2015, 19:04   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
I therefore dont think I have D3D enabled?
You should. DirectDraw is legacy API, it can be slow under newer drivers/Windows (at least in fullscreen), it does not allow full display positioning and scaling and so on.

Only use DirectDraw if you have really old GPU.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better display Ronnie_ASA support.WinUAE 1 01 March 2014 19:50
Listing files, loading files and allocating all available chip ram. h0ffman Coders. System 16 04 April 2013 21:24
Slow Folder Files Display Aminut33 support.WinUAE 8 14 August 2006 12:28
UAE files! Where is the database providing these WinUAE setup files? taichi_tarot Retrogaming General Discussion 3 02 June 2006 00:36
Display ID Error ? RetroMan support.WinUAE 7 06 March 2004 23:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11955 seconds with 12 queries