English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 May 2015, 15:31   #21
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,357
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Hah, lies. I have two USB drives that do DD. ;-)
Jope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 May 2015, 15:33   #22
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,357
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
If you guys really want to buy used 3.5" and 5.25" DD floppy disks, I have loads. Send me a PM with how many you need and I'll think of a price.
Jope is offline  
Old 19 May 2015, 01:10   #23
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Hah, lies. I have two USB drives that do DD. ;-)
Yep, I have a DELL USB Floppy that can format 720k DD disks, still no good for Amiga disks though
BarryB is offline  
Old 21 May 2015, 08:19   #24
appiah4
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Somewhere in Time
Posts: 379
What's so hot about DD anyway? The A500 drive for example can't even tell the difference between an HD and DD disk, even if the HD hole is not covered, and formats it to 880K quite fine - never had an issue..

Is there something I should be aware of?
appiah4 is offline  
Old 21 May 2015, 09:21   #25
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
Where do you buy your floppy disks from?

Quote:
Originally Posted by appiah4 View Post
What's so hot about DD anyway? The A500 drive for example can't even tell the difference between an HD and DD disk, even if the HD hole is not covered, and formats it to 880K quite fine - never had an issue..

Is there something I should be aware of?

I believe that the hd disks require a different magnetic flux strength to write the bits, writing them with a DD drive may not be very reliable.

http://www.retrotechnology.com/herbs_stuff/guzis.html

"The thinner coating and the smaller particle size [of 3.5" DSHD diskettes] make for better-defined domain "edges" and generally better [resolved] higher-density recording. Unfortunately, [these factors] also make for a lower recovered data [read] signal, and that, coupled with the lower write current [when writing at] 2D, is what makes for Trouble, particularly on older drives."
Vot is offline  
Old 21 May 2015, 09:46   #26
appiah4
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Somewhere in Time
Posts: 379
Very interesting.. I never had an issue, but it's interesting nonetheless. Regardless, it's only reasonable that the magnetic disk itself should be different (it DOES have higher capacity..) but I never personally encountered a problem.

It's absolutely impossible to get a hold of HD floppies where I live, let alone DD floppies - I take what I can.
appiah4 is offline  
Old 21 May 2015, 11:56   #27
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by appiah4 View Post
Very interesting.. I never had an issue, but it's interesting nonetheless. Regardless, it's only reasonable that the magnetic disk itself should be different (it DOES have higher capacity..) but I never personally encountered a problem.

It's absolutely impossible to get a hold of HD floppies where I live, let alone DD floppies - I take what I can.

I used hd floppies for a while, anecdotally they seemed to suffer read errors earlier than their dd brethren. As long as you have a backup of the discs its not a problem.. But then again.. With the new firmware for the gotek.. Who needs floppies anymore
Vot is offline  
Old 21 May 2015, 12:00   #28
appiah4
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Somewhere in Time
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
I used hd floppies for a while, anecdotally they seemed to suffer read errors earlier than their dd brethren. As long as you have a backup of the discs its not a problem.. But then again.. With the new firmware for the gotek.. Who needs floppies anymore
Crazy people like me who still have their warranty stickers on
appiah4 is offline  
Old 21 May 2015, 12:01   #29
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by appiah4 View Post
Crazy people like me who still have their warranty stickers on

You mean you still have the case still on your amiga, and not crap hanging out of it everywhere like mine?

Weirdo
Vot is offline  
Old 22 May 2015, 11:39   #30
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
Floppy disk

I've just ordered these from Ebay. I can get better value locally for more normal looking disks but these are my memories of the Amiga days. The Uridium 2 demo that came with Amiga Format was on something similar and both the transparent floppy and the game blew my mind at the time.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 22 May 2015, 16:53   #31
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
Cool, I do kind of miss having a big disk box full of colourful disks
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 11:42   #32
Knoeki
Princess Knoeki

Knoeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Amsterdam
Age: 27
Posts: 38
Send a message via Skype™ to Knoeki
I got this along with the A4000 I picked up, so... I don't think I'll ever need to buy 3.5" disks again:

Knoeki is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 19:08   #33
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
Wow, that's incredible! Well, just take care that they don't ruin your floppy drive - especcially if you're putting in a new one. Maybe the ones that came with my 1200 were just exceptionnaly bad but I nearly lost my floppy drive so now only brand new disks go in and if I need a particular piece of software I'll write the adf to floppy.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 21:53   #34
Knoeki
Princess Knoeki

Knoeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Amsterdam
Age: 27
Posts: 38
Send a message via Skype™ to Knoeki
Well, I'm pretty sure that the floppy drives in both my A600 and A4000 are a bit dodgy, so I will probably have to replace them, provided that I can find some (either internal or external) that aren't too expensive ^^;
Knoeki is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 21:57   #35
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
I'd recommend you do that. I'm not an expert, but since they bad disks were dirtying my floppy drive I assume it was harming my new disks also.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 27 May 2015, 22:07   #36
appiah4
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Somewhere in Time
Posts: 379
Well, I just received a batch of 80 floppies in the mail today. Used, in various conditions but mostly pretty good. Too bad most of them are HD but they will do. Now I just need a cheap USB floppy drive to test them all on before using on my A500
appiah4 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy Disks BippyM MarketPlace 5 14 January 2013 01:44
Where can I buy 720k dd floppy disks? Van Denhawk New to Emulation or Amiga scene 32 12 May 2012 14:34
How Many Floppy Disks DID/DO you own at your peak? diablothe2nd Amiga scene 13 17 January 2012 20:06
Mouldy floppy disks... ElectroBlaster support.Hardware 5 16 February 2011 01:09
Floppy disks mange_lars MarketPlace 1 13 October 2010 01:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.46878 seconds with 11 queries