English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 May 2015, 23:55   #1
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,521
Recording Gameplay on a a500 & 1084S Monitor

Hi guys,

What's the best method to record myself playing amiga games. I have a real a500 with a 1084S monitor.

Should I Just use mobile phone to record the amiga monitor. OR is there other methods I can get a direct feed from video out someho.

I was hoping to get decent looking vids on youtube.

Thanks in advance
ransom1122 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 May 2015, 01:31   #2
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
Hi guys,

What's the best method to record myself playing amiga games. I have a real a500 with a 1084S monitor.

Should I Just use mobile phone to record the amiga monitor. OR is there other methods I can get a direct feed from video out someho.

I was hoping to get decent looking vids on youtube.

Thanks in advance
You can get the composite adapter A520 and hook it to a simple usb capture device.
Nosferax is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 01:35   #3
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,521
you mean the rf modulator? I have a usb capture with rca. If I do that then would I still be able to use my 1084s monitor ?
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 02:02   #4
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
you mean the rf modulator? I have a usb capture with rca. If I do that then would I still be able to use my 1084s monitor ?
Ah no sorry... But you can watch while capturing on your pc.
Nosferax is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 02:11   #5
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,521
I understand you can capture on pc while emulating easily. But on real amiga 500 hardware, how are people capturing video on youtube?
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 09:12   #6
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
It's quite hard to record the screen from a CRT TV, most modern camera's will have a moving black bar on the screen or flicker. Funnily enough I found the camera on my Samsung phone was the best one to scan to the correct frequency to capture a reasonably good image in 50hz PAL whilst my normal HD Camera was pretty much fine for filming 60hz NTSC on my Sony PVM.

What Nosferax suggests is that you watch the preview on your PC whist capturing from your real hardware, not use an emulator. This would work too if you want to capture from real hardware.

To get an idea of what you can achieve with a normal camera you can see my Video here:

[ Show youtube player ]
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 09:51   #7
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,533
YouTube user ZeusDaz know how to capture video from Amiga as his clips are not from emulators.
s2325 is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 09:53   #8
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
YouTube user ZeusDaz know how to capture video from Amiga as his clips are not from emulators.
Yeah I know that. That was my last resort. Just thought I'd get some creative answers here first.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 09:59   #9
saimon69
Bedroom musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 652
I would also suggest the good'ol VCR and then capture the footage
saimon69 is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 10:35   #10
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by saimon69 View Post
I would also suggest the good'ol VCR and then capture the footage
Can you explain how it all connects with the VCR?

Can I not use the 1084S monitor and output video other ways to get a direct video feed?

Last edited by ransom1122; 13 May 2015 at 10:42.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 11:07   #11
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 908
It is easiest to capture either s-video or (colour) composite, neither of which the A500 normally outputs, unfortunately.

One option would be to get an A520 (or, if you can find one, an s-video adapter for better quality) and capture the output of that using a cheap video capture USB dongle. Then you could connect your display to the monochrome output of the A500 and use that to see what you are playing (using a TV, I think the 1084S doesn't accept composite).

Another option, a GVP G-Lock or perhaps another genlock would allow you to both pass the RGB video through to the monitor and simultaneously output s-video or composite to the capture device. Then you could use the 1084S.

Or do you wish to have "external" shots that also show you playing the game? Then you do need to use a camcorder, of course, with all the problems that recording a CRT display can cause.
ajk is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 11:10   #12
Cpt. Hindsight
Registered User
Cpt. Hindsight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southpark
Posts: 413
I guess you're using the 9-pin connector on your 1084, aren't you? It will be nearly impossible to find any recording device with such a connector.

A hdd recorder connected to your Amiga via RGB-Scart and a usual tv on the other end will probably be the best solution.
Cpt. Hindsight is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 11:22   #13
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,521
Yeah 9-pin to monitor.

If i use a a520 and use an rca out from that to my 1084S the screen will show black and white won't it? (Can you get color from a rf modulator (a520) direct to 1084s?
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 11:28   #14
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 908
You wouldn't be using the RF feature of the A520 for anything. You would use its capability to create a colour composite signal.

As far as I know the 1084S only accepts RGB, so you could not use it in this setup. You'd need another display that accepts composite. If there are variants of the 1084 that accept composite, then it's fine of course. I don't have one myself.

So, the colour composite from the A520 would go to a recording device, and the monochrome composite directly from the A500 would go to the display device so you can see what you are playing. Or you can split the colour signal both ways using a simple y-cable, but doing so will reduce image quality by some degree.
ajk is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 11:34   #15
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,521
Right OK. The 1084S does have a RCA Input, but it only shows black and white from a a520. Looks like I need a different TV if i am to record then.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 11:38   #16
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 908
Is it critical though that you need to see the game in colour while you play? If you use a USB dongle to capture the output, isn't it enough that what gets captured is in colour? At least for a first try.
ajk is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 11:44   #17
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
Is it critical though that you need to see the game in colour while you play? If you use a USB dongle to capture the output, isn't it enough that what gets captured is in colour? At least for a first try.
Well If I was to play a game from start to finish, I think color matters when viewing. I understand it will output to color, but in real time on the 1084S it will be in black and white. I have no other option beside using a different Monitor/TV I guess.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 15:44   #18
markpjd
Games-Coffer

markpjd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: London / England
Posts: 121
Hi,

I used a TV capture card.. You can get USB versions now on Ebay from 5 or so. Connect the composite leads to it - Red/White (Audio) Yellow (Video) and watch yourself playing in the software whilst recording.
markpjd is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 22:49   #19
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 908
That is worth trying, though there is lag involved with the capture dongle in between so it may not work with fast paced games where you need to time jumps accurately etc. May not be an issue, depends on the games.
ajk is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 23:03   #20
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
That is worth trying, though there is lag involved with the capture dongle in between so it may not work with fast paced games where you need to time jumps accurately etc. May not be an issue, depends on the games.
Yeah I can't afford to have lag. Recording Giana sisters requires precise jumping moments.
ransom1122 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1084S monitor repair triskalguilo support.Hardware 4 14 September 2014 23:20
Question about monitor 1084S-p1 trydowave support.Hardware 15 06 July 2013 02:44
My New A500 and 1084s Monitor Peter Hardware pics 3 17 February 2010 23:25
1084s monitor problem :( extralife support.Hardware 40 05 May 2009 11:02
Recording gameplay with audio commentary Crowley support.WinUAE 7 06 November 2007 22:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.51037 seconds with 11 queries