English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 May 2015, 15:32   #1
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
WTF Google?

Hi folks,

Maybe this belongs in another section, but maybe not, as it's news.

Google doesn't seem to support Amiga browsers anymore

Tonight I can navigate directly to websites, but Google searches lock up iBrowse, NetSurf on all my Amigas at every attempt.

Correction: Timberwolf works, seems slow.

Yet another thing we can all enjoy wishing we could enjoy...Yay

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 May 2015, 15:47   #2
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
NetSurf should support it?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 15:48   #3
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B View Post
Hi folks,

Maybe this belongs in another section, but maybe not, as it's news.

Google doesn't seem to support Amiga browsers anymore

Tonight I can navigate directly to websites, but Google searches lock up iBrowse, NetSurf on all my Amigas at every attempt.

Correction: Timberwolf works, seems slow.

Yet another thing we can all enjoy wishing we could enjoy...Yay

PZ.
Personnaly, I don't use google anymore. I prefer DuckDuckGo now. Google as become too big and controlling for my taste.
Nosferax is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 16:00   #4
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
NetSurf should support it?
Nope

Duckduckgo.com also doesn't work.

Can navigate directly to sites I've never been to on any Amiga, so clearly the problem is with google (and duckduckgo)...

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 16:13   #5
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Update: OWB under OS4.x will work with google & duckduckgo.

Not much help for those without 4.x or those wanting to use a better browser...

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 16:41   #6
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,152
For mine, Google Brazil works under IBrowse, but I set the "Spoof As" feature to MSIE 4.0 always. There is a panel under the configuration editor to set it for each website.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 10 May 2015 at 01:11.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 17:23   #7
mjnurney
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 262
i wonder if this is why i was having problems connecting to anything via google a few weeks ago...with 3.1

OS4.1 was also locking up doing google searches the other day.
mjnurney is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 17:32   #8
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Do you have javascript support?
Nosferax is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 17:58   #9
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Yes, something has changed I can't search with Google now either.

But it works as long as you enable the JavaScript support.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 18:22   #10
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Read the last line here
Nosferax is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 20:05   #11
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
ibrowse works perfect in google here, of course javascript is always enabled

anyways ibrowse javascript is old and ourdated, browsing the web in the amiga sucks
Sandro is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 20:17   #12
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Well you could always use Lynx
Nosferax is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 20:38   #13
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,972
Works fine in IBrowse2.4 on AOS 3.0 with spoof set to MSIE4.0 and java script turned off. On works as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
For me, Google Brazil works under IBrowse, but I set the "Spoof" feafure to MSIE 4.0 always. There is a panel under the configuration editor to set it for each website.
Thanks for that Google was behaving weird with spoof set to default.
Thorham is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 23:17   #14
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Yes, I was going to tell now that I've tried and it looks very well with spoof MSIE 5.5 and JavaScript on or off.

Edit: It's curious that on AmiKit for PC -using RTG- there is no problem with Google having the default options.

Last edited by Retrofan; 07 May 2015 at 23:46.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 08 May 2015, 02:06   #15
commodorejohn
Shameless recidivist
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Duluth, Minnesota (USA)
Age: 32
Posts: 169
Disable Javascript. Google searches work fine without it, at least until they finally decide to completely screw over anybody using an Unapproved Browser.
commodorejohn is offline  
Old 08 May 2015, 05:36   #16
user8086
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by commodorejohn View Post
Disable Javascript. Google searches work fine without it, at least until they finally decide to completely screw over anybody using an Unapproved Browser.
By which you mean anything that isn't Google Chrome, of course!
 
Old 08 May 2015, 14:31   #17
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
Works fine in IBrowse2.4 on AOS 3.0 with spoof set to MSIE4.0 and java script turned off. On works as well.


Thanks for that Google was behaving weird with spoof set to default.
Oh, I am glad to help.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 08 May 2015, 14:56   #18
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Spoof set to IE works, thanks people...BUT...

How do you force iBrowse to spoof? I can only do it manually after starting the browser each time...

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 08 May 2015, 15:28   #19
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Right click on the bottom right corner and you will find all of the options including Spoof.
I use MSIE as it shows the Google logo image too.

Then just save or save as. It will be saved in the IBrowse preferences in the IBrowse directory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by commodorejohn View Post
Disable Javascript. Google searches work fine without it, at least until they finally decide to completely screw over anybody using an Unapproved Browser.
Is there any problem having Javascript enabled?

Last edited by Retrofan; 08 May 2015 at 15:35.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 08 May 2015, 17:12   #20
commodorejohn
Shameless recidivist
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Duluth, Minnesota (USA)
Age: 32
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Is there any problem having Javascript enabled?
Primarily that A. an increasing number of websites (Google among them, though they're one of the lesser offenders) use so freaking much of it for everything that anything less than a modern browser with a high-speed Javascript engine running on a multi-GHz multi-core computer will slow to an absolute crawl, and B. a lot of modern Javascript doesn't actually work on older browsers, and depending on the browser that may result in the spawning of eleven billion error message-boxes.
commodorejohn is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard power 8 Google vitux Amiga scene 7 03 May 2014 02:56
Google ads in HOL? Predseda HOL news 7 23 August 2013 04:34
EAB & Google Groups? alexh project.EAB 17 23 April 2009 22:26
Google newspaper Dizzy Nostalgia & memories 5 10 October 2008 14:54
NEC 421000-80 help please, Google useless! Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 9 21 July 2008 17:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24348 seconds with 11 queries