English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 June 2015, 00:38   #141
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 641
Gotek and HxC working together

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
SPS version, yes.

The Crystal, Two Live Crew and Nemesis cracks are all standard 880kb adf images, all which fail to to load the game at some point (tested working in WinUAE and real floppydisk).
Melnok version works, but as I wrote earlier it's the NTSC version which runs too slow on PAL hardware.

You cruel man, he had a weekend until you posted this.. Now he will be spending it debugging the firmware...

Last edited by Vot; 07 June 2015 at 14:50.
Vot is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 June 2015, 00:43   #142
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,810
Sorry about that that.

I have zoned the images just in case they're needed.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 07 June 2015, 16:33   #143
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
Is older fw available somewhere ?
I was trying to downgrade to 3.0.2.5a but could only find 3.0.3.0a fw.

[edit]
Thanks Danko for confirming the issue.
I confirm too. And here is a preliminar firmware correction :

http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...a_firmware.zip

It still have a problem time to time right after the intro screen, but you can anyway now start the game.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 07 June 2015, 16:34   #144
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 641
Gotek and HxC working together

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
I confirm too. And here is a preliminar firmware correction :

http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...a_firmware.zip

It still have a problem time to time right after the intro screen, but you can anyway now start the game.

Out of interest, whats the problem (with your firmware)? (Mfm decoding, timing etc)

Last edited by Vot; 07 June 2015 at 16:58.
Vot is offline  
Old 07 June 2015, 16:58   #145
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,810
Crystal crack gets stuck on the blue screen after the cracktro (Nincrystal screen) and gurus soon after that.
Two Live Crew crack gets stuck on a black screen after the Art & Magic intro has run and gurus after a while.

Nemesis crack seems to work fine now though.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 07 June 2015, 17:01   #146
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 37
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
Crystal crack gets stuck on the blue screen after the cracktro (Nincrystal screen) and gurus soon after that.
Two Live Crew crack gets stuck on a black screen after the Art & Magic intro has run and gurus after a while.

Nemesis crack seems to work fine now though.
Please post ADF file name tested.
danko is offline  
Old 07 June 2015, 17:13   #147
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,810
They're already in the zone.
Agony (Gotek HxC test).7z
Retroplay is offline  
Old 07 June 2015, 18:23   #148
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
I confirm too. And here is a preliminar firmware correction :

http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...a_firmware.zip

It still have a problem time to time right after the intro screen, but you can anyway now start the game.
Someone to test the new version ? :
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...a_firmware.zip
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 07 June 2015, 18:35   #149
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,810
It was the new 3.0.3.1a fw I tested.

These were the results:
Quote:
Crystal crack gets stuck on the blue screen after the cracktro (Nincrystal screen) and gurus soon after that.
Two Live Crew crack gets stuck on a black screen after the Art & Magic intro has run and gurus after a while.

Nemesis crack seems to work fine now though.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 16 June 2015, 20:22   #150
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 37
Posts: 87
Another game with disk change signal timing problem,tested other versions all have the same issue,have a latest hxc firmware flashed.

Risky Woods (1992)(Electronic Arts)[cr TRSi][t +4 Supplex](Disk 1 of 2)
Risky Woods (1992)(Electronic Arts)[cr TRSi][t +4 Supplex](Disk 2 of 2)
danko is offline  
Old 17 June 2015, 11:57   #151
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by danko View Post
Another game with disk change signal timing problem,tested other versions all have the same issue,have a latest hxc firmware flashed.

Risky Woods (1992)(Electronic Arts)[cr TRSi][t +4 Supplex](Disk 1 of 2)
Risky Woods (1992)(Electronic Arts)[cr TRSi][t +4 Supplex](Disk 2 of 2)

Hi,
Yes there is an IO timing issue with these games, and correct this by software correction will probably be hard.

Anyway there is a workaround for Agony and Risky Woods : Add a jumper on the MO jumper (So you will have S0 + MO).

The drawback of this solution is that you can't have other drive on the floppy bus.

(FYI the good old SD HxC don't have any issue with these game ).


BTW There is an firmware update :

Code:
17 June 2015: Firmware USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.0.4.0a

	- I2C LCD auto detection/scan and communication improved/corrected

	- Low level pulses generator improved :
		- Code size reduced.
		- 250Kbits/s, 300Kbits/s, 500Kbits/s support (FM/MFM).
		- Variable bitrate & flakey bit support "Ready" ;)
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...a_firmware.zip
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 17 June 2015, 11:59   #152
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
Hi,
Yes there is an IO timing issue with this game, and correct this by software correction will probably be hard.

Anyway there is a workaround for Agony and Risky Woods : Add a jumper on the MO jumper (So you will have S0 + MO).

The drawback of this solution is that you can't have other drive on the floppy bus.

(FYI the good old SD HxC don't have any issue with these game ).


BTW There is an firmware update :
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...a_firmware.zip
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...ease_notes.txt

Code:
17 June 2015: Firmware USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.0.4.0a  - I2C LCD auto detection/scan and communication improved/corrected  - Low level pulses generator improved : - Code size reduced. - 250Kbits/s, 300Kbits/s, 500Kbits/s support (FM/MFM). - Variable bitrate & flakey bit support "Ready" ;)

Is the io timing problem due to the hardware?
Vot is offline  
Old 17 June 2015, 12:36   #153
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
Yes there is an IO timing issue with these games, and correct this by software correction will probably be hard.
Hard but not impossible?

Quote:
- 250Kbits/s, 300Kbits/s, 500Kbits/s support (FM/MFM).
How can this be appreciated / what does it imply? Faster (selectable) loading speeds?

Quote:
- Variable bitrate & flakey bit support "Ready"
WOW!!
Supamax is offline  
Old 17 June 2015, 13:07   #154
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 36
Posts: 5,854
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
How can this be appreciated / what does it imply? Faster (selectable) loading speeds?
Just different encodings for different disk formats.
Jope is offline  
Old 17 June 2015, 17:59   #155
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
Anyway there is a workaround for Agony and Risky Woods : Add a jumper on the MO jumper (So you will have S0 + MO).
Agony IPF 0960 works like a champ now in 3.0.4.0 fw.
Thanks.

Btw, is it possible to disable writeprotection on converted IPF to HFE disks (e.g highscore saving on Agony disk 2) ?
Retroplay is offline  
Old 26 June 2015, 00:51   #156
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,295
Hi All,

Rather than repost this, i'll just give you a link to the post.

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...7&postcount=42
kipper2k is offline  
Old 27 June 2015, 21:17   #157
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 353
I'll also hijack this thread a bit.

Some of you might remember, but I recently produced new external floppy drives. I've got a lot of questions if just the case and interface will be offered, for the purpose of installation of Gotek.

And indeed, case+interface kit, ready to install Gotek will soon be available at RetroAmi! I did a lot of testing recently, so far it is 100% compatible with Gotek with HxC firmware installed.

strim is offline  
Old 29 June 2015, 11:56   #158
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 228
Hi,

FYI I moved the HxC software sources to github recently :

https://github.com/jfdelnero

https://github.com/jfdelnero/HXCFE_Amiga_file_selector

https://github.com/jfdelnero/libhxcfe

https://github.com/jfdelnero/HxCFloppyEmulator_software

I am also doing something different with the gotek. Some news soon .
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 30 June 2015, 15:58   #159
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
Hi,

FYI I moved the HxC software sources to github recently :

https://github.com/jfdelnero

https://github.com/jfdelnero/HXCFE_Amiga_file_selector

https://github.com/jfdelnero/libhxcfe

https://github.com/jfdelnero/HxCFloppyEmulator_software

I am also doing something different with the gotek. Some news soon .
You Damn tease ! LoL
supaduper is offline  
Old 07 July 2015, 00:26   #160
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 37
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
Hi Jeff! i have a I2C board + LCD display how to connect the wire?
Latest firmware flashed v3.0.5.1a
Connected VCC and GND on the programming connector.
SDA and SCL on the J7 position,tried SDA and SCL with resistors 4.7k ohm same problem.
But when I turn on the amiga the display do not appear characters.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	display.jpg
Views:	234
Size:	271.8 KB
ID:	44667  

Last edited by danko; 10 July 2015 at 01:19.
danko is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gotek Floppy emulators and Amiga computers now working together! :) H.M News 662 20 December 2016 19:46
Show us your drive emulator mods (Gotek/HxC/etc) ADz Hardware mods 92 27 October 2016 21:50
Gotek Extension Board - Prototype ready and working perfectly, pics & video Mounty Retrogaming General Discussion 5 04 November 2014 12:05
Gotek floppy emulator not working Cooljerk support.Hardware 10 16 October 2014 09:27
HxC Floppy Emulator for CDTV, cannot get DF0 and DF1 working CDTV1991 support.Hardware 0 05 October 2011 15:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20279 seconds with 12 queries