English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 May 2015, 21:59   #81
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 37
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga1260 View Post
I just get my USB flash adapter from Kevin Mount.

Does the HxC firmware also auto sort the files by name?

For example:

I put the file Superman.adf on the USB stick and after that I put Superfrog.adf.

Will it be first Superfrog and then Superman?
If you want to sort ADF files in alphabetical order on the USB stick or sdcard use this program Drive Sort.
http://www.anerty.net/dl/DriveSort_en.zip
danko is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 May 2015, 23:04   #82
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,278
Here is a pic of my new floppy emulator, it will support Jeffs and HM's Amiga FW and all amigas, should be about 2 weeks till release, price.. will be good. There is also an external version coming too... small, enclosed, no adapter needed and no cables required


it should fit in Atari too, just waiting for verification

Last edited by kipper2k; 21 May 2015 at 23:10.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 22 May 2015, 14:13   #83
K-teto
 
Posts: n/a
And once again, Kipper2k, you are a god among men, a light being XDD
You'll get an email as soon as it's finished, I need a cd32-psx pad adapter also, so, I'll wait for that and order them together.

If you add "no amiga case butchering required" you have my eternal gratitude.

Last edited by K-teto; 22 May 2015 at 18:33.
 
Old 22 May 2015, 23:29   #84
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 50
Posts: 1,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Here is a pic of my new floppy emulator, it will support Jeffs and HM's Amiga FW and all amigas, should be about 2 weeks till release, price.. will be good. There is also an external version coming too... small, enclosed, no adapter needed and no cables required

it should fit in Atari too, just waiting for verification
Send one to me and I'll verify the Atari
Methanoid is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 12:13   #85
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferix View Post
I have to say that I'm very impressed by the quality of the firmware you did...

but I have a question, why different firmwares for different formats (.ADF, .ST, .DSK?)?
doesn't the STM32 have power and room enough for all them just in one firmware?

I know it's easy to change between firmware versions, but I would prefer to have a more universal "quick test unit"...
The current firmware (ADF+HFE) take already ~90KB, the bootloader ~27KB, This is a 128KB device. So i am not sure that all will fit into the internal flash.
There is twice the flash space of the PIC18, but the ARM instructions opcodes are twice longer, and the USB Stack take a lot more than the SD Card "stack". (The SD HXC bootloader for the PIC18 take 4KB, with the FAT32 support versus 27KB for the same functionnality into the STM32).

Last edited by Jeff_HxC2001; 23 May 2015 at 12:28.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 12:27   #86
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by danko View Post
Thank you Jeff! flash my Gotek with HxC firmware,have a problem with disk change detection, Arabian Nights when select second disk do not boot,anyone can try this game? the other multidisk games work without any problem.
Here is the firmware update :

Code:
23 may 2015: Firmware USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.0.2.2a

    - Amiga Disk change timing corrected. (Goal!, Arabian Nights, and probably other titles)
    - The last disk selected is now saved to the USB Stick.
    - Long press on one button allows to select the manager disk (000).
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d....html#stm32hxc

Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 12:51   #87
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 37
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
Here is the firmware update :

Code:
23 may 2015: Firmware USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.0.2.2a

    - Amiga Disk change timing corrected. (Goal!, Arabian Nights, and probably other titles)
    - The last disk selected is now saved to the USB Stick.
    - Long press on one button allows to select the manager disk (000).
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d....html#stm32hxc

Hi,Jeff new firmware work perfectly with Arabian Nights!!!!!
danko is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 12:58   #88
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
The current firmware (ADF+HFE) take already ~90KB, the bootloader ~27KB, This is a 128KB device. So i am not sure that all will fit into the internal flash.
There is twice the flash space of the PIC18, but the ARM instructions opcodes are twice longer, and the USB Stack take a lot more than the SD Card "stack". (The SD HXC bootloader for the PIC18 take 4KB, with the FAT32 support versus 27KB for the same functionnality into the STM32).

Unlike others i have no problem with one platform (amiga,st etc) per firmware.. Unless your moving your gotek between machines its no problem.. And hell they are so cheap buy one for each computer....
Vot is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 13:35   #89
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 798
Argh, Avast and Immunet AV both think the "Online BootLoader programmer" is a virus:

Infection type: Win32:Malware-gen

Link: http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...rialBridge.zip
dJOS is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 13:44   #90
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 58
Posts: 3,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
Argh, Avast and Immunet AV both think the "Online BootLoader programmer" is a virus:

Infection type: Win32:Malware-gen

Link: http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...rialBridge.zip
Turn them off while you flash it.
Arnie is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 13:51   #91
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
Argh, Avast and Immunet AV both think the "Online BootLoader programmer" is a virus:

Infection type: Win32:Malware-gen

Link: http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...rialBridge.zip
Each time you pack an exe you got these kind of false alerts... For sure there is no malware in this, but sure that its structure are similar to a malware (packed, connection to an external server, custom / alien communication protocol...)
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 13:52   #92
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 798
Yeah it's nuts!
dJOS is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 13:53   #93
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
Each time you pack an exe you got these kind of false alerts... For sure there is no malware in this, but sure that its structure are similar to a malware (packed, connection to an external server, custom / alien communication protocol...)

Upx packed ?
Vot is offline  
Old 24 May 2015, 11:15   #94
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 386
can someone answer a couple of questions please regarding the excellent Gotek HxC system, 1. does the Amiga play the .HFE format . 2. If it does play .HFE how do I convert the Kryoflux .IPF file to HFE ?.

I tried using the software prog to convert supplied with the firmware to convert say `Quak` and it will not work/play, also the converted file ends up being 2mb surely it should be 880k ?

any guidance appreciated
supaduper is offline  
Old 25 May 2015, 17:30   #95
K-teto
 
Posts: n/a
Oh, just a question.
Does it have sound? I mean, the disk drive sound.
I really like it.
You could make it so the user can switch it on and off it they like.
 
Old 25 May 2015, 17:37   #96
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by K-teto View Post
Oh, just a question.
Does it have sound? I mean, the disk drive sound.
I really like it.
You could make it so the user can switch it on and off it they like.
Even though Jeff does not recommend them ,I have a buzzer working on my Amiga HxC USB gotek
supaduper is offline  
Old 25 May 2015, 18:25   #97
TuKo
Apollo Test Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 142
Hi guys, i have a gotek with fw 1.05. Which usb unit do i need to flash it to hxc ?
TuKo is offline  
Old 25 May 2015, 19:33   #98
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuKo View Post
Hi guys, i have a gotek with fw 1.05. Which usb unit do i need to flash it to hxc ?
you need something like this

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Gotek-Driv...item1c50ee42e4

Last edited by supaduper; 25 May 2015 at 20:49.
supaduper is offline  
Old 25 May 2015, 20:29   #99
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 43
Posts: 1,205
I guess I am overlooking something here:

- reflashed the Gotek with the online flasher from Jeff > OK
- added the latest v3.0.2.2a upd file to a USB stick and inserted it
- powered on A500 (2 buttons pushed)
- nice led animation, followed by "Ldr" and then a lot of animation (I guess the bootloader flash)
- now finished, powered off Amiga and on again, now it shows HxC on display

So what now?

I added the AUTOBOOT.HFE and some HFE and ADF files, but I just have the standard workbench 2.05 insert disk screen, and Gotek display is showing HxC. I see USB stick led blink when I push buttons but screen remains HxC and nothing happens. (not even 000 is displayed)

With the HxC drive I needed to save a CFG file with the tool, but how to do this with the Gotek edition? do I need the drive connected to a PC first??

Last edited by dirkies; 25 May 2015 at 20:40.
dirkies is offline  
Old 25 May 2015, 20:46   #100
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 386
just drag the `Amiga.`cfg file to the usb stick and its like the gotek when its booted just press and hold the one of the buttons till 000 comes up and it will boot to the loader screen

Last edited by supaduper; 25 May 2015 at 21:10.
supaduper is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gotek Floppy emulators and Amiga computers now working together! :) H.M News 656 15 November 2016 01:29
Show us your drive emulator mods (Gotek/HxC/etc) ADz Hardware mods 92 27 October 2016 21:50
Gotek Extension Board - Prototype ready and working perfectly, pics & video Mounty Retrogaming General Discussion 5 04 November 2014 12:05
Gotek floppy emulator not working Cooljerk support.Hardware 10 16 October 2014 09:27
HxC Floppy Emulator for CDTV, cannot get DF0 and DF1 working CDTV1991 support.Hardware 0 05 October 2011 15:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27576 seconds with 12 queries