English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 May 2015, 16:36   #1
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Finally got one!

After years of trying to get one I finally got myself an A1200 from the UK at a reasonable price. Never wanter an NTSC model really. Don't even know if they sold that many NTSC machine in the first pace. The case is pristine but with a bit of yellow on the key, which funny enough, is limited to the center row of keys from A to L.
The HDD that I bought on the other bay was scrap but I have a CF kit on order from Amigakit, a brand new set of OS 3.1 floppy and also an ethernet pmcia card.
I'll try to use my actual scandoubler with it and if it isn't satisfactory I'll replace it with the indivision one.
I'm also planning to buy an accelerator/ram expansion when for my birthday come july.
I presently use an A500 north american PSU, but I've ordered some ATX connector, switches and some board to mount the one and I'll use them to convert a PC atx psu for the A1200. That way it won't be power starved.

I mostly bought it for programming in C and Assembly, but of course I'll play games too

I may let go both of my A1000 or maybe keep one as a spare but those machine are really hard to update.
Those are stock with the 256k front expansion. I can't seem to be able to find a side ram expansion anywhere in any case.

I did bought a Gotek floppy thingy but I can't seem to be able to make it work. The menu appear, I scroll to an entry and type enter but then nothing happens and the display shows H - C... I do have about 30 boxes of brand new floppy disk so I don't really mind as I can manage in the mean time, but if someone has any hint on what may be going wrong I would greatly appreciate it.

I also got a few boxed game, nothing fancy. F-19 with a pretty damaged box, Eye of the beholder (Kixx edition), Ogre (I played the table top game when I was younger but never the computer one) and UFO enemy unknown. I've already got plenty of stuff from the EAB ftp over the years but it's nice to have the uncraked and boxed original version in my library.
Nosferax is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 May 2015, 16:47   #2
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Some A500 side RAM expantions should work on your A1000 if you reverse them.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 01 May 2015, 16:52   #3
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromania View Post
Some A500 side RAM expantions should work on your A1000 if you reverse them.
Yeah I didn't think about that. In worst case I could pull out the pcb and repackage it in a home made case that would sit better on the side of the A1000.

Thanks for the suggestion. I wonder of the A590 HDD would work in the same way on an A1000?
Nosferax is offline  
Old 01 May 2015, 17:35   #4
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosferax View Post
Yeah I didn't think about that. In worst case I could pull out the pcb and repackage it in a home made case that would sit better on the side of the A1000.

Thanks for the suggestion. I wonder of the A590 HDD would work in the same way on an A1000?
Kipper2K does a fastram/ide internal expansion too... he's located in Canada so at least shipping will be cheap

http://kipper2k.com/a500fastmem.html
Paul_s is offline  
Old 01 May 2015, 17:47   #5
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
Kipper2K does a fastram/ide internal expansion too... he's located in Canada so at least shipping will be cheap

http://kipper2k.com/a500fastmem.html
I did find out about him while researching, but I seem to have read that he was taking a break or was too tied up in real life work to work on those at the moment...
Nosferax is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It seems we will finally get to play this Adropac2 News 20 24 July 2009 00:17
finally gone through all my originals... icewizard2k5 project.SPS (was CAPS) 2 14 March 2005 19:33
Yes! it finally works! keropi Amiga scene 3 24 December 2004 08:55
Finally!!!!! Twistin'Ghost MarketPlace 5 13 July 2002 05:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11674 seconds with 11 queries