English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 April 2015, 18:48   #1
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 46
Posts: 824
best way transferring a real A-1200 hd to WinUAE ?

Hey Amiga girls and guys,

I haven't been that active in the Amiga scene over the last years, so I please forgive me if this has been asked a hundreds of times before:

I would like to know the best/easiest/fastest way to transfer my real Amiga 1200 setup (4GB CF-card with WB 3.0 and WHDLoad installed) to WinUAE on the PC ?

Reason is that I would like to play some old dungeouncrawler games together with a friend via teamviewer
(one is playing, while the other one is drawing the maps, hehe)

Is there perhaps some easy PC tool to create a .HDF image or something from my CF-card ?
Or a converter, that can read Amiga filesystem from the CF-card, and transfer all files to a standard Windows folder, which I can then include in WinUAE ?

I remember at least there was one tool that allowed to read the files inside a HDF image on the PC (it also allowed to read Amiga files inside ADFs, btw.), so I hope there would be something available to read the CF-card directly ?

I really don't want to go thru all that tedious setting up of WB, WHDLoad, etc. on the PC again, when I already have everything ready on my real Amiga.

Thanks for all your help!
Overdoc is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 April 2015, 20:10   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,682
WinUAE has built-in HDF file creator under Add Harddrive option. Source can be any Windows supported storage device, HD, CF etc.

Or mount it as a HD in emulation and boot from some WB installation (I recommend not to boot from your CF, it may have some hardware specific stuff and it may cause problems unless your emulation config matches it 100%) and copy all required files from CF to directory harddrive using normal CLI commands or some file manager utility.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 April 2015, 20:19   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
You can use imaging tool such as WinImage to create a VHD File which can be used with WinUAE (mount as Hardfile) Since it will be exactly as your CF card Toni's advice about booting above would still apply.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 23 April 2015, 11:42   #4
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 46
Posts: 824
That looks perfect, I will image my CF card with WinImage (I imaged it with some other PC tool before, but I think the file is not in VHD format, but something else ?!)
WinUAE really has become great! I had no idea that such things were already possible.

Thanks a lot Toni and Steve!
Overdoc is offline  
Old 23 April 2015, 13:02   #5
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
When you use winuae to copy the card the hdf file is just a raw dump of all sectors on the card (just like if you had used dd).
Vot is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem transferring WHDLOAD games to CF using WinUAE 2.8 eebuckeye support.WinUAE 22 19 May 2014 21:24
Real 1200 Slower vs WinUAE 1200 Same settings... Pioneer500 support.Hardware 4 11 May 2013 15:43
Preparing 8gb CF in Winuae for transfer to real Amiga 1200 Molcos New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 09 March 2008 18:12
differences in ram consuming winuae vs real 1200 _ThEcRoW support.WinUAE 9 02 May 2006 13:01
Transferring files to a real Amiga w/ Null Modem cable agent_jdh New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 01 July 2003 09:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20224 seconds with 11 queries