English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 April 2015, 14:15   #1
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,483
Oktagon 2008: HDInstTools reports drive unsupported

I'm testing Oktagon 2008 emulation (ROM 6.12). Running HDInstTools from Oktagon-32.dms or the earlier version on Oktagon-215.dms reports that the 20MB HDF is unsupported. The HDF is just a blank/all-zero file.

With -scsiemulog it seems HDInstTools issues MODE SENSE (6) for page $0C (notch page). WinUAE seems to be correctly fail that, and lots of real drives won't support that page. HDInstTools also issues a SEEK (10) which WinUAE fails, but again surely there are real drives which don't support that command.

Any idea what the problem might be? SCSI log output on running HDInstTools:
Code:
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 12.00.00.00.04.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=4 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=4
REPLY: 00.00.02.02.
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 08.00.00.00.01.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=512 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 12.00.00.00.24.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=36 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=36
REPLY: 00.00.02.02.20.00.00.00.55.41.45.20.20.20.20.20.6F.6B.74.61.67.6F.6E.5F.32.30.30.38.5F.32.30.20.30.2E.34.20.
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 25.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=10 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=8 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=8
REPLY: 00.00.9F.FF.00.00.02.00.
SCSIEMU HD 0: 1A.00.04.00.FF.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=36 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=36
REPLY: 23.00.00.08.00.00.A0.00.00.00.02.00.04.16.00.00.A2.04.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.A2.00.00.00.15.18.00.00.
SCSIEMU HD 0: 1A.00.03.00.FF.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=36 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=36
REPLY: 23.00.00.08.00.00.A0.00.00.00.02.00.03.16.00.01.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.3F.02.00.00.01.00.00.00.00.80.00.00.00.
SCSIEMU HD 0: 1A.00.00.00.04.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=4 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=4
REPLY: 0F.00.00.08.
SCSIEMU HD 0: 37.00.14.00.00.00.00.00.0C.00.00.00 CMDLEN=10 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=4 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=4
REPLY: 00.00.00.00.
SCSIEMU HD 0: 37.00.0C.00.00.00.00.00.0C.00.00.00 CMDLEN=10 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=4 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=4
REPLY: 00.00.00.00.
SCSIEMU HD 0: 1A.00.0C.00.FF.00.00.00.0C.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
UAEHF: unsupported scsi command 0x1A LUN=0
-> SENSE STATUS: KEY=5 ASC=24 ASCQ=00
70.00.05.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.24.00.00.00.00.00.
-> DATAOUT=-1 ST=2 SENSELEN=18 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 03.00.00.00.12.00.00.00.0C.00.00.00 CMDLEN=0 DATA=00000000
REQUEST SENSE length 18 (18)
70.00.05.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.24.00.00.00.00.00
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.0C.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 2B.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=10 DATA=068E3010
UAEHF: unsupported scsi command 0x2B LUN=0
-> SENSE STATUS: KEY=5 ASC=24 ASCQ=00
70.00.05.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.24.00.00.00.00.00.
-> DATAOUT=-1 ST=2 SENSELEN=18 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 25.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=10 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=8 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=8
REPLY: 00.00.9F.FF.00.00.02.00.
SCSIEMU HD 0: 08.00.00.00.01.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=068E3010
-> DATAOUT=512 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
mark_k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 April 2015, 14:33   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,565
If other ncr53c94 (or compatible) based HD controller works: it is not emulation problem. Possibly driver returns something unexpected (which can't be seen in the logs).

(Also personally I consider hdinsttools too broken)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 April 2015, 18:55   #3
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,483
I started looking at the HDInstTools code, but figuring out exactly where it fails is not proving to be easy...

This probably isn't the cause of the problem, but in response to a SEEK (10) command you return sense key 05, ASC/ASCQ 24/00 which means ILLEGAL REQUEST / INVALID FIELD IN CDB. The SCSI-2 spec (s2-r10l.pdf) doesn't seem to state what error should be returned if the host issues a command that the device doesn't support. But 20/00 INVALID COMMAND OPERATION CODE sounds like it would be a better match.

One Seagate product manual, which was probably based on a later SCSI spec, says "If a device server receives a CDB containing an operation code that is invalid or not supported, the command shall be terminated with CHECK CONDITION status, with the sense key set to ILLEGAL REQUEST, and the additional sense code set to INVALID COMMAND OPERATION CODE."
mark_k is offline  
Old 03 April 2015, 19:03   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,565
Perhaps but exact same scsi emulation code is also used for uaehf.device and no one has complained about hdinsttools not working.

(But seek still should return ok status)

EDIT: Seek (6) and (10) implemented.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 03 April 2015 at 19:10.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 April 2015, 19:29   #5
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,483
HDInstTools still not working.

The Oktagon driver seems pretty lame. I can't even use HDToolBox with it; HDToolBox says "Error -4 on write!" on clicking Save Changes to Drive.

And on clicking Verify Data on Drive there is a small amount of SCSI activity then a crash of the emulated machine.
Code:
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 12.00.00.00.04.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=4 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=4
REPLY: 00.00.02.02.
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 08.00.00.00.01.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=512 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 25.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=10 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=8 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=8
REPLY: 00.00.9F.FF.00.00.02.00.
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 12.00.00.00.04.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=4 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=4
REPLY: 00.00.02.02.
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 08.00.00.00.01.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=512 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=6 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
SCSIEMU HD 0: 2F.00.00.00.00.00.00.A0.00.00.00.00 CMDLEN=10 DATA=06814528
-> DATAOUT=0 ST=0 SENSELEN=0 REPLYLEN=0
Exception 3 (2011 205854) at 205854 -> f80ad0!
(The 20MB HDF I'm using has $A000 sectors.)

Last edited by mark_k; 03 April 2015 at 19:34.
mark_k is offline  
Old 03 April 2015, 23:34   #6
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Have you tried these tests using a real HD (CF or HD)?

I have found that (sometimes) you get different results when setting up CF cards. i.e Setup software wont work on HDF but will with real card attached.
Arnie is offline  
Old 04 April 2015, 08:04   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,565
Did you try it with 68020+ CPU? Crash is caused by odd word or long word access that 68000/010 does not support.

It is SCSI controller. CF needs IDE to SCSI adapter and if there is any difference between CF and real SCSI HD: Adapter is buggy.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oktagon 2008 no-ROM option mark_k support.WinUAE 1 02 April 2015 20:26
Oktagon 2008/A2000 radzik Hardware mods 5 03 March 2009 16:25
Oktagon 2008 Rev.7 Board Drake008@ support.Hardware 5 11 April 2007 22:52
Cdrom with Oktagon 2008 controller..how? Nick99 support.Apps 12 10 April 2007 11:46
For Sale: Oktagon 2008 Zorro II SCSI controller Smiley MarketPlace 0 18 September 2006 19:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13523 seconds with 11 queries