English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 April 2015, 07:34   #1
Zerotech
Registered User
Zerotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 59
Send a message via Skype™ to Zerotech
My Review on the Amiga 500

Technically it's a 2nd review since the 1st amiga I got was damaged, but since then I've managed to get a 2nd amiga computer and it works like a treat.

What I will decide on the other one that is undergoing repairs is that I will either sell it or donate it.

Video Link: [ Show youtube player ]
Zerotech is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 April 2015, 02:22   #2
Zerotech
Registered User
Zerotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 59
Send a message via Skype™ to Zerotech
UPDATE: My testing of the sound capabilities
Video Link: [ Show youtube player ]

R-Type Demonstration
Video Link: [ Show youtube player ]
Zerotech is offline  
Old 03 April 2015, 05:07   #3
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 121
The Amiga 500 does have built in colour output, in the form of RGB analogue video. This is similar to VGA (although at TV video frequency) as used by most computers to attach to monitors in the pre-digital interconnect era. Your TV may not have RGB video input but just about every TV in Europe does in the form of a SCART connector. For Televisions with SCART only a few resistors are required to build a video lead with excellent picture quality. Please do not recommend the use of the video modulator to those that don't require it. Your problem with sound over RF could be due to the wrong type of modulator as PAL has many variants that have different sound carrier spacing.

The mono composite video output built in to the A500 is there to allow use of a high persistence monochrome monitor with interlace video modes for reduced flicker.
IanP is offline  
Old 03 April 2015, 06:03   #4
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Please don't recommend a modulator to those who do require one either. An RGB SCART to YUV converter will give you a far better picture.

Why on earth are you using RF?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 03 April 2015, 06:59   #5
Zerotech
Registered User
Zerotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 59
Send a message via Skype™ to Zerotech
Well the point of an RF is to use it on TV's that only have an RF Output. I realised that it was a bad idea. My TV does not have a scart connection there I cannot use a scart cable.

I only said that you don't use the rf output when you have av composite available, what I would complain is that the av output built-in from the amiga 500 should be in colour so we don't have to use the Amiga 520 adapter. So in a way you have to use the adapter if you want colour on composite.

In Australia we don't have scart tvs or connections to it but you can import them but at a hefty price.
Zerotech is offline  
Old 03 April 2015, 14:53   #6
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 621
I have actually aquired two 14 inch CRT TV's for the purpose of my retro stuff. One of them gives a superb picture using a Scart RGB cable. The other one does not show a perfectly still picture. I have ordered a couple of modified scart cables to try on that one. To do Amiga games justice you really need CRT. btw, back in the days I actually was using a 14 inch CRT TV with scart connection, while my friends where using a TV modulator RF connection. RF looks like crap compared to scart. Scart is almost as good (providing you get a perfectly still picture) as an old Amiga monitor, like the 1084S.

I am using an ECS Scandoubler on one of my 500s together with a 19 inch LCD screen. Even if I use scanline emulating, when comparing it to my 14 inch Scart RGB TV it is totally inferior. One could just aswell just use Winuae on a PC. For the most part I will stick to my two CRT TV's with scart. 14 inch CRT TV's with scart is perfect as they are the same size as the old Amiga monitors. I wouldn't want any bigger CRT TV's than this. Of course, if I get hold of a Commodore 1084S I would use that one, but I would not spend to much time trying to get one. Amiga games was made for CRTs, simple as that.

Edit: Got hold of a 14 inch CRT monitor from a 1998 PC today. Looks good when connected to my scandoubler. But not sure if it's better VS my Scart to RGB connected TV. TV has very strong and sharp colors.

Last edited by turrican9; 04 April 2015 at 00:33.
turrican9 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just got an Amiga 500 for review, sort of... Zerotech Amiga scene 8 26 March 2015 20:31
Amiga 500 and gvp 500 hd advise.. 0Danne0 support.Hardware 5 27 February 2014 13:15
Compatibility with Amiga 500 and 500+ games ErickDF Amiga scene 2 23 May 2008 21:16
WTB: Amiga 600, 500, 500 +, 1200 (NTSC) JeremyDay MarketPlace 2 30 November 2006 04:27
Amiga DE Review Amigaboy Amiga scene 8 09 November 2001 05:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19703 seconds with 11 queries