English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 March 2015, 07:04   #1
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 970
Does AmigaOS share anything in common with Workbench?

Hi all, I'm just curious if the latest AmigaOS has anything technically in common with the last Amiga Workbench back in the 80s/90s? Is there any shared code, or anything else dormant, or does it only share the Amiga name nowadays?
Starglider 2 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 March 2015, 07:53   #2
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,112
Technically they are pretty much the same, only that Workbench in AmigaOS4.1FE is for PowerPC.

http://www.amigaforever.com/kb/15-108
kolla is online now  
Old 28 March 2015, 07:59   #3
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 970
Interesting. If that's the case, what percentage of the code would you say remains?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 28 March 2015, 08:04   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,661
100%. They had the source code of AmigaOS 3.1. Assembler parts were rewritten in C, then everything was compiled for PowerPC. They fixed bugs and added new features, but the code base is still the same.
thomas is offline  
Old 28 March 2015, 08:07   #5
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 970
That's fascinating. Just to clarify, we're talking about the original Workbench such as 1.3 and 2.0 for the A500 sharing the same codebase as 4.1?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 28 March 2015, 08:20   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,661
Yes. AmigaOS 4 is not only the official but also the true successor of AmigaOS 3 while MorphOS and AROS were made from scratch by third parties.
thomas is offline  
Old 28 March 2015, 08:21   #7
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 970
Very cool! It's heartening to know it's still being used and popular.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 28 March 2015, 09:19   #8
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Very cool! It's heartening to know it's still being used and popular.
I wouldn't say it's popular. The hardware required to run it is extremely expensive.

MorphOS is a lot more popular as it runs on PPC Macs.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 29 March 2015, 19:00   #9
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 970
I see. What percentage of Workbench 2.0 does MorphOS share?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 30 March 2015, 09:23   #10
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
I see. What percentage of Workbench 2.0 does MorphOS share?
Was answered above:

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
MorphOS and AROS were made from scratch by third parties.
0%
Jope is offline  
Old 30 March 2015, 09:36   #11
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 970
So MorphOS has as as much in common with real original Amiga computing as Windows Mobile. It may be more popular than AmigaOS, but then so is Mac OS X, which can also emulate Amiga. But neither have anything to do with Commodore.

I appreciate the fact that the legacy lives on. If I were to use an Amiga OS, I know which one it'd be. :-)

Last edited by Starglider 2; 30 March 2015 at 19:50.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 30 March 2015, 10:41   #12
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,661
MorphOS can run 68k Amiga software.

Amiga software can be compiled for MorphOS without source code changes (almost).

The latter is also true for AROS (that's the intention behind AROS).
thomas is offline  
Old 30 March 2015, 12:06   #13
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 30
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
MorphOS can run 68k Amiga software.

Amiga software can be compiled for MorphOS without source code changes (almost).

The latter is also true for AROS (that's the intention behind AROS).
I suppose that the same is true for AOS4.x as well?
jbenam is offline  
Old 30 March 2015, 12:25   #14
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,661
Sure.
thomas is offline  
Old 31 March 2015, 10:23   #15
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 30
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Sure.
Cheers. I should buy an AmigaOS 4.1FE license and start playing with WinUAE then

...or maybe finally repair that BlizzardPPC I've got.
jbenam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tutorial:- Large Disk Support for Classic Workbench & AmigaOS fitzsteve project.ClassicWB 6 26 April 2014 15:20
Some info wanted about common trackloaders Dennis Coders. General 6 22 November 2007 19:47
Not sure if it's WinUAE or common 060 problem Doc Mindie support.WinUAE 3 08 October 2007 16:39
Developer environment (common task ;) nemazoty Coders. General 5 11 February 2006 12:28
The continued rape of the common man Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 14 30 September 2002 15:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08282 seconds with 12 queries