English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 March 2015, 12:33   #1
Brick Nash
Registered User

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 149
Object not found

Hi folks,

I'm trying to install WHDload so I can plaster some games in my virtual hard drive.

I'm following [ Show youtube player ] tutorial on youtube and everything is fine up until I have to go into the shell and change directory to a partition that I call 'stuff' (funnily enough also called stuff in the tutorial)

When I type in cd stuff I get "Object not found" and it returns to the prompt.

Not sure what to do now. Do I need to put some sort of pointer file in the partition so it can be found?

Thanks!
Brick Nash is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 March 2015, 12:57   #2
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 606
Partitions in Workbench have `Volume ` names Like DH0: DH1:
so if you had a Dir called stuff it will be: CD DH0:stuff
so you must state the `Volume` first


**Edit

You can call your `Volume` anything you want but in the Amiga world its good protocol to use DH0, DH1,DH3 its what most of us do.
so if you named your volume stuff then its , CD stuff:

Last edited by supaduper; 22 March 2015 at 13:23.
supaduper is online now  
Old 22 March 2015, 13:32   #3
Brick Nash
Registered User

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 149
Bugger, I wasn't putting the colon afterwards. Bit of a reddy there!

My Vhard drive is called DH1 when I go to properties and the HD controller is UAE but it's UAE that shows up in the device column of the CD and hard drive section. I take it this is ok?
Brick Nash is offline  
Old 22 March 2015, 13:36   #4
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 606
Yes its ok cos it a uaehf (UAE Hard file, I.E HDF )
supaduper is online now  
Old 22 March 2015, 14:44   #5
Brick Nash
Registered User

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 149
Brilliant thanks for your help! (Again!)
Brick Nash is offline  
Old 22 March 2015, 17:13   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,508
DH0, DH1 etc. are not volume names (hopefully).

There are several software layers involved: first is the hardware driver, uaehf.device in this case, which sees the hard drive entirely. Then you define partitions with names like DH0 which are mounted in AmigaDOS. These are called device names or drive names. Finally you format a partition and give it a volume name. This is usually something nice like Workbench or System or Work or Stuff. Volume names appear on the desktop, but the volumes can be accessed by using the partition name, too. The concept is built with removable devices in mind, for example the floppy drive is called DF0 and the name cannot be changed, but each floppy disk has its own volume name.

You should not give a volume the same name as a partition (i.e. both DH0 or both Stuff) because AmigaDOS easily gets confused by duplicate names.
thomas is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Object width mritter0 Coders. C/C++ 2 19 September 2014 23:06
Hired Guns WHDload Error #205 (object not found) on writing "SavedGames/Track00"? dex support.Games 11 09 August 2012 13:55
UAE Dos Error #205 (object not found)..... (?) DC33 support.Games 8 09 June 2008 09:05
"DOS-Error #205 (object not found) on reading "devs:kickstarts/kick 40068.a4000" Brutal_dentist New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 03 April 2005 23:12
"DOS-Error #205 (object not found) on reading "devs:kickstarts/kick 40068.a4000" Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 22 December 2004 09:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12367 seconds with 11 queries