English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 April 2015, 21:54   #101
Megol
Registered User

Megol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: inside the emulator
Posts: 253
So you complain that using a standard menu that is clearly labeled isn't discoverable? Honestly that seems like complaining for its own sake.
Megol is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 April 2015, 23:18   #102
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
it's not clearly labelled. it is completely unlabelled. there is no menu bar.

the standard way to resize a window is just to drag it with the mouse, not to open a hidden dialog and type a number into a box. i'm obviously not the only one to have this problem given there's a thread on StackOverflow about it.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 06 April 2015, 00:45   #103
Megol
Registered User

Megol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: inside the emulator
Posts: 253
Properties/Layout isn't labeled?

The reason you can't drag to size is backwards compatibility with programs expecting a 80 characters wide text screen. But adjust the screen buffer width and then one can drag it up to the buffer size. The difference? If one does that then it's the _user_ that selects to have less compatibility by default. And compatibility have been MS bread and butter.

BTW the Unix solution to resizing is frankly a hack. The MS solution have less chance of failing but isn't really a good solution either.
Megol is offline  
Old 07 April 2015, 17:06   #104
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthWay View Post
Did you read the Andy Finkel article about CAOS from Amiga Transactor #1?
Check it out here if not: http://www.thule.no/haynie/caos.html
I read it years ago, but never took the resource tracking bit seriously since it was never implemented. Which OS had resource tracking in 1985, BTW?
idrougge is offline  
Old 07 April 2015, 17:11   #105
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Yeah, from AS225 through AmiTCP to RoadShow, all IP stacks on Amiga are just bad ports.
For obvious reasons, I've never run AS225, but I have run AmiTCP since 1994, still do, and have it on original disks with (quite good) documentation.
And of course it was a bad port. In order to put TCP/IP in AmigaOS, NSDI basically took half of the BSD kernel, as well as much of the userland including etc/passwd, bin/ls, and ported it to the Amiga, which faciliatated a lot of bad ports from UNIX. Credit where credit's due, they also made a lot of good adaptations, such as file notification support, an ARexx interface and so on.
RoadShow seems to take a different approach, dispensing with the AMITCP:db directory and arcade commands.
idrougge is offline  
Old 07 April 2015, 18:41   #106
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Which OS had resource tracking in 1985, BTW?
Erm... was that a rhetoric question?

Anything multiuser probably. Unixen, VMS, MVS. GECOS?
Not sure about OS-9. Probably not Lisa.
NorthWay is offline  
Old 07 April 2015, 19:20   #107
Megol
Registered User

Megol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: inside the emulator
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthWay View Post
Erm... was that a rhetoric question?

Anything multiuser probably. Unixen, VMS, MVS. GECOS?
Not sure about OS-9. Probably not Lisa.
Don't forget Mac OS. It used a "handle" mechanism for tracking (essentially a indirection of pointers). I would be surprised if Lisa didn't use the same mechanism.
Also QNX, DESQview (at least partially) and IIRC even the original GEOS.
Megol is offline  
Old 07 April 2015, 20:58   #108
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
there's nothing mystical about resource tracking, it doesn't require an MMU, i've thought about patching it into Exec myself just to prove it.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 07 April 2015, 22:15   #109
Megol
Registered User

Megol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: inside the emulator
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
there's nothing mystical about resource tracking, it doesn't require an MMU, i've thought about patching it into Exec myself just to prove it.
Indeed.
BTW wasn't the intention that CAOS would build on the existing Exec and do the tracking at a higher level?
Megol is offline  
Old 07 April 2015, 22:23   #110
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megol View Post
Indeed.
BTW wasn't the intention that CAOS would build on the existing Exec and do the tracking at a higher level?
yes it seems so, if i read that document correctly, but existing Amiga software obviously uses Exec directly, but i think we could easily build a wrapper around Exec that provides this sort of functionality.

Just patch "free" and "allocmem" &c to keep reserved memory blocks in a doubly linked list for each task.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 07 April 2015, 22:39   #111
commodorejohn
Shameless recidivist
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Duluth, Minnesota (USA)
Age: 32
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megol View Post
Don't forget Mac OS. It used a "handle" mechanism for tracking (essentially a indirection of pointers). I would be surprised if Lisa didn't use the same mechanism.
I've never looked at the Lisa API myself, but I wouldn't bet on it. The Resource Manager and its associated approach to memory management were almost entirely the work of Mac Team member Bruce Horn (a Xerox alumnus who also designed the Finder,) and from his account it doesn't sound like the kind of thing most other people at Apple were doing, at the time.
commodorejohn is offline  
Old 09 April 2015, 01:01   #112
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
Just patch "free" and "allocmem" &c to keep reserved memory blocks in a doubly linked list for each task.
At the far back of my head I remember something about an article where someone wrote up a way of how you could attach allocations to the task structure.

Anything you allocate and leave behind after you exit will crash&burn. Think Setfunction().
NorthWay is offline  
Old 21 April 2015, 02:46   #113
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Funny enough, the first computer virus I ever saw in my life was the mouse inverter virus on my A1000 circa 1986 or so....
Nosferax is offline  
Old 21 April 2015, 09:21   #114
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,654
Resource tracking really is trivial...it's just a matter of tracking what task allocates what resource. And it would greatly improve AmigaOS. (But some kind of opt-in system would likely be needed to handle eg. tasks that allocate resources on behalf of another task.)
Minuous is offline  
Old 21 April 2015, 09:30   #115
commodorejohn
Shameless recidivist
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Duluth, Minnesota (USA)
Age: 32
Posts: 169
Yeah, that's where it gets tricky, particularly since the Amiga's message-passing system is based around just handing over pointers to memory and who knows what happens to it from there...
commodorejohn is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breathless security codes Supamax request.Other 9 09 October 2009 08:11
SNES EyeOfTheBeholder compared to Amiga's port jharrison Retrogaming General Discussion 12 01 December 2008 23:06
How fast is WINUAE compared to a real amiga? mrbob2 Retrogaming General Discussion 13 15 November 2008 00:14
My Amiga was a security system DigitalQuirk Nostalgia & memories 3 17 April 2008 18:39
Why are Amiga games the most cheat menu hacked compared to other systems? extentofmysin Retrogaming General Discussion 13 06 September 2006 21:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18458 seconds with 11 queries