English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 March 2015, 00:18   #1
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,424
Modern CD32 Expansion

I bet all CD32 owners at some point wished they could buy a modern expansion for it.. A modern SX32..something like that..
Individual Computers have done a great job bringing stuff to the Amiga that you never thought would be possible..

Now, the topic for this thread is:
1.Would you buy a modern expansion for your CD32?
2. How much would you be willing to pay for it?
3. What should be in the expansion module? USB ports? Old 1200 expansions? A 040 CPU? FPGA accelerator?


Bring it on ;-)
eXeler0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 March 2015, 00:41   #2
Nibbler
nam nam nam

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 38
Posts: 568
Count me in.

Well, i have a Pro Module and a SX32 Pro but still, i would love to see a new expansion.
(these baby“s getting pretty rare and expensive, and i have a third CD32 console )

I think a RGB SCART + 8MB Fast RAM + CF support + Keyboard interface for the
"basic Expansion" would be a good start.

A 68030 (50Mhz) + 32 MB and maybe a Scan doubler ( VGA ) would be very nice.

I would spend max 200 euro on this


Who is with me ?
Nibbler is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 01:03   #3
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
I bet all CD32 owners at some point wished they could buy a modern expansion for it.. A modern SX32..something like that..
Individual Computers have done a great job bringing stuff to the Amiga that you never thought would be possible..

Now, the topic for this thread is:
1.Would you buy a modern expansion for your CD32?
2. How much would you be willing to pay for it?
3. What should be in the expansion module? USB ports? Old 1200 expansions? A 040 CPU? FPGA accelerator?


Bring it on ;-)
Theres already a thread on this.

Jens said that if there is atleast 300 people interested, then he would possibly make one.
FOL is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 01:44   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
Kipper2k & Ian Steadman are making one.
alexh is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 03:30   #5
SteveUK
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Shropshire / UK
Posts: 53
3 expansions;

Entry level: +8mb (similar spec as sx1/sx32) £129
Mid level: 030/50+64mb (similar spec as sx32 pro) £249
Top level: 060/100+128mb (or fpga) so we could have cd32 quake? £699

Fingers crossed!
SteveUK is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 05:38   #6
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
If someone could integrate Majsta's FPGA project with CF IDE expansion, then we could have 060+ performance with 64MB RAM on CD32, probably well under $200.
Doom for sure, Quake maybe if we have superfast 68882 in FPGA.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 06:52   #7
x56h34
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Toronto / Canada
Posts: 10
I would definitely buy one as long as it offers a stable connection with no looseness which plagued the old school cd32 expansions.

Some sort of an 030 and up CPU in it, an ide feature (Cf, SD card, whatever), an Amiga rgb port, integrated 128mb ram... And you have my buy.

Last edited by x56h34; 20 March 2015 at 07:04.
x56h34 is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 13:00   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
The Apollo/Pheonix core used in Majesta's FPGA project is still very much bleeding edge development.

From what I have heard from users here and elsewhere it is great.... when it works.

Compatibility is still not great but improving.
alexh is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 13:26   #9
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,424
More importantly, the vampire accelerator only works on A600 atm. A CD32 expansion would likely require a whole redesign. But in that case they could replace the cheap FPGA to a better one that would fit the entire new Apollo core.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 14:40   #10
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 392
Apollo is work in progress as you can see over here http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge...=2742&z=vkPTw1
Perhaps the 500 version works for CD32 too.
NorthWay is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 16:44   #11
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,424
To my knowledge, the CD32 expansion bus is unlike any other bus used in other Amigas. Although its 182 pins are fairly well documented it would still require a custom solution.
I have no idea who owns the rights to the various sx32/pro designs but Im pretty sure we wouldnt wanna have somethings thats just a new batch of old hardware. Realistically, 040 cpu designs are not likely.. neither is a FPGA design. The most likely scenario is that individual computer would produce something similar to aca1230.
Not sure right now how the Apollo team is approaching new hardware. The core they have atm is a scaled down version made to fit in majstas chesp fpga board. 1200 or cd32 versions will require some investments.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 16:54   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthWay View Post
Perhaps the 500 version works for CD32 too.
Very unlikely seeing as one is 16-bit processor replacement and the other is 32-bit expansion slot.
alexh is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 16:55   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
To my knowledge, the CD32 expansion bus is unlike any other bus used in other Amigas.
Shape and size yes. Functionality no.

The CD32 expansion connector has pretty much all the signals on the A1200 expansion connector (and more). You can do almost a 1:1 wire-up and an A1200 accelerator will work.

As I said Kipper2k and Steady are working on an SX32-like replacement.
alexh is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 17:54   #14
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,424
Ye I found Steady's blog about the "Hermes project".
For a hobby/home projects its quite impressive. I think they have chosen a realistic feature set.
But if one could dream a bit, I think we could get something more advanced from Individual Computer (like a 030).
Anyhoo, Ill definitely get one of Steady's boards if and when they become available.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 20:18   #15
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 392
You know, I thought they would be doing a cpu clamp-on card like the original 600 one.
Hence why it is 500/1000/2000.
NorthWay is offline  
Old 21 March 2015, 05:40   #16
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 50
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Kipper2k & Ian Steadman are making one.
Where's the info please?
Slayer is offline  
Old 21 March 2015, 07:33   #17
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,159
PPC + 060/100 mhz + usb + ethernet + gfxcard + 128mb ram etc... etc.... I would like the most huge card ever.
With maximum parts in fpga !!!! And must be compatible with amiga os 4 for classics.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 21 March 2015, 11:27   #18
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slayer View Post
Where's the info please?
Search ;-)
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ipper2k+hermes
alexh is offline  
Old 21 March 2015, 12:59   #19
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 50
Posts: 695
Very good thanks, made a post there
Slayer is offline  
Old 21 August 2015, 07:43   #20
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Shape and size yes. Functionality no.

The CD32 expansion connector has pretty much all the signals on the A1200 expansion connector (and more). You can do almost a 1:1 wire-up and an A1200 accelerator will work.
Has this ever bee done? In a month or two I hope to have time to try it, making a riser cable from CD32 expansion to some A1200 board. If it works, I want to buy ACA1221 and broadway USB controller for storage and network.
kolla is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Expansion board for the CD32 kipper2k Hardware mods 3134 Yesterday 22:34
A new, low-cost CD32 Expansion? Rebel-CD32 Hardware mods 271 12 September 2017 23:03
CD32 memory expansion Akira Hardware mods 8 28 February 2012 02:33
CD32 expansion slot to A1200 possible? Akiko support.Hardware 2 18 November 2011 19:15
Bizarre CD32 SX-1 Expansion Question imstarryeyed support.Hardware 10 12 March 2010 18:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21768 seconds with 11 queries