English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 December 2002, 09:05   #1
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
PPC Amiga

I am seriously considering getting a PPC Amiga to run OS 3.9 and its PPC games, as well as and Mac OS 8.5 and its PPC games.

What's the first place to look? Any advice? What models are there?
I think it'd be a nice self X Mas gift
Fred the Fop is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 December 2002, 15:38   #2
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Buying an AmigaOne is probably the least expensive and most practical solution for this. I have had a lot of problems with my PPC A1200 and it's just 166mhz (but it's aga and backwards compatible unlike a1) I don't like A1 machine but it's just for the job you describe. Instead of 3.9, you will need to use os4.0 though.
 
Old 16 December 2002, 15:53   #3
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
The cheapest AmigaOne goes for about 700 US$. You mean the old PPC Amigas are more expensive?? Or the expansion boards?
geez....
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 16 December 2002, 16:04   #4
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Hmm really? I didn't know it was 700 I spent less than this for my current ppc setup but it's just me and 166mhz is just 166mhz. I had many heating, casing, rom version etc problems... and thought it would be better to suggest a probably easier way.
 
Old 16 December 2002, 16:32   #5
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Buying an AmigaOne is a ripoff brother. That's not a platform to take seriously, I only want to game. What boards is yours? Blizzard? Or that ummm..whatsitcalled....Shark?
I have no idea about the PPC Amigas.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 16 December 2002, 16:44   #6
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Mine is a Blizzard with Bvision connected to it. I'd love to have a mediator and a voodoo card instead of Bvision though.

Blizzard PPC cards are the only existing PPC cards at the moment. SharkPPC is not released yet
 
Old 16 December 2002, 17:20   #7
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
So, you attach a Blizzard PPC expansion board to an Amiga A1200 or A3000, correct?
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 16 December 2002, 18:10   #8
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 759
Nearly 100% right, Fred. The A3000, like its 'big-box' brother A4000, takes the CyberstormPPC, with the BlizzardPPC being solely suitable for the A1200. Both were designed and made by the same firm.

The BlizzardPPC connects to the trapdoor expansion slot like any other A1200 accelerator. The BlizzardVision graphics card connects to the BPPC.

The two models are roughly equivalent in performance, with the CPPC shading it. Just ask if you want to be bored with some info about stuff like bus speeds, FPUs, context switching and memory addressing.
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 16 December 2002, 18:17   #9
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
blackcornflake, are you using edo ram like me? Is there a way to use sd or ddr ram? maybe with mediator?
 
Old 16 December 2002, 19:32   #10
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 759
The only options afaik are EDO/Fast Page SIMMs fitted to your accelerator.

The Mediator is only a busboard allowing connection of PCI cards. It does not directly provide by itself nor accept any extra memory. The PCI SharkPPC, when (!) it becomes available, is purported to accept SDRAM.
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 16 December 2002, 20:44   #11
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
sd ram itself is already an old technology yet we're still waiting for sharkppc

Do you plan to get one yourself?
 
Old 16 December 2002, 21:12   #12
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
PPC emulating mac is not good at the moment, IFusion (the mac ppc emulator) wich was released some time ago is very buggy and its no need to get this (its bad, doesnt work on blizzard ppc +++ I dont know anyone who are satisfied with this product )

When im going to upgarde my amiga Im going for the AOne, AmigaOS running on ppc !! Wow, have been a dream of mine for many years now, and it is coming (better late than never...) And getting some new hardware wont hurt either, since my 4k and 1200 are getting older and older ..
kriz is offline  
Old 17 December 2002, 01:38   #13
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 759
I intend waiting until AmigaOS4 is 100% definitely available for the Mediator/Shark combo until I commit, Burseg.
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 17 December 2002, 03:50   #14
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 658
@Frederic:

Quote:
I am seriously considering getting a PPC Amiga to run OS 3.9 and its PPC games,
Practically all PPC games are Windows ports, there are only two PPC games that are original Amiga titles: Eat the Whistle (very crappy football game and it really doesn't need a PPC) and Payback.

Getting a PPC card without also getting a graphics card doesn't make much sense. That means you'd have to pay a lot of money just to play Payback...

Currently, an AmigaOne is cheaper than a BlizzPPC/BVision combo. Wait a few months (until A1 and OS4 are readily available and people start to upgrade) and you might get cheap second hand hardware - and some dealers may want to get rid of their last Blizzards too...

Quote:
as well as and Mac OS 8.5 and its PPC games.
The PPC Mac Emulator (IFusion) is crap, and it doesn't run on BlizzardPPC cards. MacOnLinux doesn't run on classic Amiga hardware. If you want to "emulate" a PPC Mac, get an AmigaOne.
Korodny is offline  
Old 17 December 2002, 08:07   #15
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Thanks for the advice. As usual your level headed waxings cleared it up Koro. Andthanks too, Burseg and Blackie. Best to wait for the AmigaOne to push the PPC boardss to cheaper level.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 22 April 2007, 14:12   #16
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Ressurecting an old thread here.

I have spent a lump of money, building up my A1200T. Last night I sat down and asked myself why. Was it to, as discussed above play PPC games? Was it to emulate a Mac? or was it in the vain hope of running the infamous scarlet pimpernel that is Amiga os4?

The answer is truly NO to any of those.

After much thought, the real reason was simply because I could and that I wanted to. 15 years ago, when there was a genuine need and on my part a desire for a powerful Amiga, I couldnt afford one.
Today I still have the desire and now happily the cash to do what I always wanted!

What will I or do I use my shiny old/new PPC GFX Mediated lump of Amiga silicon for?

1. Web
2. Email
3. Wookiechat
4. PPC games
5. WHDLoad
6. Tweaking

All these things could be done on my PC (PPC games are invariably PC ports).

BUT

I didnt build my PC, I didnt have to scour umpteen sources to gather up the components for my PC. I cant TWEAK my PC OS like my Amigas. I have no history with my PC.

My Amiga is the one my Dad bought me. It is the one we sat and played Falcon, Mercenary, and Knights of the Sky on. Sad it may be, but it was part of my childhood, part of my life. Today my own son loves Superfrog and the Addams family. When my Dad visits we still sit down and play Turrican together.

Will I stop playing with my Amiga?

DAMN NO!!

I still have my SCSI chain to build and my 060 processor to fit!
Plus dont even mention the still uncharted territory of A4000s!
DDNI is offline  
Old 22 April 2007, 20:26   #17
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Well Said that Man!
Peter is offline  
Old 22 April 2007, 21:01   #18
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
ta bit cheesy aint it! true though
DDNI is offline  
Old 22 April 2007, 21:37   #19
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
Yeah totally agree DDNI.
kriz is offline  
Old 22 April 2007, 22:16   #20
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 42
Posts: 758
I kinda thought he was getting troops ready to invade a country
Ultron is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Blizzard PPC 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz with SCSI + 128MB RAM stachu100 MarketPlace 3 27 May 2011 19:14
Sale: Phase 5 Blizzard PPC 603e+ 68040/25 PPC 240 Mhz wizard66 MarketPlace 6 09 February 2007 18:34
For sale: Amiga Blizzard PPC card PPC@175,68040@25 MHz,SCSI lopos2000 MarketPlace 0 15 November 2006 14:45
SALE: Amiga Blizzard PPC card PPC@160 , 68040 @25 MHz morka MarketPlace 3 12 October 2006 01:28
For sale: Amiga Blizzard PPC card PPC@175 , 68040 @25 MHz, SCSI Hacky MarketPlace 13 02 July 2006 05:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24825 seconds with 11 queries