English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 March 2015, 13:47   #1
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 37
Posts: 2,454
DOOM - First person hit on the Commodore VIC-20 / Commodore VC-20

Quote:
There has been a lot of impressive features on classic computers lately, such as Dragons Lair Laserdisc on the C64 and ZX81. But today we are going to go one step further and mention id's first person hit of DOOM, which also made an unofficial appearance on the Commodore Vic-20 / Commodore VC-20.
http://www.indieretronews.com/2015/0...odore-vic.html
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	224.4 KB
ID:	43601  
Neil79 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 March 2015, 14:45   #2
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,932
Yeah so basically it is Doom reverted back to Wolfenstein 3D Impressive but it is not Doom.
gimbal is offline  
Old 16 March 2015, 15:10   #3
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 37
Posts: 2,454
Gimbal, always trying to be positive but being slightly negative at the same time
Neil79 is offline  
Old 16 March 2015, 15:12   #4
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,529
It's like Duke Nukem 3D from TecToy for Mega Drive.
s2325 is offline  
Old 16 March 2015, 15:29   #5
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil79 View Post
Gimbal, always trying to be positive but being slightly negative at the same time
You can put it in terms of positive and negative, but the truth is that I'm just realistic.
gimbal is offline  
Old 16 March 2015, 15:36   #6
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
there is nothing "realistic" about whether a game is Doom or not, that is purely subjective
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 16 March 2015, 17:22   #7
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Er... if a game is Doom or not isn't subjective. They removed everything that was different from Wolfenstein from this 'port', so while it is Doom in name it simply isn't the same game.
TCD is offline  
Old 16 March 2015, 17:57   #8
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
Anubis is offline  
Old 17 March 2015, 12:46   #9
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 2,235
Hewitson is offline  
Old 18 March 2015, 02:41   #10
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 473
Yeah, any idiot can make up those kind of posters if he/she wants to.
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 18 March 2015, 05:11   #11
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,433
Yes these kinds or 'ports' make me laugh, there was also a port to the Spectrum that was an even bigger stretch of the imagination

My idea of a port is something that is based on the original game's engine or at the least uses the original game data.

This kind of thing is very impressive but it's 'inspired by' the DOOM and not what I'd call an actual port of the DOOM.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 March 2015, 06:20   #12
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
If I'd never played Doom I wouldn't know where to go with this port, the graphics are psychedelic.
Arnie is offline  
Old 18 March 2015, 09:09   #13
saimon69
Bedroom musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 649
@novacoder
Actually the Spectrum (demo) Version had at least a catchy music and an almost fullscreen mode
saimon69 is offline  
Old 18 March 2015, 19:58   #14
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
dont know what everyone is expecting from a vic20 with these sort of limitations.


just saying...
roy bates is offline  
Old 18 March 2015, 20:34   #15
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Shoonay is offline  
Old 18 March 2015, 22:23   #16
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 473
There is real doom port to C 64. It's done by Amidog, former Amiga developer (he ported psx emulator to 68k) It works on expanded 64 equipped with SuperCPU processor clocked at 20MHz and 16MB address space.

http://scpu.amidog.se/doku.php?id=scpu:doom

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by arti; 18 March 2015 at 23:04.
arti is offline  
Old 18 March 2015, 22:42   #17
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
There is real doom port to C 64
Yep, that's a port. A horrible unplayable one, but at least it's a port
TCD is offline  
Old 18 March 2015, 23:04   #18
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 473
Those looks more playable

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by arti; 19 March 2015 at 00:14. Reason: Be more precise
arti is offline  
Old 18 March 2015, 23:31   #19
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
There is real doom port to C 64. It's done by Amidog, former Amiga developer (he ported psx emulator to 68k) It works on expanded 64 equipped with SuperCPU processor clocked at 20MHz and 16MB address space.

[ Show youtube player ]
Yes this one is at least a real port of DOOM

Runs about 3 frames a second but still very cool to see

The Quake 1/2 render demo on the Falcon was very impressive but it was just a tech demo, not the full game.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 March 2015, 23:34   #20
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
[ Show youtube player ]
A lot of the 'scenes' are from Quake. Not actually sure what that is supposed to show

Last edited by TCD; 19 March 2015 at 07:32.
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commodore OS zeke1312 support.Other 1 29 March 2013 11:38
Wanted Commodore Amiga CD32 and Commodore CDTV j_sntos MarketPlace 4 09 March 2012 14:18
Commodore 64 & Vic-20 commercials in Finland Old Fool Nostalgia & memories 2 22 September 2009 13:26
Commodore One! Incomparabile Retrogaming General Discussion 25 22 January 2003 01:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24231 seconds with 12 queries